• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Arctic freezer 7 and d830

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Satanspet

Registered
ever since i have installed my freezer 7 i have had problems with my processors frequency readings later i read ...

"Q: ClockGen reports my Pentium 4 3GHz or above with a 2800MHz CPU speed.
A: This is the effect of C1E (Enhanced Halt State) and/or EIST (Enhanced Intel SpeedStep Technology). Load your system and you will see the frequency increase to its nominal value."

me running a d830 @ 3.0ghz i see it drop as stated to 2.79 or 2.8. what can i do to correct this, it says reboot on there but i mean if i do that it comes up at 3.0 then in about 3 mins it drops to 2.8 again ... n e ideas? cooler not cutting it?

thanks i am new to this new intel EIST technology and frankly have no solid knowledge on it at all.

thanks again for all ur guy's help

regards

Chris

i'm more than 90% sure its on there good but i mean i used to idle at 46 degrees C when i was on stock with one of those big tower intel coolers and now its not even under that i mean its somewhere around 53 - 55 now on idle. as soon as i do a thing it heats right up, but i mean i can check the seating, how tight should it be? i changed the dinky little plastic clips on teh cooler with my intels stock screw option with the plate on teh back for more stability, should i tighten it all the way? thanks this si teh first cooler i have changed

Chris

also would a thermaltak xp-120 be better on a d830 what kinda temps could i expect?

thanks if nothing is within reason i may just go water route see what i can pull of that way but i am on kinda a tight budget these days

thanks again

EIST in bios eh ? well thats no good, i have an HP they lock that bios tight...