Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Windows Explorer defaults to "search"

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-26-06, 03:14 PM Thread Starter   #1
whitebloodcell
Member

 
whitebloodcell's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wells, England

 
Windows Explorer defaults to "search"


When opening up any window either via Windows Explorer or from "My Computer" the window goes to search this folder rather than displaying its contents. How can I change this back to the Windows default?

__________________
"You better watch who your calling a child louis, because if I'm a child you know what that makes you? A Paedophile, and I'll be damned if I'm going to stand here and be lectured by a pervert !" - Peter Griffin
whitebloodcell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-06, 04:17 PM   #2
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
Start | Run | Type... regsvr32 /i shell32, and click OK. If running that command doesn't work for you, check in the registry under the following key...

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT | Directory | shell

The (Default) String Name should have a Value data of none. To modify the value, right click (Default) and select Modify | In the Edit String dialog that opens, type none into the Value data field | You'll need to reboot after making either of the above changes. This is what the registry key should look like...
Attached Images
 


Last edited by redduc900; 06-26-06 at 04:23 PM.
redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-26-06, 04:54 PM Thread Starter   #3
whitebloodcell
Member

 
whitebloodcell's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Wells, England

 
Thanks for the quick reply, I didnt have much success tho, the comp didnt recognise the command. I checked the registry option and it was already set to none. Comp still goes straight to search tho. Any other ideas? Anything I can do to help you?

__________________
"You better watch who your calling a child louis, because if I'm a child you know what that makes you? A Paedophile, and I'll be damned if I'm going to stand here and be lectured by a pervert !" - Peter Griffin
whitebloodcell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-27-06, 03:17 AM   #4
redduc900
Super Moderator


 
redduc900's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: WCG@home in Portland

10 Year Badge
 
When you typed regsvr32 /i shell32 into the Run box, a dialog appeared informing you that the command wasn't recognized? Which OS are you running?

redduc900 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?