Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Using Nocona + Irwindale on same board possible?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-22-06, 08:14 PM Thread Starter   #1
Go3Team
Member

 
Go3Team's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Richmond, VA

 
Using Nocona + Irwindale on same board possible?


I have a NCCH-DL Asus board currently using a single Nocona 3.4. Finding another Nocona thru trusted places has become impossible. Is it possible to put an Irwindale, or would I need to switch the other to Irwindale as well?

Thanks.
Go3Team is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-06, 05:43 PM   #2
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
I'm pretty sure that both procs have to be the same, atleast that is what my motherboard manual says...

I just did a quick search, and I can't seem to find Nocona's anymore...

Edit: Found one, but I think the price is a little high...$425...I have dual Nocona 2.8@3.6. Lol, wasn't going to pay 400-600 for procs that I can get for 212 and just o/c them.

http://www.8anet.com/merchant.ihtml?pid=458&step=4

Last edited by thideras; 06-28-06 at 05:48 PM.
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-06, 07:07 PM   #3
Jmag034
Registered

 
Jmag034's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Wisconsin

 
They need to be the same.
Jmag034 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-28-06, 07:32 PM   #4
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
yup, sometimes they have issues with different steppings.
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?