Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > General Motherboards
General Motherboards
Forum Jump

Scared to Flash my Bios....please help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-06, 05:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
WhatTheSchmidt
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004

 
Scared to Flash my Bios....please help


I hope this is the best forum for this.

Sig for rig. Reason I have to flash my bios is because the computer boots up at 800mhz because the CPU doesn't get the right voltage and also stops me from being able to bootup with 2 sticks of ram....

Reason I'm afraid is because I'm using a mobile 3200+ processor in my MSI mobo and when I flash I need it to work properly...can't go through my computer not working afterwards...

So...I need to know if I'm safe, what version bios I need to flash it with? etc....

thanks.

__________________
e6420
Gigabyte UD3R
4GB G.Skill 1000
2 500gb spinpoint F3s in raid0/1
MSI 4830
Corsair 520hx
in a CM Stacker

water cooled with swiftech apogee GT black,
mcp 600 pump, swiftech 120x3 rad
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=28709
WhatTheSchmidt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 05-16-06, 08:39 PM   #2
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
If you are careful and take your time, it is unlikely that anything will go wrong. I would suggest flashing to the latest version, using an MS DOS boot floppy (or cd) and the dos flashing program.

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-16-06, 09:08 PM   #3
Know Nuttin
Senior Member

 
Know Nuttin's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
Just follow the instructions by MSI on flashing the BIOS. Read them at least a good 5 times, or until you fully understand them. Other than that, and running minimal hardware to reduce any possible conflicts, you should be fine.

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965BE, Asus M5A88-V Evo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600 , Coolermaster Hyper212+, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB, Seagate 7200.11 500GB, Antec EA-380
Lenovo X200, P8400 C2D, 8GB, 120GB OCZ Vertex 3.
Know Nuttin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-06, 09:17 AM   #4
mdcomp
Classic Moderator Admin
Overclockers.com Lead Editor


 
mdcomp's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhatTheSchmidt
I hope this is the best forum for this.
Not really. You may get more help here, in General Motherboards, I moved it.


I was scared my first time, too. You need to ask yourself a few questions first though. Is the "Reset CMOS" jumper set to reset the BIOS settings? Have you tried going into BIOS, checking the proper settings and saving the settings? It is very important you save the settings before resetting the computer. If you already tried both of those, then maybe it is time to upgrade BIOS.

Before you can figure out what version you need, you need to know what motherboard you have. You said MSI, what model? Once you know the model, the best place to find updated BIOS is on the MSI website. I hope this helps. Please keep asking questions, it is the only way to learn.


Matt

mdcomp is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-06, 09:54 AM   #5
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
It still looks like it's in General Hardware to me.

I was scared the first time I did it as well. Within the year I was modifing bioses to show more options and flashing them to my boards, and never had a problem. My brother once ended up with a corrupted bios (not from flashing it though), so I hotflashed his chip for him on one of my old boards. Worked great.

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-17-06, 09:57 AM   #6
mdcomp
Classic Moderator Admin
Overclockers.com Lead Editor


 
mdcomp's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnufsh
It still looks like it's in General Hardware to me.
Whoops! It's a wonder I haven't been fired yet.


All better now.

Matt

mdcomp is offline Author Profile Benching Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > General Motherboards
General Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?