Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

does a 7900gt overheat?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-14-06, 03:25 PM Thread Starter   #1
White_Pawn
Member

 
White_Pawn's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada

 
does a 7900gt overheat?


any stories on that?

__________________
- - M a i n R i g - -
E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
^Tuniq Tower 120^
Gigabyte P35-S3L
powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular
White_Pawn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-06, 06:52 PM   #2
nvidiaOCmaster
Member

 
nvidiaOCmaster's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chulak

 
nope they dont, they stay cool imo

__________________
"Just because I don't call any more doesn't mean I'm keeping my urine in jars!"
nvidiaOCmaster is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-14-06, 11:06 PM   #3
Burninate
Member

 
Burninate's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA

 
With the stock cooler at stock settings, I was seeing temps under full load of around 65 to 66C with ok air cooling. I did the 1.4V mod to the card before I bought the Zalman VF-900, and clocked to 675 core. I was seeing 85C to 87C max load. I kept it like that for a little under a week before I went and got this cooler. anything above 65C for extended periods of time isn't recommended. So, if you want to do the Vmod and/or OC the card, definitely get an after market HSF.

__________________
Lian-li PC-7A case; Intel Q6600 G0 ;Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Evga 8800 GTS 320MB ;PC power & cooling Quad 750W PSU
2 Gigs (2x1) G. Skill DDR2-800 running DDR2-800 (5-5-5-15) 1.8V
750GB Seagate HD with XP (Vista comaing again soon); Samsung 40" 1080P LCD TV
3dmark03: None;3dmark05: 15,545 (Vista) ;3dmark06: 12,148 (XP)
Laptop: Dell Latitude D420 Intel Core Duo 1.2 Ghz 1.5 GB RAM

Heatware
Burninate is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-06, 12:06 AM Thread Starter   #4
White_Pawn
Member

 
White_Pawn's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada

 
nope. just gonna keep it stock all the way on this one.

__________________
- - M a i n R i g - -
E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
^Tuniq Tower 120^
Gigabyte P35-S3L
powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular
White_Pawn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-06, 10:09 AM   #5
Burninate
Member

 
Burninate's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by White_Pawn
nope. just gonna keep it stock all the way on this one.
If you're going to keep it stock and have half way decent airflow, I wouldn't worry about it. It should run just fine. But, these cards really shine in the OC area. That's what makes these cards so nice. Every one I've seen so far has done at least 675 core with the 1.5 Vmod and many will do around 725. That's 50% to 61% over the reference 450Mhz core. At stock, this card is clocked at 500 core and I was getting ~4650 in 3dmark06. With my 7800 GT clocked at 495 I was seeing ~4300. I think the ~1800 3d marks was worth the $37 and about an hours worth of work for the conductive pen and the zalman VF-900. But at stock, it's still an excellent card and you'll see a huge improvement over a 6600. Let us know how it goes.

__________________
Lian-li PC-7A case; Intel Q6600 G0 ;Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Evga 8800 GTS 320MB ;PC power & cooling Quad 750W PSU
2 Gigs (2x1) G. Skill DDR2-800 running DDR2-800 (5-5-5-15) 1.8V
750GB Seagate HD with XP (Vista comaing again soon); Samsung 40" 1080P LCD TV
3dmark03: None;3dmark05: 15,545 (Vista) ;3dmark06: 12,148 (XP)
Laptop: Dell Latitude D420 Intel Core Duo 1.2 Ghz 1.5 GB RAM

Heatware
Burninate is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-06, 10:46 AM Thread Starter   #6
White_Pawn
Member

 
White_Pawn's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada

 
funny thing. This isn't my card, its my cousins card. I'm just the inform-you-on-what-to buy-dude.

I'll be getting a x1900xt or a x1950xt when the x1950s come out.


however, if it WAS my card, it would be oced right away. However, i think its not 450mhz, its 480mhz? lol, in the end no big difference.

__________________
- - M a i n R i g - -
E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
^Tuniq Tower 120^
Gigabyte P35-S3L
powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular
White_Pawn is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-06, 11:16 AM   #7
fabulouscoops
Member

 
fabulouscoops's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA

 
I thought the card ran hot with stock cooling when I first installed it (high 50s) as an upgrade to a 7800 GT. A Zalman VF700 has it running in the low 40s at idle now. The thermal compound on the stock heatsink with a smallish fan was not doing the job. Mine was a recertified card from EVGA/Newegg so the heatsink may have been removed previously.
This card does seem to OC a lot better than the XFX 7800 GT I was using before.

__________________
i5 2500K@4.5; Asus P8P67 deluxe; 8 GB G.Skill DDR3 1600; Mushkin 120 GB SSD; 2T WD caviar, 500 GB WD caviar; HD7950
E8500 @3.6 GHz; Asus P5Q Pro Turbo; 4 GB OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066;
i5 2550; P8P67 deluxe, 8 GB OCZ DDR2 800; 60 Agility SSD; 2x500 GB RAID 0; 250 GB Caviar; HD6950
E4400 @3 GHz, Abit AB9 pro, Gigabyte 7300 GT silent; 2GB Supertalent PC5400; 3x36 Raptors RAID 0:5
fabulouscoops is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-06, 11:24 AM   #8
Burninate
Member

 
Burninate's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by White_Pawn
funny thing. This isn't my card, its my cousins card. I'm just the inform-you-on-what-to buy-dude.

I'll be getting a x1900xt or a x1950xt when the x1950s come out.


however, if it WAS my card, it would be oced right away. However, i think its not 450mhz, its 480mhz? lol, in the end no big difference.
If you're going for an X1950, I would definitely recommend upgrading that PSU. ATI requires at least a 450W right now for all their top end cards, don't they? With DX10 just around the corner, I would keep that 6600 that you have a few more months and see what ATI and Nvidia have to offer for DX10.

__________________
Lian-li PC-7A case; Intel Q6600 G0 ;Gigabyte P35-DS3R
Evga 8800 GTS 320MB ;PC power & cooling Quad 750W PSU
2 Gigs (2x1) G. Skill DDR2-800 running DDR2-800 (5-5-5-15) 1.8V
750GB Seagate HD with XP (Vista comaing again soon); Samsung 40" 1080P LCD TV
3dmark03: None;3dmark05: 15,545 (Vista) ;3dmark06: 12,148 (XP)
Laptop: Dell Latitude D420 Intel Core Duo 1.2 Ghz 1.5 GB RAM

Heatware
Burninate is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-15-06, 11:59 AM Thread Starter   #9
White_Pawn
Member

 
White_Pawn's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada

 
i don't want first gen DX-10 cards. I doubt they will be all THAT much faster and besides 200watts for the gpu? no way.I'll mupgrade again when DDR-3 AM3 adn K8L coems out.

__________________
- - M a i n R i g - -
E2140 @ 375 x 8 = 3ghz w/ 1.3375v
^Tuniq Tower 120^
Gigabyte P35-S3L
powercolor HD4890 @ 850/975
OCZ System 1337s 2x1 5-5-5-15 2T @ 450mhz.
2TB 7200.12+ Seagate
Silverstone Decathalon 650W Modular
White_Pawn is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > nVidia GPUs
nVidia GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?