Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

5v rail at 4.30!!!! Help!!!!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-25-06, 09:14 AM Thread Starter   #1
doublej88
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2006

 
5v rail at 4.30!!!! Help!!!!


According to my BIOS, my 5v rail is running at 4.30 and my computer is crashing 2-3 times a day. It's an Antec 500w. I can't figure out how to bring that rail back up. This is the one part of overclocking I don't understand. Please, I need ideas to help this problem.
doublej88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-06, 09:26 AM   #2
bchur83
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

10 Year Badge
 
Use a multimeter to test the rail. Bios/Software are usually not very accurate.

__________________
Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

Heatware
bchur83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-06, 09:52 AM   #3
Bios24
Member

 
Bios24's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO

 
You can check with a multimeter, but if it's crashing 2-3 times a day there is obviously something wrong. How are the other rails? Unless you have adjustable rails, you'll more than likely have to just buy a new power supply. IMHO you'd want to do this ASAP because if you have a failing power supply it might short or fry other components when it fails.

__________________
Antec P180 - Corsair HX520W - Dell 2005fpw
Opteron 165 <Currently 280x9 1.35v>
DFI NF4 Ultra-D - 2gb G.Skill 3-4-4-8@250mhz
320gb+200gb Seagate - XFX 6800GS 500/1.2ghz
Sound Blaster X-Fi - BA7900 5.1 Surround
Thermalright XP-90C - <The Quiet Overclock>
[ HEATWARE ]
Bios24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-06, 10:20 AM Thread Starter   #4
doublej88
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2006

 
I don't remember the 3v but the 12v is just above 11. I will switch out the PSU when I get home and see if that does it. I have it minorly overclocked but, I have never played with the v-core to OC so that should still be at the stock setting. That's what confused me as to why it was so low. It sucks that my Antec doesn't perform as good as my no name brand.
doublej88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-06, 02:32 PM   #5
DeepScience
Super Kiwi

 
DeepScience's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: New Zealand

 
What are your computer specs? We usually put them in a short signature so others know the situation without having to ask.

Two recommended PSUs for 12V based systems are: OCZ520Powerstream, and the Silverstone ST56ZF.

__________________
i7 920 -- Asus P6T -- Thermalright Ultra120 -- Hynix 6x4G (24)
Cucial M4 128, Western Digital 2, 4, 2-2-2
Seasonic Platinum 1000W - Stryker
Win8 - Adobe - Vegas Pro
560Ti
<><
DeepScience is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-06, 02:50 PM   #6
HousERaT
Senior Air Extraordinaire

 
HousERaT's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Imladris

 
Sounds like it's time for an upgrade to a more robust psu. I also recommend the Powerstream 520.

__________________
CM-690 | Maximus Formula | Ballistix D9GMH 2GB - 4-4-4-10 - 2.2v (active cooled) | E6850 @4GHz (L719B) 602 Bios 500x8 - 1.475v | Ultra 120 Extreme | 2x HD3870 840/1300 | Lite-On 52327s CDRW | WD 74GB - Raptor HDD | Corsair 620HX PSU | Windows XP Pro sp2 |

Support the OC Benchmarking Team The HD 4870/50 Thread The HD 3870/50 Thread The X1900XT/XTX Thread X800GTO˛ Thread Heatware

Make friends with your "FAST" - 90K 01SE - 77K 03 - 29K 05 - 19K 06 - 274K AM3 - single card all air baby!
HousERaT is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-06, 03:21 PM   #7
johan851
Insatiably Malcontent
Senior Member

 
johan851's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Seattle, WA

10 Year Badge
 
Unless it's a serious system, though, a 500w Antec shouldn't be having any trouble with minor overclocking. Antec units might not be the best, but they're a pretty solid general choice.

__________________
ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K @ 4.6GHz | 2x4GB Samsung DDR3 | GTX460 768mb
120GB Crucial M4 | 2x 2TB Samsung F4 | Seasonic S12 600w
y2 DAC --> Custom M^3 --> Custom LM3875 ChipAmp --> Modula MTs
Dual Dell 2007WFP | Watercooled
johan851 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-25-06, 03:25 PM   #8
azu
Member

 
azu's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
lol no offense guys.. but you aren't telling him the problem. just telling him to buy a new power supply.

well you see, when you overclock you need more power to reach the speed. youre power supply only can give soo soo much so after it, the voltages go down and the power supply gets weaker. in the condition that your power supply is. you can expect it to die soon.

And yes. it is time for a new power supply. i agree with them.

the OCZ powerstream 520 is an awesome power supply if it weren't for the hefty price tag. im sure you have no wish to spend 100+ on a power supply in your current situation.

im sure a fortron or FSP power supply will work fine. look for a a fortron 450watt+ power supply that has a high amount of ampage on the 12v rail. remember. how many watts the power supply is useless if the watts aren't in the place where you need them to be.

and well if youre 12v is just above 11.. thats pretty serious. the ATX spec is supposed to be 11.6 minimum.
azu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-06, 12:41 PM Thread Starter   #9
doublej88
New Member



Join Date: Apr 2006

 
Well, I went back to my Codgen 350 and it brought the 5v rail back up to 4.73. Not great, but better and stable. The Antec has now been religated to fan power only.
doublej88 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-06, 02:41 PM   #10
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
to the forums.

RMA the Antec once you have verified with a Digital Multimeter that it is indeed faulty.

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-26-06, 02:52 PM   #11
itshondo
Member

 
itshondo's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver, CO

 
If it's still under the warranty and you can't RMA it, I'd call Antec Support and get a replacement- their support folks have been GREAT to me.

__________________
MAIN RIG - PCLinuxOS -Biostar A780L3G - Plenom II 560 @ 3.7 Ghz - Cooler Master TX3 - 8 gb Corsair XMS - Zotac GT 430 Fanless - 60gb Corsair SSD + 2 - Sony Optiarc SATA DVD Burner

Windows / Backup RIG
- Win 7 64 - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P rev 1.6 - Q9550 @ 3.2 Ghz - Prolimatech Megahalems Rev. B HSF - 8gb GSkill PC2 6400- Evga GTX 260 - Antec 900 Case - Rosewill RP550-2 550W PSU - WD 74 GB Raptor + 2 - Sony Optiarc SATA DVD Burner


HEATWARE 20-0-0
itshondo is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Power Supplies and Electronic Devices
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?