Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Is the ASUS P5N32 SLI-SE Deluxe a good board?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-25-06, 11:54 PM Thread Starter   #1
ScarfaceFX
Member



Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL

 
Is the ASUS P5N32 SLI-SE Deluxe a good board?


What i said above ^ thanks. I need to know if its good for overclocking and the quality in general.

__________________
System Specs
Motherboard - EVGA X58 E770 Classified
Processor - Intel Core i7 950
Cooler - Corsair H50 Push/Pull
RAM - Corsair Dominator 12GB 3x4GB DDR 2000 GT
Video Card - EVGA GTX 590
PSU - Corsair HX1000w
OS - Windows 7 x64 Ultimate SP1
HDD - 2x Corsair F60's in Raid 0
HDD - WD 1TB Black
CD Drive - Sony Optiarc 24X DVD/RW DL
Case - Corsair D800
ScarfaceFX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 08-26-06, 07:31 AM   #2
screwtech02
Member

 
screwtech02's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004

 
Your looking at maybe a little over 300fsb depending on the cpu multi.... Nvidia Chipset + Intel Proc = CRAP overclocking...... The new "590" boards are limited to around 400fsb also, its such the joke.....
screwtech02 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-06, 05:04 PM   #3
toddd240
Member

 
toddd240's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Denver

 
the nforce 590 will be a better overclocker and should be out in about a week

__________________
CPU.........3930k OC'd to 4ghz with an NH-D14 with aftermarket fans
Board.......Asus RIVE
Memory....32gb gskill 2133
GPU.........EVGA GTX570
HD...........Intel 520 180GB SSD for boot
sound......onboard Realtek ALC898
PSU.........Corsair modular HX850
case........Silverstone TJ07
toddd240 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-26-06, 07:30 PM   #4
Deadman93723
Member

 
Deadman93723's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006

 
I too am looking at this board, this is a noob question(I have no first hand exerience with socket 775), but what does a 300fsb equal out to on a socket 478 FSB.
Deadman93723 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-06, 12:03 PM   #5
s00pcan
Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Columbiaville MI

 
Couldn't a bios update fix the crap overclocking? Other than that, I want this board.
s00pcan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-06, 12:18 PM   #6
nvidiaOCmaster
Member

 
nvidiaOCmaster's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chulak

 
woah woah... the intel + nvidia thing is total BS. The Phionex(sp) star bios lets me freely overclok all the way up to 1600 FSB. Its a really, really nice board. just dont run it caseless.

__________________
"Just because I don't call any more doesn't mean I'm keeping my urine in jars!"
nvidiaOCmaster is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-30-06, 12:37 PM   #7
Mr. Roboto
Member

 
Mr. Roboto's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Hampshire

 
by 1600, i hope you mean an actual clock of 400. Anywyas, thats about average. OH, and being able to set it and being able to run it are 2 different things.

__________________
Main Rig: e8400 l ASUS P5K Deluxe l G.Skill 4GB HZ's l GTX 280 l 2x320gb 7200.10 Raid 0 l X-FI Platinum l CM Stacker 830 l OCZ 700W GameXtreme l Logitech z-5500's l G5 l Saitek Eclipse II l 2 x 2407 WFP
HTPC:P4 2.8 l 1.5GB ram l 7600GS l HVR-1600 l 400gb raid 0 l Audigy 1 l Coolermaster 280 l 37" Olevia
Mr. Roboto is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-06, 09:38 AM   #8
nvidiaOCmaster
Member

 
nvidiaOCmaster's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chulak

 
i could run it at 1400 with no problem, so i doubt it couldnt do 1600

__________________
"Just because I don't call any more doesn't mean I'm keeping my urine in jars!"
nvidiaOCmaster is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-06, 10:21 AM   #9
Mr. Roboto
Member

 
Mr. Roboto's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Hampshire

 
well, unless you've actually run the clocks and tested for stability, dont say you have hit the speeds.

__________________
Main Rig: e8400 l ASUS P5K Deluxe l G.Skill 4GB HZ's l GTX 280 l 2x320gb 7200.10 Raid 0 l X-FI Platinum l CM Stacker 830 l OCZ 700W GameXtreme l Logitech z-5500's l G5 l Saitek Eclipse II l 2 x 2407 WFP
HTPC:P4 2.8 l 1.5GB ram l 7600GS l HVR-1600 l 400gb raid 0 l Audigy 1 l Coolermaster 280 l 37" Olevia
Mr. Roboto is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-06, 03:48 PM   #10
nvidiaOCmaster
Member

 
nvidiaOCmaster's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chulak

 
I tested it, and looked for the speeds in CPU-Z and it was stable for 50 or so min.

Cant wait to see if my new mobo can do that!

__________________
"Just because I don't call any more doesn't mean I'm keeping my urine in jars!"
nvidiaOCmaster is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-06, 06:37 PM   #11
Mr. Roboto
Member

 
Mr. Roboto's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Hampshire

 
well, stability isnt just running the computer for 50 minutes.

meh, whatever, just trying to say don't mislead people is all.

__________________
Main Rig: e8400 l ASUS P5K Deluxe l G.Skill 4GB HZ's l GTX 280 l 2x320gb 7200.10 Raid 0 l X-FI Platinum l CM Stacker 830 l OCZ 700W GameXtreme l Logitech z-5500's l G5 l Saitek Eclipse II l 2 x 2407 WFP
HTPC:P4 2.8 l 1.5GB ram l 7600GS l HVR-1600 l 400gb raid 0 l Audigy 1 l Coolermaster 280 l 37" Olevia
Mr. Roboto is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 08-31-06, 09:36 PM   #12
Merlin7777

 
Merlin7777's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
running stable mean 12-24hours plus IMHO.

__________________
Folding for Team 32!
BEAST
--Q6600 @ stock ---
--Tuniq Tower, Stock 9 Blade Fan--
--Asus P5Q-E --
--22" Samsung SyncMaster 2253BW--
--Corsair 2x2GB @ Stock Clocks--
--1 Seagate Barracuda 500GB, 1 Seagate Barracuda 250GB, 1 Western Digital 1 TB--
--NVIDIA 8800 GTS 512MB @ Stock Clocks--
--ASUS Xonar D2X @ Stock Clocks--:bang head
HEAT
Merlin7777 is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > Intel Motherboards
Intel Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?