Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

any Celeron D 478 Pin mod? (533 to 800)

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-06, 10:52 PM Thread Starter   #1
anhvo12345
Member

 
anhvo12345's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: kansas

 
any Celeron D 478 Pin mod? (533 to 800)


Hi, i just got a DELL LOL

is there any pin mod for 478 pin celeron D from 533 fsb to 800mhz fsb?

__________________
AMD Phenom X4 9850 2.5ghz
CM GeminII with 2x120CM
4x2gb 800mhz ram
Biostar TA-770A2+
ati hd 3870
Antec 500watt
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=49406
anhvo12345 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-06, 01:49 PM   #2
TheNewbie


 
TheNewbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas

10 Year Badge
 
There is one but its like pulling teeth to get any info on it. The ppl that have done it just want to brag and don't leave any really useful thoughts on how to do it besides "woot for me look what I can do" . From what I have gathered you have to insulate a one pin and connect two others.

__________________

Msi H55m-E33 w/ i7 810 @ 3.66Ghz 1.255 vcore
Modded TT Bigwater w/ OCZ Cpu WB
PNY DDR3 Cl 8 (2x2GB) 10-9-10-29@2140mhz 1t
Booting 2x WD 1tb Black Raid-0
Msi GTX 650 ti PE 1276 Core 1.15vgpu 1740 Memory
Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Folding Team 32

Heat
Folding User Stats
TheNewbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-06, 02:26 PM   #3
JLK03F150
Member

 
JLK03F150's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
Quote:
BSEL1 BSEL0 Bus Clock Frequency
L L 100 MHz
L H 133 MHz
H L 200 MHz
H H 166 MHz
Supposedly, you need to isolate/insulate the BSEL1 pin to force it High, then connect the BSEL0 pin to a VSS pin to force it Low. The motherboard needs to natively support 200MHz cpu's or it won't work.
JLK03F150 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-06, 02:36 PM   #4
TheNewbie


 
TheNewbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Do you know of any website that shows how to do it?

__________________

Msi H55m-E33 w/ i7 810 @ 3.66Ghz 1.255 vcore
Modded TT Bigwater w/ OCZ Cpu WB
PNY DDR3 Cl 8 (2x2GB) 10-9-10-29@2140mhz 1t
Booting 2x WD 1tb Black Raid-0
Msi GTX 650 ti PE 1276 Core 1.15vgpu 1740 Memory
Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Folding Team 32

Heat
Folding User Stats
TheNewbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-06, 03:18 PM   #5
JLK03F150
Member

 
JLK03F150's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
Here are illustrated instructions for pin-modding a socket 603/604 Xeon. The pins are different, but the procedures are the same.
You should be able to download the 478's pin-out from Intel.
JLK03F150 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-06, 08:35 PM   #6
TheNewbie


 
TheNewbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Ok I got it and it works. If you look at the chart from Intels datasheet on Prescott , Low means the pin is connected internally, and High means it isn't. To do 533 to 800 bus on my Celeron D, I had to bend over BSEL1 (disconnecting the signal to the board) to make it connect to BSEL0 (connecting the board's BSEL0 through the processor's BSEL1). And viola my 315 Celly D is at 800fsb @3.4ghz.

__________________

Msi H55m-E33 w/ i7 810 @ 3.66Ghz 1.255 vcore
Modded TT Bigwater w/ OCZ Cpu WB
PNY DDR3 Cl 8 (2x2GB) 10-9-10-29@2140mhz 1t
Booting 2x WD 1tb Black Raid-0
Msi GTX 650 ti PE 1276 Core 1.15vgpu 1740 Memory
Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Folding Team 32

Heat
Folding User Stats
TheNewbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-06, 08:51 PM   #7
JDXNC
Member

 
JDXNC's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Québec, Canada Èh?

