Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Windows Server 2003 NLB

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-10-06, 04:45 AM Thread Starter   #1
Liquidsky
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2001

 
Windows Server 2003 NLB


Hey guys, wanted to know whether it's possible to set up a NLB (Network Load Balanced) cluster using only the OS and no extra hardware using two nodes? Do the two nodes only output 1 public IP address or does it come out as 2? Kinda new at this so any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!
Liquidsky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-06, 07:15 AM   #2
coin
Member

 
coin's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Denmark

 
to my knowledge you would need to set them up as an Active/Active cluster.
coin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-10-06, 10:26 AM   #3
Ebola
Senior Toilet Scrubber

 
Ebola's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rosemount, MN

10 Year Badge
 
I've done a 2 node active passive sql cluster with an attacted array. I think its possible without the attached array but I have no idea on how its done. I think you need a quorum drive on each node.

And when you set up the cluster you have one IP for the cluster and about 9 other IPs for everything else.

__________________
[Cythraul Design]
Ebola is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-14-06, 09:08 PM Thread Starter   #4
Liquidsky
Registered



Join Date: Aug 2001

 
Thanks guys. But still wondering whether i need an extra switch or hub to set the one cluster ip or is it done by one of the two nodes? Since it's a webserver i'm worried about the DNS transfer in case one node goes down, do i have to indicate my two internal IPs to my ISP or do the notes reroute themselves? When using an active/active cluster is data synchronized between the two machines, meaning updated (mirrored)? Thanks again i'm still new at this.
Liquidsky is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?