Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones
Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones For all your tiny computing needs.
Forum Jump

Dell Inspiron 8200 Startup Problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-06, 11:05 PM Thread Starter   #1
Nemesis02
Registered



Join Date: May 2005

 
Dell Inspiron 8200 Startup Problem


Hi, i own a Dell Inspiron 8200 laptop and it has died on me recently due to overheating. The symptoms were that you would boot into windows and minutes after booting up the system would freeze completly and you would have to restart. However when you restart, the laptop doesn't even post and all that happens is the caps lock light blinks 10 times then powers down and every time you turn it on, it does the blinking thing. The screen doesn't even turn on either. Once I let it cool down, it will load into windows and the problem starts all over again. I've done some research and have found that the only way that people have fixed this issue was to send it to Dell, however my laptop is out of warrenty and the cost to repair a 4 - 5 year old laptop would be the same as buying a new one.

From what i've learned, people have said that the "power chips" need replacing, and another person said that sometimes the DC power card in the laptop that attaches the motherboard sometimes burns out and causes problems. I was wondering wether someone had a more definite answer to this problem. I've gone through all the standard trouble shooting, removing the laptop memory, putting one in at a time, swapping it for the other, resetting the heat sync, etc.

Laptop Specs
Windows XP Professional
1.8Ghz Pentium 4 M
1x128Mb standard memory
1x512Mb Generic memory
40Gb hd
CDRW
32Mb NVidia GeForce 440 Go

Thanks.
Nemesis02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-05-06, 11:32 PM   #2
Lionsault_100
Member

 
Lionsault_100's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005

 
are the fans still spinning? have you tried it without the generic memory ?

__________________
Anyone need meat?
Lionsault_100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 12:42 AM   #3
outhouse
Senior Member

 
outhouse's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Auburn California

10 Year Badge
 
you need too take out the fans and heatsinks and blow them off/clean and use some as5 on the cpu/gpu a dell 5100 i had was completly blocked after cleaning it was 10-20C cooler some dell models are know for this as well as shutting down. its an easy 10 minute job.

if that fails try running just one memory dimm trying to find a problem there.

get back with us

__________________
GOODLUCK! p3 1g@1285 abit VH6-2 512,133corsair, lapped,ducted Gladiator radioshack compound gf3 ti 200 171FSB 2.10CV generic 10G 7200rpm hard drive xp\pro tdk 32x10x40 cdrw [2 years at 2.10]

p4 3.2e @ 4087, abit ic7-g, 1g corsair 4000 1to1 2x512, antec500w ps,lapped 3.2e, as5, bie, rbx ,maze 4 ,chip an gpu
leadtek 6800 U, 3dmark03 15,009 488/1.25 160 hd, tdk 32/10/40

XPS170 2g/cpu 2g/ram 60g/7200 rpm hd 7800gtx

8400@4g. 680i EVGA blackpearl. 4G ballistic 800mhz. RBX and inovatech NB. DDC BIX EVGA GTX260sc

4790K @ 4.8, Z87 EVGA FTW. 8g Corsair vengance pro, EK cpu and waterblocks. DDC. 240x2 120x1, EVGA 780TI SLI
outhouse is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 08:44 AM Thread Starter   #4
Nemesis02
Registered



Join Date: May 2005

 
I've tried without the generic memory, and the fans worked the last time i checked. A bit noisy, but still worked.
Nemesis02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 11:18 PM   #5
outhouse
Senior Member

 
outhouse's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Auburn California

10 Year Badge
 
you still need to take the heatsinks out to clean atleast verify its not full of lint/dust

__________________
GOODLUCK! p3 1g@1285 abit VH6-2 512,133corsair, lapped,ducted Gladiator radioshack compound gf3 ti 200 171FSB 2.10CV generic 10G 7200rpm hard drive xp\pro tdk 32x10x40 cdrw [2 years at 2.10]

p4 3.2e @ 4087, abit ic7-g, 1g corsair 4000 1to1 2x512, antec500w ps,lapped 3.2e, as5, bie, rbx ,maze 4 ,chip an gpu
leadtek 6800 U, 3dmark03 15,009 488/1.25 160 hd, tdk 32/10/40

XPS170 2g/cpu 2g/ram 60g/7200 rpm hd 7800gtx

8400@4g. 680i EVGA blackpearl. 4G ballistic 800mhz. RBX and inovatech NB. DDC BIX EVGA GTX260sc

4790K @ 4.8, Z87 EVGA FTW. 8g Corsair vengance pro, EK cpu and waterblocks. DDC. 240x2 120x1, EVGA 780TI SLI
outhouse is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-06-06, 11:22 PM Thread Starter   #6
Nemesis02
Registered



Join Date: May 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by outhouse
you still need to take the heatsinks out to clean atleast verify its not full of lint/dust
I've already taken the laptop apart and cleaned it. Removed dust and all.
Nemesis02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-06, 11:44 AM   #7
NODES
Member

 
NODES's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemesis02
I've already taken the laptop apart and cleaned it. Removed dust and all.

are they all(fans) running?

__________________
5 G H Z C L U B
631 @ 5000 - 1.55v - Water cooled

P5WD2 Premium, Ocz 5400 @ 4-4-4-8 @ 1.95v
Swiftech Apogee/ 85 Caprice Heatercore/ Swiftwech MCW60/ Swiftech MCP600/ OCZ Powerstream 520/ BFG 6600GT OC- 4x WD 36gb Raptors (Raid-0) - All wrapped in a modified Antec P180


Heatware: NODES
NODES is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-06, 11:59 AM   #8
Lionsault_100
Member

 
Lionsault_100's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005

 
So dell has a lot of $700 off of anything over $1400 deals lately, they also have other laptops starting at $450......

__________________
Anyone need meat?
Lionsault_100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-06, 01:42 PM Thread Starter   #9
Nemesis02
Registered



Join Date: May 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by NODES
are they all(fans) running?
I don't think it gets to the point where it can turn on the fans. So no, the two fans in the back don't start up. The screen does not come on, hard drive doesn't spin up, nothing. As soon as i turn on the laptop, the caps lock like blinks 10 times then shuts off. It's doesn't even get past the post or anything.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lionsault_100
So dell has a lot of $700 off of anything over $1400 deals lately, they also have other laptops starting at $450......
I already have a new laptop, i would just like to get my old one working again rather than throwing it away.
Nemesis02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-06, 09:11 PM   #10
NODES
Member

 
NODES's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Toronto

 
if u do decide to get rid of it, plz PM me

__________________
5 G H Z C L U B
631 @ 5000 - 1.55v - Water cooled

P5WD2 Premium, Ocz 5400 @ 4-4-4-8 @ 1.95v
Swiftech Apogee/ 85 Caprice Heatercore/ Swiftwech MCW60/ Swiftech MCP600/ OCZ Powerstream 520/ BFG 6600GT OC- 4x WD 36gb Raptors (Raid-0) - All wrapped in a modified Antec P180


Heatware: NODES
NODES is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-07-06, 09:18 PM   #11
Lionsault_100
Member

 
Lionsault_100's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005

 
it looks like you will need a new motherboard for this

__________________
Anyone need meat?
Lionsault_100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones
Laptops/Netbooks/SFF/Smartphones For all your tiny computing needs.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?