Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

To ECC or not to ECC

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-06, 04:33 PM Thread Starter   #1
Schlotkins
Registered



Join Date: Feb 2002

 
To ECC or not to ECC


Well, I am going to upgrade my box here very soon and debating whether or not to go with ECC RAM. I understand the concept - I'm just not sure if it's really worth it for my situation. I leave my box on 24 hours a day for Folding@home, but I reboot it once a day to clean everything out. My new box will be something like:

Conroe/AMD 2.6ghz range
4 gigs of RAM
Raptor 15K and another large drive
ATI x1300
Maybe IRAM

I do photoshop stuff for my digital photos, and my big program is Excel and SAS for my finance Ph.D. stuff. So, not sure if the ECC will make much of a difference for me in terms of stability. I figure it's an extra $100 for the motherboard and another $200-250 for the RAM + some performance loss. $350 is a bunch of cash for very minimal improvement.
Schlotkins is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-06, 04:49 PM   #2
Bios24
Member

 
Bios24's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Kansas City, MO

 
I would be very skeptical. My overclocked box runs 24x7 and my up time is up to 30 days with no reboot on XP Pro. I run all sorts of apps and games and everything seems to run smooth. It's all about building it right, testing for stability, and understanding XP.

If you're really that worried and have the extra cash, go for it. But IMHO for a desktop system I'd spend the money elsewhere.

__________________
Antec P180 - Corsair HX520W - Dell 2005fpw
Opteron 165 <Currently 280x9 1.35v>
DFI NF4 Ultra-D - 2gb G.Skill 3-4-4-8@250mhz
320gb+200gb Seagate - XFX 6800GS 500/1.2ghz
Sound Blaster X-Fi - BA7900 5.1 Surround
Thermalright XP-90C - <The Quiet Overclock>
[ HEATWARE ]
Bios24 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-06, 05:42 PM   #3
Internal
Member



Join Date: Dec 2005

 
I agree, esp since he says he can reboot his computer at will from the sounds of it.

The only way IMO you could justify buying that ram is if its being bought to make money(or to sustain a modern business etc) in a way a business would buy a server and throw ECC ram, RAId 5, redundent PSU's, redundent NICs etc at it.
Internal is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-06, 06:04 PM   #4
infinitevalence
Member

 
infinitevalence's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nashville

 
as a person who uses both... it does not matter, if your board takes non EEC then just use that, if you have a choice then use non EEC. Unless you need EEC its just not worth the cost IMO. Not for a home computer/folder/home server.
infinitevalence is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?