Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Official AM2 Info

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-06, 02:32 PM Thread Starter   #1
TreeNode
Member

 
TreeNode's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: WNY

 
Post Official AM2 Info


Just recieved some official information on the Athlon FX-62 and the supporting motherboard specs for AM2. I'll post more as I get it.













__________________
AMD ATHLON 64 FX-60
ASUS A8N32-SLI DELUXE
4x1GB Corsair Twin 3500LLPro
2xXFX GeForce 7800 GTX 512
Pictures

Aut disce aut discede
3DMark05: 14604
3DMark06: 9149
TreeNode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-06, 03:21 PM   #2
ziggo0
Member

 
ziggo0's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: La Porte, Indiana

 
Good info. Are the last few for mATX or what?

__________________
My Heatware
ziggo0 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-06, 03:41 PM   #3
Celada
Member

 
Celada's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Slovenia

 
Yes those are mATX because that sign befor ATX stands for micro
Celada is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-06, 04:05 PM   #4
WarriorII
Moderator #666

 
WarriorII's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Moderating

10 Year Badge
 
Good find.

Thanks for sharing.


__________________
To Honor Those who went before their time.
God Bless them all
Fight the Fight worth Fighting
FOLD for Team 32
IS THERE A CURE AMONG US?

Black Belt Overclocker MyHeatware under WarriorII
WarriorII is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-06, 05:55 PM   #5
huey
Member

 
huey's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005

 
90nm? Seriously?

__________________
AMD 3800x2 @ 2700mhz prime95 and superpi32m stable
G.Skill fx's @ 300mhz 2.5-4-3-7
ocz powerstream 520
homegrown wc
DFI Ultra-d ad0
x800GTO2-550/600 16pipes
huey is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-06, 08:58 PM   #6
JOW!
Member



Join Date: Jan 2006

 
no dfi boards
JOW! is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 05:42 AM   #7
Flip-Mode
Member

 
Flip-Mode's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Beer Sheva, Israel

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JOW!
no dfi boards
Give them time.

__________________
Heatware (Yes Israelis have it too!) PayPal Verified[/size]
Flip-Mode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 11:45 AM   #8
mgoode
Member

 
mgoode's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The MotherShip

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by huey
90nm? Seriously?
I thought they were going to 65nm design also

__________________
Benching: 980X

"Behold, I am Funkadelic. I am not of your world. But fear me not, I will do you no harm. Loan me your funky mind and I shall play with it. For nothing is good unless you play with it. And all that is good, is nasty!"
("What Is Soul," Funkadelic, 1969)


mgoode is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 01:48 PM   #9
White_Pawn
Member

 
White_Pawn's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoode
I thought they were going to 65nm design also
yeah... I'm disappointed too.

__________________
- - M a i n R i g - -
E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
^Tuniq Tower 120^
Gigabyte P35-S3L
powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular
White_Pawn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 01:52 PM   #10
Tserrof
Member

 
Tserrof's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UVic

 
AMD isn't shipping 65nm till the beginning of next year correct?

__________________
doodoodoodoodoododooodoo
Tserrof is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 01:53 PM   #11
White_Pawn
Member

 
White_Pawn's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada

 
probrably. If you ask me. It seems like AMD is just following Intel and doing what ever they do. LOL. 65nm will prolly come out with K8L.

__________________
- - M a i n R i g - -
E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
^Tuniq Tower 120^
Gigabyte P35-S3L
powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular
White_Pawn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 02:39 PM   #12
InfiniteThought
Member

 
InfiniteThought's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Davis, CA

 
AM2 would be signifigant if they were releasing a 65nm socket AM2 FX-62. Everything I've read on AM2 so far concludes the performance advantage of AM2 over 939 is minimal almost null. The only real advantage AM2 has is DDR2 support.
InfiniteThought is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 03:38 PM   #13
dreamtfk
Member

 
dreamtfk's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Orlando FL

10 Year Badge
 
Yeh after this long of a wait it really should support 65nm technology. Less heat, less power...I was really looking foward to that.

__________________
i5 3570K @ 4.2Ghz (34c) & CoolerMaster Hyper 212
Asus P8Z77-V
G.Skill Ripjaw 1600 4GBx2
Sapphire 6950 2GB Unlocked/OC'd to 6970 Specs
Corsair Graphite 600T (Awesome!)
Corsair 650TX PSU
120GB Intel(Boot)/Samsung 840 250GB (Gaming)/1TB Samsung (Storage)
Acer 27" Monitor
dreamtfk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 03:54 PM   #14
inkfx
Member

 
inkfx's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas

 
Oh wow an Asrock mobo with 4x - PCIex16. Can't wait to see how that works out. It's a shame AMD decided to stick with 90nm CPUs.

__________________

| Dell Studio17 Laptop |

| T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |
inkfx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 05:32 PM   #15
White_Pawn
Member

 
White_Pawn's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada

 
well. They decided to release one thing at a time. am2, then the K8L and then teh K10. Shoulda just rushed and released as much as they could. However, if youa sk me, they are just trying to get more profit by selling AM2, getting everyone to buy the 90nm cpu then releaseing the 65nm so everyone buys that cpu after. LOL

__________________
- - M a i n R i g - -
E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
^Tuniq Tower 120^
Gigabyte P35-S3L
powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular
White_Pawn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 06:04 PM   #16
AngelfireUk83
Member

 
AngelfireUk83's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England

 
I swear AOPEN are kissing INTEL's ass they never seem to want to release boards for AMD anymore. I've been with AOPEN since my 1st PC (K-6 3 350mhz) and I have this socket A and have been happy with it's performance. I was hoping they will release an early tempting board they seem to be more intrested in INTEL they was even when 939 was the choice for PC building.

And there shuttle PC's all of them are INTEL when will they wake up and smell the coffee. Even thou Conroe maybe better than AM2 (bet AOPEN are glad) there are still some AOPEN fans on AMD that would like some boards still. If I don't see anything by 3 months from now I'm going to DFI.

__________________
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit SP1
Board: Gigabyte Z68AP-D3 Rev.1 F8
CPU: INTEL i7 2600k 3.40ghz (Stock)
RAM: Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866mhz DDR3 (1600mhz@1.60v)
Storage: Crucial 128GB M4 SSD (FW 040H)
Storage 2: Seagate 500GB 7,200rpm HDD
GPU/Audio: HIS 7850 2GB GDDR5 PCI-E Card (OC: 920/1270)
PSU: OCZ Fatality 750w Modular PSU
Optical: LG GH24NS90 24x DVD-RW
AngelfireUk83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 07:48 PM   #17
Careface

 
Careface's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dunedin, New Zealand

 
I'm going to wait out the DFI board. Ive been very impressed with them, both with the nf3 ut, and the nf4 sli-dr, so I'm hoping they will bring out a nice am2 board ..I guess all that speculation about 256bit IMC, 2*2mb cache was wrong

Careface*

__________________
One Team... One Universe... One Goal: The Truth...
{OC*SETI}

...Because we are not alone...


Careface is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?