• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Please help with my overheated CPU

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

geejay

Registered
Hi, all
I am a newbie.
My system configuration is:
AMD Athlon 64 Venice 3200+ (Rev E4) w/ stock Fan&heatsink
Abit AX8
Corsair PC3200 DDR400 2GB
Visiontek XTASY RADEON X800
WD Raptor 74GB
Seagate SATA 300GB
MGE Vigor450 450W
Thermaltake WinGo 7000D

My idel temperature w/o any OC is as follows with room temperature of 28C:
CPU 48C, SYS 35C, PWM 45C

I have heard many people use stock fan and reach only about 45C in load model after OC to 2.4G (from 1.8G)

I don't know why mine got such high temperature. :bang head
Can anybody help me that?
Thanks!

Komitet said:
Try lowering your ambient temperature, 28 degrees in a house is way too hot, air conditioner?

i know it is a little bit high. But even at about 25C, my CPU is still higher than 40 without OC.

Have you checked your temps with the side panel off, and a fan blowing room air into the case?
This will help show if your case air flow is bad!
Have you physically touched the HS to see if its hot? (under load) :drool:

What thermal paste are you using? Using Arctic Silver 5 or Ceramique will lower your temps significantly over stock paste.

And what are your temps with the side door off?

rseven said:
Also, just remember that some boards just read hotter than others and it is fruitless to compare readings.

And as most of us know Abit has been notorious for this. On a side note you may want to make sure you have latest BIOS version for your board. On several occastions Abit has released BIOS upgrades for some of their MBs to "fix" reported temperature readings.

Electron Chaser said: