Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

ordered new cpu, but now the questions

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-11-06, 04:00 PM Thread Starter   #1
YOO
Member

 
YOO's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central Nebraska US

 
ordered new cpu, but now the questions


so i ordered my first dual core cpu AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 2.4GHz . upgraded from my a64 3200+ venice anyway my questions are:
do i use the stock heatsink or do i use my Zalman copper sink?
since my current system is single core am i gonna have to download drivers for dual core?

thats all .

im pairing this up with an x1900xtx

__________________
CPU:2500K @ 4.2
MB: ASRock Z68 PRO3
MEM: Corsair XMS3 (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti
HDD: WD 500gb sata III
PSU: CORSAIR Enthusiast 650tx-650w
soundblaster audigy 4
YOO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-11-06, 04:05 PM   #2
CGR
Member

 
CGR's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lower NY

10 Year Badge
 
You may need to flash to the newest bios for that board if you havent in a while. Most manufactureres added dual core support with bios upgrades.

If you get the heatpipe stock HS, that may work just as well or better than the Zalman. If its not the heatpipe HS then use the Zalman.

__________________
Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-11-06, 04:21 PM   #3
benbaked
Folding/SETI/Rosetta Team Member

 
benbaked's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WA

 
The AMD drivers allow Windows to better balance loads between the two cores, but Windows XP will still work with no additional dual-core drivers. You'll be able to boot right up after swapping CPUs, provided your motherboard supports the processor.

__________________
HEATWARE (22-0) | Folding/SETI/Rosetta (crunching BOINC as the ben.World.order)

ASUS Maximus Hero VI | i7-4770K | EVGA 680GTX FTW | G-Skill Trident X 2x8GB | Crucial M500 480GB

The Chronicles of OCF Rosetta

StaTek is my hero.

R.I.P. Adak, OldSkool, pscout
benbaked is offline Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-11-06, 04:49 PM   #4
ochungry
Member

 
ochungry's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Austin, Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by YOO
so i ordered my first dual core cpu AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Toledo 2.4GHz . upgraded from my a64 3200+ venice anyway my questions are:
do i use the stock heatsink or do i use my Zalman copper sink?
since my current system is single core am i gonna have to download drivers for dual core?

thats all .

im pairing this up with an x1900xtx
Follow the instruction in this thread.
ochungry is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-11-06, 05:08 PM Thread Starter   #5
YOO
Member

 
YOO's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central Nebraska US

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by ochungry
Follow the instruction in this thread.
hey thanks, he he call me noob but do i do that before or after i install the new cpu.

__________________
CPU:2500K @ 4.2
MB: ASRock Z68 PRO3
MEM: Corsair XMS3 (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti
HDD: WD 500gb sata III
PSU: CORSAIR Enthusiast 650tx-650w
soundblaster audigy 4
YOO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-11-06, 05:12 PM   #6
redrumy3
Member

 
redrumy3's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by YOO
hey thanks, he he call me noob but do i do that before or after i install the new cpu.
i would think after but im not sure im going to go dual core as well very soon hopefully order one this week so this would also help me lol

__________________
Corsair H80
i5 4670K 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-1600 1.50v
Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H F10
Evga GTX 770 4GB | SamSung Evo 120GB SSD
Evga 850W G2 | Asus Xonar Essence STX
Beyerdynamic DT-990 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz
SteelSeries Rival | Razer BlackWidow Ultimate | Corsair 760T
Windows 8.1 Update 1 64-Bit
redrumy3 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-11-06, 05:12 PM   #7
ochungry
Member

 
ochungry's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Austin, Texas

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by YOO
hey thanks, he he call me noob but do i do that before or after i install the new cpu.
after installing cpu.
ochungry is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 12:16 PM Thread Starter   #8
YOO
Member

 
YOO's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central Nebraska US

 
hey i see that the stock cooler have thermal paster on it. is that paste good or should i replace it with AS5?

__________________
CPU:2500K @ 4.2
MB: ASRock Z68 PRO3
MEM: Corsair XMS3 (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti
HDD: WD 500gb sata III
PSU: CORSAIR Enthusiast 650tx-650w
soundblaster audigy 4
YOO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 01:54 PM   #9
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Please replace it with AS-5 if you intend to overclock.

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 06:05 PM Thread Starter   #10
YOO
Member

 
YOO's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central Nebraska US

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Super Nade
Please replace it with AS-5 if you intend to overclock.
i dont intend to overclock but i will replace it with AS5 anyway

__________________
CPU:2500K @ 4.2
MB: ASRock Z68 PRO3
MEM: Corsair XMS3 (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti
HDD: WD 500gb sata III
PSU: CORSAIR Enthusiast 650tx-650w
soundblaster audigy 4
YOO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 06:28 PM Thread Starter   #11
YOO
Member

 
YOO's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central Nebraska US

 
umm how do i back up my registry

__________________
CPU:2500K @ 4.2
MB: ASRock Z68 PRO3
MEM: Corsair XMS3 (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti
HDD: WD 500gb sata III
PSU: CORSAIR Enthusiast 650tx-650w
soundblaster audigy 4
YOO is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 06:30 PM   #12
Super Nade
SU(3) Moderator

 
Super Nade's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA

 
Start > Run > Regedit > File > Export.

__________________
Motherboard Repair Tutorial || Power Supply Repair Tutorial || A Closer Look at PSU Signals ||
Understanding SMPS Technology
|| ASUS P5K Capacitor mod || Kernel Compile Guide || Guide to Wiping an SSD

Build in progress
ASUS Maximus Hero || i5-4670K || Crucial M500-480Gb || Antec HCP-850M || ASUS GTX 750Ti || Carbide 300R || Coolermaster Glacer 240L
Super Nade is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 06:31 PM   #13
jcw122

 
jcw122's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by YOO
umm how do i back up my registry

Start>Run>Type "regedit"...once in the Registry Editor hit File>Export and save the copy of the registry to anyplace you like.

EDIT: Yar! Super Nade beat me to it

__________________
"YES! I AM INVINCIBLE!!!"
Folding for Team 32!
Gaming Nick: new_Faction64 or CharminULTRA
CPU-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 2.0Ghz@2.2Ghz (was 2.4) Socket 754, VENICE
Memory-Crucial Ballistix 2x512MB @ 220mhz 2.5-2-2-5
Motherboard-No Idea My DFI Died
Video Card-MSI ATI 9800XT---412/390(was 424/395)---w00t! Flashed
PSU-Forton Blue Storm 500w

Currently Air Cooled w/ Scythe Ninja and AC VGA Silencer
R.I.P. Project: Humidity
Heatware
jcw122 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 09:07 PM Thread Starter   #14
YOO
Member

 
YOO's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Central Nebraska US

 
errr. im not happy i think i threw away that plastic base for the hs that comes with the motherboard . but the zalman hs is doing a good job idles at 30*c so far. i cant believe how fast this is. cooool. runing spybot and adaware at the same time surfing internet is awesome. load temps at 42*c. all air cooling.

i wonder if i need the the amd drivers and the hotfix stuff.

eh im gonna do them if its gonna help the performence.

__________________
CPU:2500K @ 4.2
MB: ASRock Z68 PRO3
MEM: Corsair XMS3 (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600
GPU: ASUS GTX 560 Ti
HDD: WD 500gb sata III
PSU: CORSAIR Enthusiast 650tx-650w
soundblaster audigy 4
YOO is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > AMD CPUs
AMD CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?