Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Latest P5WD2-E bios 0405

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-06, 09:57 PM Thread Starter   #1
RangerXLT8
Member

 
RangerXLT8's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Asheville NC

 
Latest P5WD2-E bios 0405



__________________
Core 2 Xeon 3210 Quad Core 2.4GHz
Gigabyte EP-35C-DS3R
Patriot Viper DDR3 4GB 6-6-6-20
ATI HD4870 512MB
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
2x150GB Raptors
1x320GB Western Digital HDD
LiteOn DVDRW
Heatware 44-0-0
RangerXLT8 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 04-13-06, 10:07 PM   #2
Illyest
Member



Join Date: May 2005

 
anything special about it?

__________________
QuadStation Vista Ultimate 64-bit
Thermaltake Armor Super Tower
Silverstone ST85F 850W PSU
eVGA 780i A1 Bios P05p
C2Q Q9450 @ 3200Mhz w/TRUE
2x2GB OCZ DDR2-1066 HPC Reaper
2xEVGA Geforce GTX260 SC SLI 602/1020
Acer 26" AL2616 Widescreen LCD
2xWD 320GB Raid 0
Plextor 12x SATA DVD Writer/Asus 20x IDE DVD Writer
Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer
Logitech Z5500 5.1 Speakers
Illyest is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-06, 10:13 PM Thread Starter   #3
RangerXLT8
Member

 
RangerXLT8's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Asheville NC

 
Well now there a line saying "hit crtl r to enter raid configuration" for the Marvell controller, but it still doesn't let me in.

FYI everyone, this MArvell controller was advertised by Asus to support RAID, and to this day it's still not supported. Can't even get into the config utility, even if you hit what the message says, "ctrl r" or whatever.....False advertising.

__________________
Core 2 Xeon 3210 Quad Core 2.4GHz
Gigabyte EP-35C-DS3R
Patriot Viper DDR3 4GB 6-6-6-20
ATI HD4870 512MB
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
2x150GB Raptors
1x320GB Western Digital HDD
LiteOn DVDRW
Heatware 44-0-0
RangerXLT8 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-06, 10:14 PM   #4
proth
Member

 
proth's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: In your mirror

 
Nice find Ranger. Too bad ASUS is so vague about release notes and probably states the "Support for new CPUs". Would be nice to see the comment "Support for Conroe" in the notes..

0401 definately has the best FSB capability and hope that doesn't change with 0405.

__________________
PROTH, CONTACT KRAG ASAP, YOU DECIDED TO TRADE OUTSIDE THE CLASSIFIEDS AND YOU HAVE ANOTHER MEMBERS HARDWARE YOU VOLT-MODDED AND NEVER RETURNED TO HIM. BE A GOOD IDEA TO CONTACT KRAG BEFORE WE MAKE THIS A TROLL SITUATION-FORUM STAFF
proth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-06, 10:29 PM Thread Starter   #5
RangerXLT8
Member

 
RangerXLT8's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Asheville NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by proth
Nice find Ranger. Too bad ASUS is so vague about release notes and probably states the "Support for new CPUs". Would be nice to see the comment "Support for Conroe" in the notes..

0401 definately has the best FSB capability and hope that doesn't change with 0405.
Conroe support would be a blessing.

Ohh yeah!!!!!!!!!!!!! Proth RAID config works on the MArvell Controller, just hit "r" dude!

__________________
Core 2 Xeon 3210 Quad Core 2.4GHz
Gigabyte EP-35C-DS3R
Patriot Viper DDR3 4GB 6-6-6-20
ATI HD4870 512MB
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
2x150GB Raptors
1x320GB Western Digital HDD
LiteOn DVDRW
Heatware 44-0-0

Last edited by RangerXLT8; 04-13-06 at 10:35 PM.
RangerXLT8 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-13-06, 11:00 PM Thread Starter   #6
RangerXLT8
Member

 
RangerXLT8's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Asheville NC

 
Well you can get into the MArvell config utility, and configure drives into raid, but you cannot name the array, and windows does not recognise the array, but recognises the independent drives instead....

