Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cases and Case Modding
Cases and Case Modding
Forum Jump

What PSU for Antec P180?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-29-06, 04:57 PM Thread Starter   #1
ColdMiser
Member

 
ColdMiser's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Georgia

10 Year Badge
 
What PSU for Antec P180?


I am going to buy this case and a new PSU for it. I have read how you need a PSU with a pretty long mobo header. What model are you guys using in your P180s?
ColdMiser is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-06, 05:20 PM   #2
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
I have seasonic 600w pluged to asus p5wd2 premium

__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-29-06, 08:17 PM   #3
steveeb
Member

 
steveeb's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: S. California

 
The Silverstone ST56ZF works great. The cables are plenty long enough to reach. DO NOT BUY an Antec TP2.0 550 - the cables are long enough if your 4/8pin ATX is positioned near the top.

__________________

DESKTOP: P5WD2-P D820 SI-120 4GB DDR2-800 REAPERS 6600GT OC x2 7200.10 400GB RAID0 ST56ZF G7 P180
LAPTOP: T7300 2GB 8600M GT 15.4 WSXGA+ 250GB
steveeb is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-06, 04:38 PM   #4
LiveSideways
Member

 
LiveSideways's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveeb
The Silverstone ST56ZF works great. The cables are plenty long enough to reach. DO NOT BUY an Antec TP2.0 550 - the cables are long enough if your 4/8pin ATX is positioned near the top.
I'm running a P180 and a TruePower 2.0 550w and I have no issues. The 4 pin connector will touch the top of the case with slack to spare....
LiveSideways is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-06, 05:09 PM   #5
RangerXLT8
Member

 
RangerXLT8's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Asheville NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdMiser
I am going to buy this case and a new PSU for it. I have read how you need a PSU with a pretty long mobo header. What model are you guys using in your P180s?
PC Power &Cooling 510, cables are plenty long.

__________________
Core 2 Xeon 3210 Quad Core 2.4GHz
Gigabyte EP-35C-DS3R
Patriot Viper DDR3 4GB 6-6-6-20
ATI HD4870 512MB
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
2x150GB Raptors
1x320GB Western Digital HDD
LiteOn DVDRW
Heatware 44-0-0
RangerXLT8 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-30-06, 06:14 PM   #6
steveeb
Member

 
steveeb's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: S. California

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiveSideways
I'm running a P180 and a TruePower 2.0 550w and I have no issues. The 4 pin connector will touch the top of the case with slack to spare....
At least with the P5WD2 board (and other Asus boards) where the ATX connector is in the upper left near the keyboard & mouse inputs, the wire had to stretch across all my PCI cards in order to reach which put a lot of pressure on the graphics card.

With the Silverstone, the cable is long enough that it can go around my graphics card and over my CPU, instead of the straight line path the TP2 had to take. Makes for much better wire management, besides being easier on the PCI cards.

Here's my rough measurements of the cable length of the PSU's I have here:
TP2.0 550 ~ 18"
Silverstone ST56ZF ~ 22"

__________________

DESKTOP: P5WD2-P D820 SI-120 4GB DDR2-800 REAPERS 6600GT OC x2 7200.10 400GB RAID0 ST56ZF G7 P180
LAPTOP: T7300 2GB 8600M GT 15.4 WSXGA+ 250GB
steveeb is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cases and Case Modding
Cases and Case Modding
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?