Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Finally got my stepup to 7900GT. 06 Score.

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-07-06, 03:56 PM Thread Starter   #1
DeFessler
Member

 
DeFessler's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio

 
Finally got my stepup to 7900GT. 06 Score.


GeForce 7900GT CO 500/1500


Everything is completely at stock speeds. This score is already higher then it was with the 7800GT when both the video card and processor was overclocked.

Overclocked scores to come.

Here's the project link. Hopefully it's the right one, first time I've attempted to post one. http://service.futuremark.com/orb/pr...ojectId=232586

Last edited by DeFessler; 04-07-06 at 04:05 PM.
DeFessler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 03:58 PM   #2
chevro1et
Member

 
chevro1et's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 35.012N/ 129.052E

 
Nice.... now push it a little harder...

__________________
Dell Inspiron 640m
Intel C2D T5500 Centrino (1.66 ghz/ 667 fsb)
2x1 gig RAM (533 fsb)
WD Scorpio Blue 500gb hdd
Intel 950GMA integrated graphics
14.1" widescreen (1440x900) w. Truebrite
Vista Home Premium
5in1 card reader/ Bluetooth/ 3945abg wireless
chevro1et is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 04:10 PM   #3
Blackmage
Member

 
Blackmage's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London.Uk

 
yeah, push that CPU alot harder.

__________________
Intel Pentinum (E2180) 3.0Ghz (Cooling Freezer 7 pro)
Abit IP35-E
4GB Super Talent DDR2 800MHz
ATI HD 3450
LG GSA-4163B Black 16x16 ħR Dual Layer DVD Writer
200Gb Maxtor Diamondmax Plus 10/250 GB Samsung Spinpoint
Coolerrmaster 310
580W HiperPower Type-R Modular Blue PSU Quiet Dbl Fan
Creative Labs X-Fi Music
Blackmage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 04:51 PM Thread Starter   #4
DeFessler
Member

 
DeFessler's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio

 
Ok, here's the new results.


GeForce 7900GT 550/1668 - Higher clock then the Superclocked, auto detected.
3800+ OC'd to 2.7Ghz on stock volts (1.35 - Smart Guardian reads as 1.31)
Ram is on a divider if that matters, it couldn't have 270mhz. 1t 2.5-3-3-8
DeFessler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 04:55 PM   #5
chevro1et
Member

 
chevro1et's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 35.012N/ 129.052E

 
Are you gonna do that volt mod with the conductive marker?

__________________
Dell Inspiron 640m
Intel C2D T5500 Centrino (1.66 ghz/ 667 fsb)
2x1 gig RAM (533 fsb)
WD Scorpio Blue 500gb hdd
Intel 950GMA integrated graphics
14.1" widescreen (1440x900) w. Truebrite
Vista Home Premium
5in1 card reader/ Bluetooth/ 3945abg wireless
chevro1et is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 04:58 PM Thread Starter   #6
DeFessler
Member

 
DeFessler's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio

 
I was considering it. I need to get better cooling first.
DeFessler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 05:36 PM   #7
chevro1et
Member

 
chevro1et's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 35.012N/ 129.052E

 
Damn. Nice numbers, by the way.

__________________
Dell Inspiron 640m
Intel C2D T5500 Centrino (1.66 ghz/ 667 fsb)
2x1 gig RAM (533 fsb)
WD Scorpio Blue 500gb hdd
Intel 950GMA integrated graphics
14.1" widescreen (1440x900) w. Truebrite
Vista Home Premium
5in1 card reader/ Bluetooth/ 3945abg wireless
chevro1et is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 05:51 PM   #8
beavismorpheus
Member

 
beavismorpheus's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
come on man, hit it like you mean it
beavismorpheus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 06:05 PM Thread Starter   #9
DeFessler
Member

 
DeFessler's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio

 
Ok, I maxed out the OC on my card, I can't find anyway to even raise it any higher without a volt mod. Even with a volt mod coolbits won't let me raise the raise slider anymore. It's all without artifacts. 564/1800 and the highest temp I seen was 65c.

The only concern I had is that the mem is really at 900, I double it because 1800 would be the effective speed right?

Also, if I did a volt mod how would I get the Mem higher? Sadly, I've never had a problem where the program I was using to overclock was my limitation.

Also, I can't get it to apply at start up. It resets to normal clocks everytime I restart my computer.

Once I get better cooling on the CPU I will be pushing that higher.


Last edited by DeFessler; 04-07-06 at 06:19 PM.
DeFessler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 06:27 PM   #10
chevro1et
Member

 
chevro1et's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 35.012N/ 129.052E

 
Try Powerstrip to OC the card further....

