• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclockers!! Help me OC my P4 2.4ghz processor to play Oblivion!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PenguinIzzy

Registered
Greetings!

My computer is a P4 2.4 ghz equipped with 1 Gig of Ram and a ATI X1300 256 MB video card. I recently bought the game Oblivion about a month ago, and I became interested in overclocking my CPU to the system recommended 3.0 ghz to play the game.

However, since I am a relative newbie in the field of overclocking, I do have the following questions:

1. How do I determine what type of P4 I have in my computer? (Northwood, etc.)?

2. What possible cooling materials might be ideal for my overclocked computer?

3. How do I know if my motherboard is good enough to overclock? I bought my computer pre-made from Dell (way before I became interested in maximizing my computer's performance, I know now I should have just attempted to build the computer myself) but I did not skimp on the price. My computer cost me about $1000.

4. What programs might I need to test my computer's stability after overclocking?

Of course, I have read and read a dozen FAQs on the subject of overclocking in this message board and have a fair idea of what I want to attempt with my computer, but I just want to cover all my bases and get direct feedback from successful overclockers. I know most of the board members here have had experience o'clocking with the P4 2.4, so if anybody has any input on the matter I would greatly appreciate it.

I was also thinking of purchasing the new Conroe chips from Intel (probably will settle for one that is around the $250 range) but I don't know if I have to overclock those as well to achieve smooth FPS for my computer games. Please, any help would be greatly appreciated, and thank you all for your time and knowledge. ;)