Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

cylinder res

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread

Old 06-13-06, 10:15 AM Thread Starter   #1
Speedmonkay

cylinder res

I'm interested in making my own Cylinder Res. Not a small internal one like Niksub1 has made but a big external one. I dont want a cheapie ghetto PVC pipe res. But Im also not looking for anything that has to be machines because I dont have access to CNC machines or anything like that.
I have never done it before so Im looking for advice.

1. What are good materials that are fairly easy to work with ?
2. Where is a reasonably priced place to get these materials ?
3. Any special tools/blades needed or special way to cut these materials ?
4. Any special drill bits needed or special way to drill holes in the materials ?

I'm not sure what size I was going to make it but at least 3-4 feet tall.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Last edited by Speedmonkay; 06-13-06 at 10:26 AM.
Speedmonkay is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-13-06, 10:26 AM   #2
jamesavery22

Think you should give more info on your req's of the res. first.

Namely does it have to be clear and how are you planning on mounting/standing it.

edit---------

If it has to be clear then this stuff is what I've seen recommended in the past:
Polycarbonate Tubes
http://www.tapplastics.com/shop/product.php?pid=276&

Just do the research for what type of epoxy you should use. IIRC it has to be a specific type.

Last edited by jamesavery22; 06-13-06 at 10:41 AM.
jamesavery22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-13-06, 10:53 AM   #3
da_pipe
Registered

da_pipe is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-13-06, 11:13 AM Thread Starter   #4
Speedmonkay

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesavery22
Think you should give more info on your req's of the res. first.