Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Ram timing/frequency problems

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-26-06, 11:57 AM Thread Starter   #1
dyanisis2
Registered



Join Date: May 2006

 
Ram timings problem


Just a curious question. Ive noticed when i go into bios it shows that i have 1024 or ram. This is correct. But if i adjust the timings at all to compensate for oc'ing then when it reboots it only shows that i have 512 of memory. Any idea why it does this? Normal timings are 2.5-3-3-7. If i even change it to
3-3-3-7 then it tells me i only have 512 of memory.
dyanisis2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-06, 12:21 PM   #2
inkfx
Member

 
inkfx's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas

 
Is it 512x2 or just a 1GB stick?

__________________

| Dell Studio17 Laptop |

| T9300 @ 2.5Ghz - ATI 3850 - 3GB RAM - Seagate 320GB 7200rpm - 17" (1920x1200) Glossy widescreen | Windows 7 64-bit |
inkfx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-26-06, 12:33 PM Thread Starter   #3
dyanisis2
Registered



Join Date: May 2006

 
it is two 512 sticks. One is a corsair brand. The other is a cheaper brand- can't remember then name right now- and im at work
dyanisis2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-06, 01:28 PM Thread Starter   #4
dyanisis2
Registered



Join Date: May 2006

 
no one have any ideas?
dyanisis2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-06, 01:47 PM Thread Starter   #5
dyanisis2
Registered



Join Date: May 2006

 
Ram timing/frequency problems


Just a curious question. Ive noticed when i go into bios it shows that i have 1024 or ram. This is correct. But if i adjust the timings at all to compensate for oc'ing then when it reboots it only shows that i have 512 of memory. Any idea why it does this? Normal timings are 2.5-3-3-7. If i even change it to 3-3-3-7 then it tells me i only have 512 of memory. MY memory is 512x2 - one stick of corsair and one cheap brand

Furthermore, according to CPU Z my FSB is running at 111 mhz with a 444.1 bus speed. It also shows the memory frequency at 185 mhz. Isnt 185 way to high for PC2700 memory. Maybe im confused. My system is perfectly stable so i dont know. I have CPU-Z but i don't know how to take a screen shot of it to show u guys. If someone could let me know that as well.
dyanisis2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-06, 02:14 PM   #6
TimoneX
Member

 
TimoneX's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002

10 Year Badge
 
It's possible one of your two sticks is failing when you change timings and you're only running one. Probably the "cheap brand".

PC2700 is supposed to run at 166Mhz(DDR333) so 185(DDR370) is a decent overclock, but certainly not impossible.

To take a screenie just get everything lain out on your desktop that you want to snap a shot of, press the PrtScn(print screen) button, open up paint, photochop...etc and press ctrl-V(paste). Then you just need to edit the pic size and save it as a .jpg or .png and upload it.

__________________
Giga UD3Rv2 - i7 970 - 4x4GB DDR3 - MSI 6950-6970 - Adaptec 3085 - 2x64GB M4 SSD R0 - 4x1TB Sammy F3 - DD TDX - Ultra X3 800
Heat under TimoneX - Bitcoin 1Hfp99tugY4H5FYEoM3hj4JDLzShzZ9ifB
TimoneX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-27-06, 02:31 PM Thread Starter   #7
dyanisis2
Registered



Join Date: May 2006

 
thanks for the info. I was under the impression that the 166Mhz was the max speed the mem could run at or it would crash. So if i try to overclock more, do i need to drop that ratio down so the ram speed doesn't try to get too high? I have included a screenshot as well.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by dyanisis2; 05-27-06 at 02:54 PM.
dyanisis2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?