• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Your biggest program?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JigPu

Inactive Pokémon Moderator
So I was sitting at work yesterday busy debugging an application I've been working on, and began to wonder just how big it was. After going through all the files, I came up with ~2500 lines including comments. It's far from an amazingly complex piece of software (basically a VLC front end to allow users to control specific IP cameras), but I'm still amazed at how much code I've written for it.

So, how about you guys? What's the longest program you've written (or were the majority coder of), and about how long was it?

JigPu

Not many on one program alone since I'm still learning.

Probably the biggest program i've made was a very basic opengl 3d engine about 2000 lines.. I also made a 2d-game which was about 2000 lines. This is still relatively small compared to typical programs. Usually anything with less than 100k lines is considered small. Programs you make all by yourself though are usually small.

The biggest program I've ever made was a Bulletin Board system written in PHP and MySQL well exceeding 4,000 lines, prolly about 10k, never calculated though.

My monsterous Math29 program written on my TI-83 in TI-Basic:
The thing is more mixed up than spaghetti =\
BIGPROG.jpg

Although my GUI-fied SudokuSolver is probably larger..

JigPu said:
So I was sitting at work yesterday busy debugging an application I've been working on, and began to wonder just how big it was. After going through all the files, I came up with ~2500 lines including comments. It's far from an amazingly complex piece of software (basically a VLC front end to allow users to control specific IP cameras), but I'm still amazed at how much code I've written for it.