Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Installing x800gto ... HELP !!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-06, 07:40 AM Thread Starter   #1
RoosterUK
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: UK

 
Installing x800gto ... HELP !!


I've installed a new x800gto agp to replace my geforce 5700le.

I've removed the geforce drivers, used driver cleaner then physically installed the new card.

On booting into windows xp pro sp2 the 'New Hardware' wizard opens but then says it can't install because the software can't be found.

Tried with the installation disc in & downloaded latest from ATI , still the same.

Running the ati install program on the disc stops with a message
'Setup was unable to complete the installation. Try to setup a standard vga driver before running setup'

It Seems Windows just can't recognise the x800.

Any ideas anyone ??

Hopefully its something simple I've missed.
RoosterUK is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-20-06, 10:58 AM   #2
Yuriman
Member

 
Yuriman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The OCFORUMS

 
I've had this happen when I tried to install drivers before rebooting.
Yuriman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-21-06, 05:33 PM   #3
soulfly1448
Member

 
soulfly1448's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: St. Louis

 
I had the exact same issue with a X800Pro. I had to actually reinstall windows. What happened was wen I ran the drive cleaner (same as you did) it actually deleted the Windows VGA registry entries. Since I don't care to mess round with the registry and I love to do it anyway, I reinstalled windows. Then, all was good.

__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.6GHz
ASRock Z68 Extreme4
2 x 4GB g.skill Sniper 1866
Gigabyte GTX770 Windforce


Ever heard of Google? Try their fantastic "Search" option!
"A positive attitude will not solve all your problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort." --- Herm Albright
soulfly1448 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-21-06, 05:35 PM   #4
Gabkicks
Member

 
Gabkicks's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: New Jersey

10 Year Badge
 
cant you select what you want to delete with drivercleaner? u accidentally deleted registry entries? i've never had this problem

__________________
Intel i7 920 3.8ghz + Xigmatek Dark Knight| ASRock X58 Extreme | AMD Perf. 3x4GB DDR3 1866 | Sapphire r9 290 Tri-X cfx| Samsung 840pro 256gb|
640gig+1.5tb WD 7200rpm| Antec Twelve Hundred|Cooler Master V1000
ASUS vg234QE 144hz monitor | CreAtive X-Fi XtremeMusic | Fanatec Porsche 911TS wheel Logitech g500. OCZ Elixir
Gabkicks is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?