Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Where to find a PSU type plug for my pump

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-14-06, 02:01 PM Thread Starter   #1
UmHelp
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
Where to find a PSU type plug for my pump


Just bought a pump and it doesnt have a plug on the end. I would like to find something like this:
http://www.dangerdenstore.com/produc...&cat=51&page=1
but without all the pump relay crap because I want my pump to run 24-7. So anyone know where i can find just the plug without the relay stuff??
UmHelp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-06, 02:45 PM   #2
whines
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Austin, TX

 
I've never seen a premade one without a relay. You could probably rig something yourself with parts from a hardware store; install a socket for an EIA plug in the back of your case or one for something small on a card slot cover. Or just make a hole for the cable to go through and knot it behind.
whines is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-06, 02:52 PM Thread Starter   #3
UmHelp
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/ty10corfifi.html

What about one of these. They look interesting but i am not sure what an RFI filter is and the purpose of this thing. If it wasn't an RFI filter thing then this would look like something that would work.
UmHelp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-06, 02:53 PM   #4
scott d
Member

 
scott d's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tampa, FL

 
I would just run the plug out one of the pci slots, you can probably find a plug at the hardware store, or just cannibalize an extension cord. Since you're never going to turn it off, just plug it directly into your wall or a power strip and leave it.

__________________
Heat
scott d is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-06, 03:32 PM Thread Starter   #5
UmHelp
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
I took apart an old dell psu and i was looking at its plug. it has all kinds of capacitors and such but if i took those off and use it you think it would work?
UmHelp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-06, 03:36 PM   #6
scott d
Member

 
scott d's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tampa, FL

 
wait a sec, do you have an AC or a DC pump? your sig says you have a D4, so you just need to connect it to a molex on your PSU and it'll be on whenever your computer is on. If you want to have it be on when your computer is off, you'll have to get a DC inverter and permanently wire it to that. That's really way too much trouble though, just connect it to a molex and be done with it.

__________________
Heat
scott d is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-06, 03:40 PM Thread Starter   #7
UmHelp
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
This is for my new system. I bought a iwaki MD-20RZ, Thermochill 120.3, Storm Rev2.
UmHelp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-06, 03:44 PM   #8
scott d
Member

 
scott d's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tampa, FL

 
ok, just wire it up to run off an external plug then. the point of a relay is to turn the pump on w/ the computer, and if you don't want to turn the pump off, then just plug it into the wall.

__________________
Heat
scott d is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-06, 03:47 PM Thread Starter   #9
UmHelp
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
I dont want to just run a wire out of my case. I want to make it look clean and have the ability to unplug my pump by pulling the cord out of the back of my computer. Ideally i want to setup some LEDs that tell me when there is power to the pump or not just incase it accidentally gets unpluged. Just an extra safty measure.
UmHelp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-06, 04:19 PM   #10
tomoracle290
Member

 
tomoracle290's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Isle of Man, uk

 
yeh i would not wire out of you case, if you turned ur computer on and forgot to turn the pump that would not be good, and i would say don't use the LEDs use an lcd screen they look cool and you can display what you want on them, just a thaught and they are only about $10
tomoracle290 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-06, 05:09 PM   #11
citronym
Member



Join Date: May 2005
Location: Atlanta

 
As long as you use thermal shut-down forgetting to turn the pump on soulnd't break a thing. Not that I recommend doing it.

__________________
heat
citronym is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-14-06, 06:33 PM   #12
SolidxSnake
Member

 
SolidxSnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmHelp
I dont want to just run a wire out of my case. I want to make it look clean and have the ability to unplug my pump by pulling the cord out of the back of my computer. Ideally i want to setup some LEDs that tell me when there is power to the pump or not just incase it accidentally gets unpluged. Just an extra safty measure.

Buy a male->pin 3-prong jack (or take out one from an old PSU), drill a hole in your case, mount the jack. Then, cut the male plug from the pump, and solder that to the jack. Get a standard power cable, and plug that into the wall/strip. Plug that into your case whenever. Only way to do it. I believe mouser should have those jacks.

BTW, I'm getting the impression that you want to just plug it straight into the PSU for some reason. That pump NEEDS to be plugged into a 120VAC jack, it can't run off a computer's 12v line.

__________________
When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224

SolidxSnake is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-06, 12:04 AM   #13
Sneaky
Skulltrail Junkie

 
Sneaky's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Milwaukee, WI

 

__________________
Lian Li PC-75B Corsair Professional Series AX850
2x Intel Xeon E5420 @ 3.0GHz (400x7.5) Intel D5400XS Skulltrail
8GB (4x2GB) A-Data DDR2-800 FB-DIMM ECC (1:1 @ 400MHz)
MSI Radeon HD4870 1GB Creative X-Fi Titanium HD
2x WD VelociRaptor 150GB (RAID 0) + 2x WD Caviar Black 500GB
2x EK Supreme HF CPU EK S-MAX NB EK VGA Supreme GPU Blastflow Tidal SB
Thermochill PA120.3 Swiftech MCRes-Micro Laing D5 w/ Bitspower Top

-----------------------------------------------------------------
Heatware http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=34593
Sneaky is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-06, 09:36 AM Thread Starter   #14
UmHelp
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
No, I dont want to connect the pump directly to the PSU i want to cut a hole right above my psu with the same type of plug. It would look like there are two power plugs going into the computer.

#J2 looks exactly like what I want. I was just going to use the plug from an old PSU (I mean cut it out of the PSU maybe thats where some of hte confusion was) but there are all kinds of capacitors and resistors soldered on and it would be a bit of work getting them all off so i might just grab one from that site.
UmHelp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-06, 10:21 AM Thread Starter   #15
UmHelp
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
I just got unlazy and chopped up my old PSU and cut out the female connector.

PIC HERE
UmHelp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-15-06, 02:07 PM   #16
SolidxSnake
Member

 
SolidxSnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmHelp
I just got unlazy and chopped up my old PSU and cut out the female connector.

PIC HERE

There ya go!

__________________
When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224

SolidxSnake is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?