Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

How do i block Limewire via router? [WRT54GL]

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-01-06, 10:40 PM Thread Starter   #1
mista ting
Member

 
mista ting's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York City

 
Question How do i block Limewire via router? [WRT54GL]


What type of service is Limewire? i want to make it so my router block any thing to do with limewire



could any of these settings work?

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.4GHz @ 1.356v
Asus P45 P5Q-Pro 1406 BIOS
G-SKILL 4GB DDR2 @ 5-5-5-15 @ 756MHz
HIS HD 4850 512MB @ 700MHz / 1200MHz
1.28TB (2 x WD AALS 640GB) Hard Drives
Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520W
Antec 300 Black ATX Case
mista ting is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-04-06, 12:42 AM   #2
WeezleXX89
Member

 
WeezleXX89's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Earth

 
So Let me get this straight, You dont want to use limewire's service? Im not getting what your saying?

__________________
Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257
WeezleXX89 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-04-06, 02:43 AM Thread Starter   #3
mista ting
Member

 
mista ting's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York City

 
because i keep telling my sister to stop ****ing leaving limewire on 24/7 consuming my entire bandwidth but she still use it thats why i want to try and block it

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.4GHz @ 1.356v
Asus P45 P5Q-Pro 1406 BIOS
G-SKILL 4GB DDR2 @ 5-5-5-15 @ 756MHz
HIS HD 4850 512MB @ 700MHz / 1200MHz
1.28TB (2 x WD AALS 640GB) Hard Drives
Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520W
Antec 300 Black ATX Case
mista ting is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-04-06, 02:54 AM   #4
klingens
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Xanadu

 
Afaik Limewire/Gnutella uses port 80 for its traffic which means you can't catch it with a port block. You need to do L7 filtering
klingens is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-04-06, 02:57 AM   #5
WeezleXX89
Member

 
WeezleXX89's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Earth

 
Oh ok. Dont you just go to internet options, security , restricted sites and type www.limewire.com. Is this your computer a sharing computer. If its yours put a password on your accounts and block limewire.

__________________
Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257
WeezleXX89 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-04-06, 07:54 AM   #6
nikita@quebec
Member



Join Date: Nov 2002

 
http://www.limewire.com/english/content/firewalls.shtml

do almost like there but put an other port

"# Within LimeWire, go to: Tools -> Options -> Advanced -> Firewall Config
# Make a note of the Listening Port located in the box next to "Listen on Port"
and change it to something you can block in your router
nikita@quebec is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-04-06, 11:35 AM   #7
deadlysyn
Folding Team Content Editor
Who Dolk'd my stars Senior Member

 
deadlysyn's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stealing your megahurtz at night

 
As far as I know all P2P programs use TCP and UDP ports. Just open up the program in question (Limewire) and go into tools and then options, find the ports and manually block them in your router. Any P2P program that would use port 80 I would think is too insecure to be using, and apparently poorly written.

__________________
Water and Air Cooling Lead Senior
Folding for Team 32 as 8thDeadlySyn Folding in the memory of pscout
I'm a Team 32 Folding Mentor. Ask me about Folding.
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3LR, Q9550@3.5, 4 GB Corsair Dominator DDR2-1066, Corsair Force F60, 300 GB Maxtor SATAII, EVGA GTX460 v2
Laing D5 Vario, D-Tek Fuzion V1, Swiftech MCW60, Swiftech MCRES V2, HWLabs BIX3, 3 Panaflo FBA12G12U's on Rheobus, Primochill LRT black, Antec 900

Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P, Athlon II X3 445, TRU120, 4 GB Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600, 8800GTS 320MB, 320 GB Maxtor Sata, SB Audigy SE
HEAT - My Folding Stats
Would you like to see your writing on the front page? Ask me how!

Last edited by m0r7if3r on 1-23-2011 at 12:45 PM. Reason: I haz uber 1337 h4x0rz 5k1llz
deadlysyn is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-04-06, 03:06 PM   #8
Kendan
Senior Punk

 
Kendan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dark side of hell

 
Just throw some 3rd party firmware on the router and then restrict her bandwidth

__________________
Hello:sn:
Kendan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-04-06, 03:15 PM   #9
Captain Newbie
Senior Django-loving Member

 
Captain Newbie's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Right seat with a bored "don't kill me" expression

 
Computer--Unplug from router.

Honestly...technical solutions for societal problems don't tend to work very well.

I would tell her to stay the heck off except for peak times. Failing that, you can block outbound the port she uses for Limewire and block inbound all.

__________________
B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Political Science | Commercial Pilot Airplane Single and Multiengine Land, Instrument Airplane
"And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod
The high untresspassed sanctity of space
Put out my hand, and touched the face of God."

Strong * Focused * Safe
Apple Mac Pro 4,1, Two Nehalem Xeons 2.26GHzx4 (Hyperthreaded), 12 GB DDR3 FBDRAM | MacBook Pro 15" (2009)
Captain Newbie is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-04-06, 04:09 PM   #10
Kendan
Senior Punk

 
Kendan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dark side of hell

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Newbie
Computer--Unplug from router.

Honestly...technical solutions for societal problems don't tend to work very well.

I would tell her to stay the heck off except for peak times. Failing that, you can block outbound the port she uses for Limewire and block inbound all.
He has a router that can be used with third party firmware which he can use to restrict the amount of bandwidth she is able to use. Which as long as he is fair about it is the next best thing to settling it by communication.

__________________
Hello:sn:
Kendan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-18-06, 08:21 PM Thread Starter   #11
mista ting
Member

 
mista ting's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York City

 
thanks for the input i found out how to make it work now all i had to do was put my mac address in highest priority in the qos thing now i dont lag when some one else has limewire on

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.4GHz @ 1.356v
Asus P45 P5Q-Pro 1406 BIOS
G-SKILL 4GB DDR2 @ 5-5-5-15 @ 756MHz
HIS HD 4850 512MB @ 700MHz / 1200MHz
1.28TB (2 x WD AALS 640GB) Hard Drives
Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520W
Antec 300 Black ATX Case
mista ting is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-19-06, 04:38 PM   #12
Como
Member

 
Como's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Maine

 
Ah, so you diddnt /really/ want to block her, you just diddnt want her taking up YOUR bandwidth.

glad you got it figured out. My solution was to give her linux she'd never find that gnutella or whatever its called.

__________________
This space is for rent.*


*I'm Lying
Como is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Internet, Networking, and Security
Internet, Networking, and Security Networking and Viruses/Malware trouble. Get the answers here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?