Notices

Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Dual HT Xeons, and extra idle CPU time. Is the extra time useful at all?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-06, 10:52 PM Thread Starter   #1
soundfx4
Member

 
soundfx4's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Roanoke, VA

 
Dual HT Xeons, and extra idle CPU time. Is the extra time useful at all?


When I first started up my dual xeon system folding, I ran two instances of FAH and I am still doing that now. However, there is still 50% idle CPU time due to the HT thing. I never bothered running anymore instances because HT is only a virtual CPU, and doesn't really do any good, but I can't help but ask if there is any way to utilize the rest of my CPU time for quicker folding? I know it is just HT that is causing that, but when I see it I just keep thinking to myself that it should be at 100%, and it bothers me. Should I try running another instance? Or should I just leave it alone running two instances?

Also, if anyone has any other information they would like to bring to my attention about this, then by all means, go ahead and post.

Thanks!

__________________
Facts about me:
1: I'm a cheater and pround of it! (video games) R.I.P. - Console Game Cheating, Pelican Code breaker, Game shark, you will be missed, and console gaming will never be the same with out you.
2: Currently learning to speak japanese (was...I haven't got back into this yet)
3: Playing wow again -_- Realm:Shandris Faction:Alliance Class:Druid Level:80 Spec:Feral Name:Hawtdrood
4: I'm Depressed most of the time, and I still don't know what I want to do with my life
5: I like cars and hope to learn to work on them one day
soundfx4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-06, 11:00 PM   #2
pscout
Senior Newbie Cannon-Fodder - R. I. P. good buddy :(

 
pscout's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Toronto

 
folding purists would say to just run 1 instance per real cpu ... and if qmd's return that would certainly be the best setup.

with the current wu's, tho I am running 2 instances on all my HT P4's since the throughput improvement is around 25%.

so i would run 4 instances. But i think there is something that needs to be done to have the cpu affinities setup right on duals. Just going from memory here since i don't have any dual's, just DC's which don't have HT so i just run 2 instances on them.

Some of the many other dually folders can confirm.

You can also do some searches here on dual setups.

__________________
Main Rig - p5b-d, E6600@3.15
Folding rigs - usually linux-64:
2xQ6600 B3 @3.0, 3.1 p5w64, DS3
4x Q6600 GO @ 3.1-3.3 on p35-DS3R/DS3L, p5k
4x x3210 B3 @3.0-3.1 on DS3 rev 3.3
x3220 B3 @3.0 on g33-ds2r
3x E6600 @2.8-3.5 on p5b, ds3, p5w64
E6320 @ 3.15 on ds3
1x930 c1 @4.0 on p5wd2-E

Folding for OCF Team 32 as pete_scout
pscout is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-06, 11:01 PM   #3
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
Windows is lying to you about the idle time. If you're running 2 instances, both cpus will be utilized 100%. Task manager just doesn't know it because it beleives there are 4 physical processors when in fact there are only two. With current WUs you could increase ppd buy about 25% by running 4 instances.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-06, 11:02 PM   #4
ChasR
Senior Member

 
ChasR's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta

 
No need to set affinities with 4 instances, Windows balances things nicely.

__________________

All ppd from friends and family. Many thanks to HayesK for his support and congrats on being the #1 Folder on Team 32. Special thanks to ChrisC and ColinC


Folding User Stats
ChasR is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-06, 11:25 PM Thread Starter   #5
soundfx4
Member

 
soundfx4's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Roanoke, VA

 
So I guess for the time being, it would be worth it to run 4 instances then? 25% could keep me above 800 PPD (points per day, right?)

__________________
Facts about me:
1: I'm a cheater and pround of it! (video games) R.I.P. - Console Game Cheating, Pelican Code breaker, Game shark, you will be missed, and console gaming will never be the same with out you.
2: Currently learning to speak japanese (was...I haven't got back into this yet)
3: Playing wow again -_- Realm:Shandris Faction:Alliance Class:Druid Level:80 Spec:Feral Name:Hawtdrood
4: I'm Depressed most of the time, and I still don't know what I want to do with my life
5: I like cars and hope to learn to work on them one day
soundfx4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-09-06, 01:33 AM   #6
Audioaficionado
Super Moderator

 
Audioaficionado's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Medford, Orygun

10 Year Badge
 
I'm running 4 instances right now and getting ~400PPD

I was getting 575PPD on 2x QMDs

Anyway like ChasR sez you should run 4x WUs until something big like QMDs come back.

__________________
.....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
.......................Folding is a marathon, not a sprint audioaficionado
Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz >SMP2+GPU3 FAH 24/7
Gigabyte DS3, 3GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6400 @3.0GHz
Asus P5Q PRO Turbo, 4GB GSkill 5-5-5-15-2t PC6400, E6600 @3.0GHz
Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ4002048PFDC-K 2.5-3-3-8-1t, Dual 2.4 M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds???Click This Link
Anyone we catch cookie stuffing at this site will be banned on the spot!!
Audioaficionado is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Overclockers.com Teams > Folding Team
Folding Team Join the Overclockers.com Protein-Folding Team and support medical research!
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?