• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ghetto tec drink cooler

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ilikepie

So i was bored and decided to make a cooler for my drinks. I went online and saw this but at 40$ that was way too much. I realized how easy it would be to make one my self even though i have no experience with tecs. So i went on ebay and got this this (first ebay purchase :p) I forgot to take pics when mounting it to the heatsink but all i did was spread some as5 and put some rubber cement along the edge of the tec. Next i wired the tec to the 12v molex. I also had no coldplate so i used the bottom of a altoids tin. It works suprisingly well ice forms on the bottom in seconds. Im actually using water as the tim between the tec and the tin. Ill use as5 and some glue later but the water works great as a tim and glue whem it freezes.

The heatsink

Tec mounted on the heatsink

Frosty!

Ice Forming

Water bath thing

Now to wait

Update!

Its been in for about an hour and its pretty darn cold but it still can be colder. Its coldest at the bottom where the water is. Im gonna get a soup can instead of the altoids tin for more contact with the soda can. And that fresca stuff tastes horrible. Its kinda like a bootleg sprite with a weird after taste

hahahaha "bootleg sprite" thats funny...i remember last summer i was gettin drunk with this girl and she had her vodka in an empty can of fresca....good story...back on topic: this looks NEATO! i want one...im thinking of trying to make something like this...just another project i am delaying until the end of school (41 days)