Notices

Overclockers Forums > Discussions > General Discussion
General Discussion Forum for general conversation, share interests, have a laugh or discuss anything not related to above or below forums.
Forum Jump

Should i get A+ Certified?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-26-06, 10:03 PM Thread Starter   #1
thaclassikz
Member

 
thaclassikz's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC

 
Should i get A+ Certified?


I've been studying lately to take the A+ core hardware/os exam. I want to ask those of you that have experience with it, if its worth getting? Basically i want the A+ certification so i can be qualified for better paying jobs. Please keep in mind that i am still in college so i don't want to waste my money getting the A+ certification, and if i fail the test thats even worst...

__________________
MY HEATWARE
thaclassikz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-26-06, 11:10 PM   #2
stang8118
Member

 
stang8118's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Philly, PA

 
This question comes up often here. If you do a search i am sure you'll find plenty of explinations of yes or no.

Personally i feel if you got the time + extra $$ i'd say sure go for it. I personally don't have one, but from what i hear its on pretty outdated hardware technoligy that most companies don't even use... though i am sure it'll look a little better on your resume.

__________________
Intel i5 4570 - Asus Z87C - G Skill 2x4gb
Corsair 750w Modular - Antec 300 - ATI HD7850OC

Retired 3dmark Captain
Heatware 110-0-0
stang8118 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-26-06, 11:13 PM   #3
Lionsault_100
Member

 
Lionsault_100's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2005

 
You won't fail the test if you have remote knowlege about computers..

It's not worth the paper its printed on save your money for parts or books

__________________
Anyone need meat?
Lionsault_100 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-26-06, 11:46 PM   #4
Ebola
Senior Toilet Scrubber

 
Ebola's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rosemount, MN

10 Year Badge
 
If you have a college degree most certs don't matter unless your going into a very specialized field. Ex. CCNP or CISSP. For your first job out of college it may help you get in the door.

Put it this way. We have 10 Sysadmins in my group. Only one has a MCSE.

__________________
[Cythraul Design]
Ebola is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-06, 10:43 PM   #5
Jod
Member

 
Jod's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tempe, AZ

 
I'm taking this on Friday as employer pays if I pass. I ended up grabbing the Passport book by Mike Meyers. It's really surprising to see some of this crazy old stuff in there. Where are the "Which of the following are dual card graphics technologies?" questions?

a. SLI
b. CrossSLI
c. Fire
d. Crossfire


__________________
Heatware: Jodiuh
Jod is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-06, 10:48 PM   #6
fireandice
Member



Join Date: Jun 2006

 
b crossSLI lmfao. wow now i can work for microsoft. better move to india now.
fireandice is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-02-06, 10:51 PM   #7
Jod
Member

 
Jod's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tempe, AZ

 
That is correct! A CrossSLI platform consists of a 440BX chipset in which one can insert 2 3dfx cards and join them together with a cable for twice the performance of a single cirrus logic 1MB chip.

__________________
Heatware: Jodiuh
Jod is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-04-06, 08:08 PM   #8
Jod
Member

 
Jod's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tempe, AZ

 
Well, I passed. So now I can certifiably say, "The A+ test is archaic." It asked me how to get to this place or that place...in NT! Yuck!

__________________
Heatware: Jodiuh
Jod is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-05-06, 08:44 AM   #9
snvpa
Member

 
snvpa's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Connecticut

 
^^^ yeah the A+ is pretty archaic, it does supplement experience and depending on where you work some employers require you have it. It will not get you a job but along with experience it might make you a more desirable canidate. Really no reason not to get it if you have the time and $$$$. One thing to remember about certs is they won't always help but they will never hurt.
snvpa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-06, 10:43 AM   #10
pcgirl
Senior Member

 
pcgirl's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO

 
I got the A+ Certification back in April of this year, and yes some of the stuff is pretty outdated. However, there's plenty of old equipment still in use out there today and you never know when you may encounter it on the job. So, it definitely can't hurt to have a bit of knowledge on older technology.

__________________
Heatware
pcgirl is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-06, 12:32 PM   #11
twEEkerAreUs
Member



Join Date: Dec 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcgirl
However, there's plenty of old equipment still in use out there today and you never know when you may encounter it on the job.
Bingo there is still tons of old equipment out there, if not at businesses especially at peoples homes attempting to get it fixed when the repair costs more then the value of it lol. A+ Cert has a handful of older questions, but its good to know just in case.

__________________
My Heatware
i7 920@4Ghz/CM Cosmos 1000
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2/Enermax DXX 1KW
OCZ Platinum 3x2GB
Crucial M4 128GB SSD x2/WD Green 1TB x3
Hanns-G 28in/HIS Radeon 6950
Auzentech X-Fi Forte/Logitech Z-5500
twEEkerAreUs is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-06, 12:41 PM   #12
wing
Member

 
wing's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005

 
If you want to do work in the IT field...yes you should. Many places look for that.
wing is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-06, 03:58 PM   #13
ranc1d
Registered

 
ranc1d's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Under your bed

 
I got my A+ before I went for my CCNA...now I'm just getting a basic BSIT degree...A+ helped out with my first Networking job. Which got me into my ASP / JAVAscript coding job im in now....which is funny because that has nothing to do with my Cisco Cert....but will look damn good on my resume 8)
ranc1d is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-06, 03:35 PM   #14
David
Forums Super Moderator
Overclockers.com Lead Editor



 
David's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Hiding from Americans and making pretty colours in a drybox in St Andrews

10 Year Badge
 
Moved to GD.