__________________
Core 2 Xeon 3210 Quad Core 2.4GHz
Gigabyte EP-35C-DS3R
Patriot Viper DDR3 4GB 6-6-6-20
ATI HD4870 512MB
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
2x150GB Raptors
1x320GB Western Digital HDD
LiteOn DVDRW
Heatware 44-0-0
RangerXLT8 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-06, 10:09 AM   #7
iamjcl
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

 
Any other fixes / improvements other than Marvel controller ?

- Chris
iamjcl is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-06, 01:41 PM   #8
w2richwood
Member

 
w2richwood's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Alta Loma Calif.

 
i use the new bios 405 i dont use the marvel controler just the intel for raido and one 80 gig it seems to be snappyer after the update or maybe its just me lol havent noticed any thing else.

__________________
mb rampage 2 extreme
cpu i7 920do
ram kingston 1600 3x1gig
video ati 4890 1gig
ps corsair 750tx
cooler venomous x push pull
hd.s 2xwd raptors in raido
case cm. storm sniper



My Heatware
w2richwood is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-06, 03:05 PM   #9
Captain Helghas
Member

 
Captain Helghas's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tallahassee, Fl

 
Check out CPU support. The 0405 updates the support of the 965XE and a few others.

__________________
Captain Helghas is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-15-06, 07:30 PM   #10
proth
Member

 
proth's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: In your mirror

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Helghas
Check out CPU support. The 0405 updates the support of the 965XE and a few others.

0405 must support C1E which also existed on the 955, just not on the first stepping.

__________________
PROTH, CONTACT KRAG ASAP, YOU DECIDED TO TRADE OUTSIDE THE CLASSIFIEDS AND YOU HAVE ANOTHER MEMBERS HARDWARE YOU VOLT-MODDED AND NEVER RETURNED TO HIM. BE A GOOD IDEA TO CONTACT KRAG BEFORE WE MAKE THIS A TROLL SITUATION-FORUM STAFF
proth is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-16-06, 03:07 PM   #11
iamjcl
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003

 
BIOS 405 is back to NOT needing 1.6v + on the NB at 290 FSB or over to be stable.

I think it was 301 that was the last that was like this, IIRC.

Don't know if its really needing less voltage, or the BIOS just says it is, but its nice not to not have to peg it in BIOS just to be prime stable at relatively low FSBs.

Will post other changes I notice - others please do likewise.

- Chris
iamjcl is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-18-06, 07:02 AM   #12
GearShift3r
Member

 
GearShift3r's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005

 
I wish I could flash bioses right now. Asus Update failed to install on me after two formats.

-GearShift3r
GearShift3r is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-20-06, 08:02 AM   #13
wrangler88
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North Olmsted ohio

 
so is this a good bios to update to?
wrangler88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-06, 02:41 AM   #14
ECH
Member

 
ECH's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland

 
0401 is the best bios out there. 0405 is for other D related CPUs. I wouldn't go messing with 0405 unless you have one the cpus listed...
ECH is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-06, 11:56 AM   #15
w2richwood
Member

 
w2richwood's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Alta Loma Calif.

 
im running the 405 with a 650 @ 4gigs auto cv seems good to me

__________________
mb rampage 2 extreme
cpu i7 920do
ram kingston 1600 3x1gig
video ati 4890 1gig
ps corsair 750tx
cooler venomous x push pull
hd.s 2xwd raptors in raido
case cm. storm sniper



My Heatware
w2richwood is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-23-06, 11:23 PM   #16
ECH
Member

 
ECH's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland

 
Hello,

The new bios update is for:
Pentium D 940(3.2GHz, 800 FSB, L2 4MB, revC1)
Pentium D 930(3.0GHz, 800 FSB, L2 4MB, revC1)
Pentium D 950(3.4GHz, 800 FSB, L2 4MB, revC1)
Pentium D 960(3.6GHz, 800 FSB, L2 4MB, revC1) <--yet to be released!
Pentium Extreme ED-965(3.73GHz, rev C1)
http://support.asus.com/cpusupport/cpusupport.aspx

Other then that, there is no more information. However, it's clear...no conroe support in this update
ECH is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?