__________________
Dell Inspiron 640m
Intel C2D T5500 Centrino (1.66 ghz/ 667 fsb)
2x1 gig RAM (533 fsb)
WD Scorpio Blue 500gb hdd
Intel 950GMA integrated graphics
14.1" widescreen (1440x900) w. Truebrite
Vista Home Premium
5in1 card reader/ Bluetooth/ 3945abg wireless
chevro1et is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 07:01 PM   #11
beavismorpheus
Member

 
beavismorpheus's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
nice, cant wait to get out of the step up que and into some hot gaming action
beavismorpheus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 08:09 PM Thread Starter   #12
DeFessler
Member

 
DeFessler's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio

 
Ya, I have oblivion minimized right now. I have every setting on it up as high as possible and everything turned on. With no lag. No artifacts. I will reinstall power strip. I forgot about it for a second. I would use riva tuner but as well all know, theres no 7900 support.
DeFessler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 10:24 PM   #13
nakatalee
Member

 
nakatalee's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Mars

 
may i know what resolution are you running Oblivion on? cause i am getting 7900GT just because of oblivion.
nakatalee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 10:51 PM   #14
kimochii72
Member

 
kimochii72's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, Fl

 
FYI:

my Opteron 170 at 2800mhz and 7800GT at 516/1200 will do 4600
kimochii72 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 10:57 PM Thread Starter   #15
DeFessler
Member

 
DeFessler's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toledo, Ohio

 
1280x960 is the res I'm running oblivion on.

Well if your opteron at 2.8 does 4600 on a 7800gt imagine what I could get this processor at once I get better cooling and pushing to 2.8 and up.
DeFessler is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-07-06, 10:59 PM   #16
nakatalee
Member

 
nakatalee's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Mars

 
dang, I need to run on 1680x1050, I think I am gonna have to go 7900GTX to get smooth framerate in Oblivion then.
nakatalee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-06, 02:31 AM   #17
kimochii72
Member

 
kimochii72's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, Fl

 
Oops. I need to restate my score. I just looked it up. It was on my old rma'd 7800gt card at these settings. I just cut and pasted them:

Opteron 170@ 2850 evga7800gt 517 499/1.22 Corsair VR @ 234 2.5/3/3/8 1T 2x512

highest score was 4677

Regarding nakatalee's comment, I wonder if the vmod to a 7900GT would work just as well in his case?

Last edited by kimochii72; 04-08-06 at 02:37 AM.
kimochii72 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-06, 01:07 PM   #18
snakeskinner
Member



Join Date: Jan 2006

 
If you want to use coolbits to overclock your card higher, it can be done. What you need to do is pull the bios off your card with nibitor. Set the clocks on the card higher in the bios (I used 500/800) and then reflash the bios with nvflash 5.31. That will allow you to move the sliders further, and you won't run out of overclock range.

With 500/800 in the bios, I was able to run my 7900Gt card at 724/921, and still had room to move them further.

For reference, this should be about what you can score in 3dmark06 if you can volt mod and get the clocks to 724/921. Maybe even better since your proc runs 100mhz faster than my opteron can.

3dmark06 score is 6750.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=229525


Marlon
snakeskinner is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-06, 01:25 PM   #19
nakatalee
Member

 
nakatalee's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Mars

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by snakeskinner
If you want to use coolbits to overclock your card higher, it can be done. What you need to do is pull the bios off your card with nibitor. Set the clocks on the card higher in the bios (I used 500/800) and then reflash the bios with nvflash 5.31. That will allow you to move the sliders further, and you won't run out of overclock range.

With 500/800 in the bios, I was able to run my 7900Gt card at 724/921, and still had room to move them further.

For reference, this should be about what you can score in 3dmark06 if you can volt mod and get the clocks to 724/921. Maybe even better since your proc runs 100mhz faster than my opteron can.

3dmark06 score is 6750.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=229525


Marlon
I assume that you are watercooling at that speed? that's impressive!
nakatalee is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-08-06, 02:07 PM   #20
spydeymon
Member



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: montreal

 
Well i dl'ed nbitor and nvflash but nibitor cant read the bios?






Quote:
Originally Posted by snakeskinner
If you want to use coolbits to overclock your card higher, it can be done. What you need to do is pull the bios off your card with nibitor. Set the clocks on the card higher in the bios (I used 500/800) and then reflash the bios with nvflash 5.31. That will allow you to move the sliders further, and you won't run out of overclock range.

With 500/800 in the bios, I was able to run my 7900Gt card at 724/921, and still had room to move them further.

For reference, this should be about what you can score in 3dmark06 if you can volt mod and get the clocks to 724/921. Maybe even better since your proc runs 100mhz faster than my opteron can.

3dmark06 score is 6750.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=229525


Marlon

__________________
Mobo:
Bios:
Cpu :
Mem:
Hdd:
Cooling:
Video:
PSU:
heat
spydeymon is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?