__________________
David J. Nelson MChem(Edin) PhD(Strath) MRSC [ResearcherID: D-3927-2011]
OC Forums Super Moderator // Overclockers.com Editor


The Workhorse: [Lenovo W510] Intel Core i7-720QM / 8 GB DDR3 / nVidia Quadro FX880M / Crucial M4 256 GB SSD / Windows 7
The HTPC/Server: AMD Phenom X4 9650 / 6 GB DDR2 / nVidia 8300 / 5 TB of HDDs / Antec Solo II Case / Windows 7
The Gaming Rig: AMD Llano A6-3650 / 4 GB DDR3 / nVidia GTX260 / 2x 500 GB HDD in RAID0 / Antec Dark Fleet DF-85 Case / Windows 7
The Benchmarking Setup: Various LGA775 chips / Asus Rampage Formula / 2 GB OCZ 1066 MHz DDR2 / nVidia Quadro NVS 285 / 320 GB HDD / Windows 7

My research fellowship is eating all my time, so I may be slow to reply to emails and private messages.
David is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-06, 07:54 PM   #15
Adragontattoo
Trailer Chasing Senior

 
Adragontattoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy

 
I had NO certs when I started doing IT work, now I have a Certificate in Network Security and Information Assurance, 2 certs in HP Desktop and Mobile Repair and Troubleshooting and at one point I was a Dell Certified System Engineer.

A+ is good if you are just starting but MOST Companies have gotten out of the A+ REQUIRED mentality and look for real world experience instead.

__________________
Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
Click here to find out why!
The Forum Rules FAQ|
Classies Rules and Regs
Prices, slashes and edits
Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!
Adragontattoo is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-06, 08:30 PM   #16
FudgeNuggets
Member



Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gone Racing

 
It is my experience that A+ is good for entry level. If you want a good paying career you should have a BA and some of these certs, MCSE, MCSA, MCSP, Security +, Cisco and even RedHat Enterprise. A+ alone isn't worth much unless you are JUST getting started.
FudgeNuggets is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-06, 08:33 PM   #17
Adragontattoo
Trailer Chasing Senior

 
Adragontattoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy

 
True Fudge but alot of companies are going back to the req. that you have experience instead of mandatory A+, MCSE etc..

The CISSP is not really geared towards either an entry level position OR a helpdesk oriented position. Network security is NOT Helpdesk work, they are two TOTALLY seperate job types.

__________________
Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
Click here to find out why!
The Forum Rules FAQ|
Classies Rules and Regs
Prices, slashes and edits
Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!
Adragontattoo is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-06, 09:53 PM   #18
damarble



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Spokane, WA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcgirl
However, there's plenty of old equipment still in use out there today and you never know when you may encounter it on the job.
Prime example. Earlier this year when I still did register pepair for Sears, the register software they used on the older registers was updated and I had to upgrade the system RAM for it to run... from 4mb to a whopping 8mb. So even huge companies can still be running ancient junk.

I say get the cert if you have the cash, the more credentials you have the better.

__________________

Antec P180B | Seasonic S12-500 | ASUS P5B Deluxe | E6600 C2D | ATI HD5770 | OCZ Reaper PC6400 2x2GB | 2TB total storage | 2x HP 23" LCD | Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers | Logitech G15 and G5 DELUXE

My HEAT

damarble is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-06, 09:56 PM   #19
Adragontattoo
Trailer Chasing Senior

 
Adragontattoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northwestern corner of Va. USA, Northern Hemisphere, Earth, Sol Sector, outer arm of spiral galaxy

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by damarble
Prime example. Earlier this year when I still did register pepair for Sears, the register software they used on the older registers was updated and I had to upgrade the system RAM for it to run... from 4mb to a whopping 8mb. So even huge companies can still be running ancient junk.

I say get the cert if you have the cash, the more credentials you have the better.
It is a smart business practice to use what you have without upgrading constantly (assuming you dont have a fixed budget that has to be used or it is reduced).

The register fulfills its duties perfectly at 8mb of EDO ram (most likely). The ones in BB are at best P3 IIRC, but they also browse the intranet.

__________________
Only ISP provided, .EDU, .GOV, .MIL e-mail addresses are Classifieds approved. Are you unable to access the Classifieds?
Click here to find out why!
The Forum Rules FAQ|
Classies Rules and Regs
Prices, slashes and edits
Quality over Quantity Pictures are NOT req.
Adopt an animal if you want one, dont use a breeder!
Adragontattoo is offline Author Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-19-06, 11:40 PM   #20
fordsierra4x4
Member

 
fordsierra4x4's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Axbridge, Somerset

 
I thought about doing the A+, then i realised that for the money, i'd get very little return on my outlay, so i put it on my CV anyway. Yes, thats right folks, i lied on my CV, it's not like they're going to catch me out, i've been doing hardware since i was old enough to mod my ZX Spectrum

Besides, employers here dont ask you for paper copies as proof, so it makes no difference what i put down
fordsierra4x4 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Discussions > General Discussion
General Discussion Forum for general conversation, share interests, have a laugh or discuss anything not related to above or below forums.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?