10 Year Badge
 
Interesting, I have a Celeron D 320 in an Asus/HP rebranded board... so no overclocking except for with software. I have managed to have it run stable at 166 FSB--> 3GHz on stock voltage, would run at 3.2Ghz but not price stable. Would it be possible to mod the voltage as well? Or maybe I should just jump it to 166FSB... still a pretty good improvement IMHO.

__________________

Desktop: AMD Phenom 9550 @ 2.6Ghz @ 1.25v
Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3 | OCZ Gold XTC PC2-6400 4 X 1GB
G.Skill Phoenix 60GB SSD
| Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB | Radeon HD 3650 512MB | Dual 19" LCD's

Heatware
JDXNC is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-06, 08:58 PM   #8
TheNewbie


 
TheNewbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Here it is stock vcore rock stable running sb and Spi
Attached Images
 

__________________

Msi H55m-E33 w/ i7 810 @ 3.66Ghz 1.255 vcore
Modded TT Bigwater w/ OCZ Cpu WB
PNY DDR3 Cl 8 (2x2GB) 10-9-10-29@2140mhz 1t
Booting 2x WD 1tb Black Raid-0
Msi GTX 650 ti PE 1276 Core 1.15vgpu 1740 Memory
Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Folding Team 32

Heat
Folding User Stats
TheNewbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-06, 10:23 PM   #9
JLK03F150
Member

 
JLK03F150's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA

 
Bending the BSEL1 (to send High) onto the BSEL0 to send it Low is a great shortcut. Very nice idea.
JLK03F150 is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-19-06, 11:28 PM   #10
greenmaji
Senior Spellcheck

 
greenmaji's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
@TheNewbie.. Great to see you found a hard mod for your CellyD!!!
You might need to figure out a Vcore mod to make that thing stable though, how does it prime, Pcmark04?
greenmaji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-06, 12:39 AM   #11
TheNewbie


 
TheNewbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Greenmaji, I will install pcmark tonight and prime it tomorrow. At the moment it is Spi stable and Sb at stock vcore. Will post results tomorrow night, wish me luck.

__________________

Msi H55m-E33 w/ i7 810 @ 3.66Ghz 1.255 vcore
Modded TT Bigwater w/ OCZ Cpu WB
PNY DDR3 Cl 8 (2x2GB) 10-9-10-29@2140mhz 1t
Booting 2x WD 1tb Black Raid-0
Msi GTX 650 ti PE 1276 Core 1.15vgpu 1740 Memory
Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Folding Team 32

Heat
Folding User Stats
TheNewbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-20-06, 01:23 PM   #12
TheNewbie


 
TheNewbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Texas

10 Year Badge
 
Ok this is what it will do at the moment w/ a crappy single stick of 256mb 2700 @3200 speed. I have some ocz 3500 1gb DC kit on the way.
Attached Images
 

__________________

Msi H55m-E33 w/ i7 810 @ 3.66Ghz 1.255 vcore
Modded TT Bigwater w/ OCZ Cpu WB
PNY DDR3 Cl 8 (2x2GB) 10-9-10-29@2140mhz 1t
Booting 2x WD 1tb Black Raid-0
Msi GTX 650 ti PE 1276 Core 1.15vgpu 1740 Memory
Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Folding Team 32

Heat
Folding User Stats
TheNewbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-19-06, 05:19 PM   #13
maelstromracing
Member



Join Date: May 2005

 
Just did this to my Bro's Celeron D we had. Went from 2.4 to 3.6ghz and rock solid. I will be getting his 2.66 since the P$ board I have wont take a Prescott. :-D Great Mod!!

__________________
Main Rig
Mother Board: MSI K8T Master2 Far7 WINXP PRO SP2
CPU(s): Dual Opteron 246
RAM: 1 GB APACER PC2700 ECC REG

File Server and Toy(Toy is Identical but is the toy) Windows 2000 Professional on Server, WIN XP 64Bit on Toy.
Motherboard: ECS NForce3
CPU: Sempron 3100+ (64Bit) (Toy 250X9) Burn baby burn!
Ram: 512MB PC2700 no-name
maelstromracing is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?