• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PIII 1Ghz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Malodorous

Registered
I want to get up to about 1200Mhz. Right now I am at 152 FSB with no problems. I am running dual 1GHz 133 chips with 2GB of PC133. I will be going to PC150 shortly. Is there an ideas, tips, or tricks anyone can tell me to help me get there.
I have been to the 158FSB but it gave me problems. I set in bios the Dram to HstClck-PCICLk but the comp didn't like that, so I have to keep it set to HstClck. Anyway give me some Ideas and help me out. I am new to Overclocking. thanks for the support in advance.

And what is a good Voltage to shoot for. I am at CPU default now of 1.75. Where should i be at for stability.

Well, that's a good goal to shoot for on that chip. You may not need the PC150... all that is is PC133 that's guaranteed to work at PC150 with 3-3-3 RAM timing.... Try reducing your timing to 3-3-3 (if it's not there already). What motherboard are you using (or what brand computer do you have if that applies)?

As far as the voltage goes for, you'll need to go by the seat of your pants. When your CPU posts but is unstable, raise the voltage .05 volts, and see if it helps. Keep doing this until your CPU refuses to POST or you get to 1200, whichever happens first. Don't go over 2 volts without good CPU cooling.

I can set the voltage up to 1.95 and it post fine. Or i can set it down to 1.65 and it post fine. The problem comes when starting Windows, it gets to where it loads then freezes over 154FSB. I think it is a cooling problem.
I am running the Abit VP6. I am soon going to buy better fans like the Gold Orb or somewhere along that lines. I have one OEM fan and 1 MCX370 which is good but not great.