Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

HDD boot problem

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-29-06, 08:41 AM Thread Starter   #1
Pntgrd

 
Pntgrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001

10 Year Badge
 
HDD boot problem


I decided to put together a faster system for my daughter to replace a 500mhz Celeron Compaq box she has used for years. I came up with the parts and was going to use her existing drives. I had replaced the HDD a couple of years back with a 40g Maxtor. I put the stuff together but the thing would not see the Maxtor as a Boot Device, meaning it would never get past the "press key to boot from CD" message. The bios see it and even Windows Repair sees the XP install on it, just will not boot to it. I tried running a Windows Repair function but same result. Changing to Boot order to the HDD first results in a black screen with a cursor blinking in the top left corner. I put another drive I had laying around in it and it booted right up with it. I then took the Maxtor and put it back in the Compaq and yep, you guessed it, booted right up. I ran PowerMax on it and it passed all the tests. I put it back in the new system, no boot again. Needless to say, extreemly frustrating. Now, on a wild hair, I decided to try an experiment. I Ghosted the 40g Maxtor to the 80g WD. To my surprise it worked like a charm. Whatever is causing the problem on the Maxtor did not transfer to the WD.

My question is does anybody know what the problem could be with the Maxtor? It is like when I did the original install in the Compaq box it put some kind of propietary Compaq BS on the drive that won't let it transfer to another system. I do know that there is a small (15meg) unallocated partition on the drive that I did not put there. I had originally made it only one partition with all space allocated to the one. I am really interested in why this did this. I have never ran across it before.

__________________
Motherboard ------- Asus Rampage Extreme
CPU ---------------- QX9650
Memory -------------Crucial Ballistix
Harddrives --------- 300g Velociraptor, WD6400AAKSx2 Matrix Raid, 74g Raptor, 7200.10 500g
Graphics Card ----- Sapphire HD4870 CF
Soundcard ----------X-Fi Platinum
Case --------------- HSPC Top-Deck
PowerSupply ------- Corsair TX750
Cooling -------------Watercooled
Pntgrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-30-06, 09:09 AM   #2
Dukeman
Member

 
Dukeman's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Rocky Mountian High

 
Double check the jumpers on the Maxtor to make sure it is set to Master or Cable Select (try switching between them). Since you have a ghost copy of the drive you could try reformatting it on the new system and using ghost to move the image from the 80GB WD back to the 40GB Maxtor.
Dukeman is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-06, 06:59 AM Thread Starter   #3
Pntgrd

 
Pntgrd's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001

10 Year Badge
 
Duke, I tried both Master and CS, neither worked. As for ghosting back to the 40g, I didn't think you could go to a smaller target disc. And finding the reason why has become a quest of some sort. I have asked 2 friends in the IT business and they have never ran across this either.

__________________
Motherboard ------- Asus Rampage Extreme
CPU ---------------- QX9650
Memory -------------Crucial Ballistix
Harddrives --------- 300g Velociraptor, WD6400AAKSx2 Matrix Raid, 74g Raptor, 7200.10 500g
Graphics Card ----- Sapphire HD4870 CF
Soundcard ----------X-Fi Platinum
Case --------------- HSPC Top-Deck
PowerSupply ------- Corsair TX750
Cooling -------------Watercooled
Pntgrd is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 07-31-06, 02:39 PM   #4
Joeteck
Retired

 
Joeteck's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Long Island

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pntgrd
I decided to put together a faster system for my daughter to replace a 500mhz Celeron Compaq box she has used for years. I came up with the parts and was going to use her existing drives. I had replaced the HDD a couple of years back with a 40g Maxtor. I put the stuff together but the thing would not see the Maxtor as a Boot Device, meaning it would never get past the "press key to boot from CD" message. The bios see it and even Windows Repair sees the XP install on it, just will not boot to it. I tried running a Windows Repair function but same result. Changing to Boot order to the HDD first results in a black screen with a cursor blinking in the top left corner. I put another drive I had laying around in it and it booted right up with it. I then took the Maxtor and put it back in the Compaq and yep, you guessed it, booted right up. I ran PowerMax on it and it passed all the tests. I put it back in the new system, no boot again. Needless to say, extreemly frustrating. Now, on a wild hair, I decided to try an experiment. I Ghosted the 40g Maxtor to the 80g WD. To my surprise it worked like a charm. Whatever is causing the problem on the Maxtor did not transfer to the WD.

My question is does anybody know what the problem could be with the Maxtor? It is like when I did the original install in the Compaq box it put some kind of propietary Compaq BS on the drive that won't let it transfer to another system. I do know that there is a small (15meg) unallocated partition on the drive that I did not put there. I had originally made it only one partition with all space allocated to the one. I am really interested in why this did this. I have never ran across it before.

That 15MB partition is for disaster recovery. The PC boots from that when you select it right after POST, then it will instruct you to place your CD-ROM in the drive where it will continue your recovery.
Joeteck is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?