Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

network troubleshooting help

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-10-06, 06:39 PM Thread Starter   #1
pejsaboy
Member



Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: nor-cal

 
network troubleshooting help


Ok, I finally broke down and got a router [WRT54G], but can't get my two computers to network between eachother. My desktop is on 2kpro, and the laptop is on xphome. I've run the network setup wizard on the laptop, but I haven't been able to find one in 2kpro. I also can't seem to get the setting right just fiddling with stuff, so I need some expert help
Printer and file sharing is turned on for XP [via the wizard], but I don't know if there is a global setting to turn it on for 2kpro.

__________________
Sunbeam Transformer Full Tower
GA-EP45-UD3P, Q9400 R0 -> 3.6ghz
2x2Gb G. Skill 1066, Kingwin RVT 12025
Sapphire HD4870 1Gb, Vista Home Premium x64
Acer AL2216W, Acer X203W

ASUS Eee PC 1001PX-EU17-BK
Xbox 360 60Gb
XBL! Gamertag - pejsaboy
Sanyo 46" 1080p
pejsaboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-11-06, 11:03 AM   #2
almstsobur
Member

 
almstsobur's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: N. California

 
Make sure they are in the same workgroup
Make sure they are on the same IP segment and subnet.
Make sure you have something shared to be able to see
Check your access right and cordinate your users.
Make sure both computers have cilent for microsoft netwroks installed and enabled. Including file and printer sharing for microsoft networks.


That should be about it .. though I am not sure how well XPHome does with networking, I have never used it myself .. and I know it's not really designed as a networking OS platform.
almstsobur is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-06, 01:37 AM Thread Starter   #3
pejsaboy
Member



Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: nor-cal

 
workgroup, IP and subnets are good. entire partitions are shared, will check on the network client in the morning. what do you mean by 'Check your access right and cordinate your users.' ?

__________________
Sunbeam Transformer Full Tower
GA-EP45-UD3P, Q9400 R0 -> 3.6ghz
2x2Gb G. Skill 1066, Kingwin RVT 12025
Sapphire HD4870 1Gb, Vista Home Premium x64
Acer AL2216W, Acer X203W

ASUS Eee PC 1001PX-EU17-BK
Xbox 360 60Gb
XBL! Gamertag - pejsaboy
Sanyo 46" 1080p
pejsaboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-12-06, 07:11 PM Thread Starter   #4
pejsaboy
Member



Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: nor-cal

 
bump for some help!

__________________
Sunbeam Transformer Full Tower
GA-EP45-UD3P, Q9400 R0 -> 3.6ghz
2x2Gb G. Skill 1066, Kingwin RVT 12025
Sapphire HD4870 1Gb, Vista Home Premium x64
Acer AL2216W, Acer X203W

ASUS Eee PC 1001PX-EU17-BK
Xbox 360 60Gb
XBL! Gamertag - pejsaboy
Sanyo 46" 1080p
pejsaboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-16-06, 07:29 PM Thread Starter   #5
pejsaboy
Member



Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: nor-cal

 
final bump....

__________________
Sunbeam Transformer Full Tower
GA-EP45-UD3P, Q9400 R0 -> 3.6ghz
2x2Gb G. Skill 1066, Kingwin RVT 12025
Sapphire HD4870 1Gb, Vista Home Premium x64
Acer AL2216W, Acer X203W

ASUS Eee PC 1001PX-EU17-BK
Xbox 360 60Gb
XBL! Gamertag - pejsaboy
Sanyo 46" 1080p
pejsaboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-16-06, 07:38 PM   #6
dylskee
Member

 
dylskee's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: MA

 
Do you have any software or hardware firewalls installed? As long as your workgroups are the same and you ran the wizard on both machines and gave it a reboot you should be fine. Do you see any shared folders in "My Network Places"?

__________________
i7 920 Classified X58 760
eVGA GTX 680 4GB
Gentle Typhoon 1850s
12GB 6x2GB Corsair Dominator 1600
500GB 840 EVO
120GB OCZ Vertex II SSD - 1TB External HDD
Silverstone OP1000 PSU
2X X-Star DP2710 LED 2560x1440
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

Heatware 126-0-0
dylskee is online now   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-16-06, 10:04 PM Thread Starter   #7
pejsaboy
Member



Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: nor-cal

 
Bingo! I tried turning off Kerio personal firewall on both machines, and now I can search for the shared folders. The other machine doesn't show up in my network places though... i'll have to fiddle with that a little, and see if I can configure Kerio to work with the network. Thanks for the [obvious] answer

__________________
Sunbeam Transformer Full Tower
GA-EP45-UD3P, Q9400 R0 -> 3.6ghz
2x2Gb G. Skill 1066, Kingwin RVT 12025
Sapphire HD4870 1Gb, Vista Home Premium x64
Acer AL2216W, Acer X203W

ASUS Eee PC 1001PX-EU17-BK
Xbox 360 60Gb
XBL! Gamertag - pejsaboy
Sanyo 46" 1080p
pejsaboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?