Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

RAiD 0 Dies...

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-20-06, 09:14 PM Thread Starter   #1
MERKiN
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2006

 
RAiD 0 Dies...


Yeah i know RAiD 0 doesnt have any true recovery options, but one of my HDD's just went for some reason, no clue why it went, but its showing as unreadable. Its raided within windows. So right now, i just want to know how i can recover the info off my "Dead" drive, and rebuild my raid. Or what will happen if i delete this drive's info, will my RAID still be alive? Someone help please, i have like 760GB on here lol

-MERKi[N]
MERKiN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-20-06, 11:08 PM   #2
Mr.Guvernment

 
Mr.Guvernment's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Costa Rica - and toronto sometimes

10 Year Badge
 
u likely cant recover the dead info if your controller is reading the drive as unreadable.

you could try to get another identical controller....

your data is split between both drives, if one drive dies EVERYTHING is gone.

Should of read up more on rad 0 before implementing it.

__________________

,`, Poor Planning On Your Part Does Not Constitute An Emergency On My Part ,`,
,`, The trouble with life is theres no background music ,`,
,`, Life isnt short, you're just dead for too long,`,


Mr.Guvernment is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-20-06, 11:17 PM   #3
Knacko
Member

 
Knacko's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Not here

 
Is Windows run off those drives or a seperate one?

__________________
[Gigabyte DS3 MB]
[
Intel e6420 @ 3.52GHz]
[
2GB Mushkin XP2-8500]
[
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB @ 711/1037]
[
WD 36GB Raptor]
[
Seagate 7200.10 320GB x 2]
[
Corsair HX-520 PSU]
[
Mounted inside a bookcase
]
Knacko is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-20-06, 11:36 PM   #4
Recursion
Member

 
Recursion's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bronx, NY

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Guvernment
u likely cant recover the dead info if your controller is reading the drive as unreadable.

you could try to get another identical controller....

your data is split between both drives, if one drive dies EVERYTHING is gone.

Should of read up more on rad 0 before implementing it.
Its a risk well well well worth taking.
Recursion is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-21-06, 09:03 AM Thread Starter   #5
MERKiN
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2006

 
i Know how raid 0 works, and since i did read up on it i know it is one of the fastest raids out there. whereas RAiD 5 would be best, but i dont need raid five for a simple home machine... The status still shows unreadable in Windows, but it does show the drive type so it is getting some info. Im going to take it back to myold job and have them ghost it entirely to another SATA drive and see if that works. I mean it is a WD so it could just be a bad drive...

[edit] here is a picture of it, i see the drive, windows sees it but it wants to say unreadable.



i'm going to reinstall my raid drivers and see if this works. I've tried removing the drivers for the drive and reinstalling them, the drive comes up but wont read.

Last edited by MERKiN; 06-21-06 at 09:12 AM.
MERKiN is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-21-06, 10:16 AM Thread Starter   #6
MERKiN
Registered



Join Date: Mar 2006

 
here is what diskpart is saying... bare in mind the 150GB drive is having issues, all the others are fine

DISKPART> list disk

Disk ### Status Size Free Dyn Gpt
-------- ---------- ------- ------- --- ---
Disk 0 Online 186 GB 0 B
Disk 1 Online 149 GB 0 B *
Disk 2 Online 190 GB 333 KB *
Disk 3 Online 186 GB 0 B *
Disk 4 Online 190 GB 333 KB *
Disk M0 Missing 0 B 0 B *

Thats strange...
MERKiN is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?