Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Can pulling out RAM while system is ON, cause HDD to go bad?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-06, 11:40 AM Thread Starter   #1
amdking
Member



Join Date: May 2002

10 Year Badge
 
Can pulling out RAM while system is ON, cause HDD to go bad?


I was working on a computer and I thought it was off cuz the CPU fan stopped spinning while I had my finger on the button. It wasnt posting so when the fan stopped I yanked the RAM figuring the system was off. Well later on turns out the FAN came back on...and well the system was on while I pulled out the RAM.

Turns out everything electrically is OK cuz I put the ram back in and different ram in diff slots and the system now POSTs.

Im not sure if windows worked before I went to put different RAM in, this is someone elses computer Im working on.
But , windows now trys to starts up and says all these files are corrupt or missing. so I throw in BartPE...and I have HDD scan on there. There are like 20 bad blocks on the HDD.
Could pulling out the RAM while system is on cause the hard drive to get physical errors on it? - I know it would corrupt files but I dont think it would damage the HDD's surface.

What do you guyz think...do you think hdd was bad before I worked on the system? - thats what Im hoping.

It sucks cuz Ive never done this before (pull out ram while system was on accidently) and I feel really bad and noobish.

Also this is on an older like 700mhz machine with PC133.

Plus I dont think it would hurt the HDD...cuz when I pulled it out the system didnt even POST at that point. So, I dont think windows was tryin to start up when I yanked it. But, still would like to know what you all think.

__________________
Lian Li Black Mid Tower
PCP&C 500watt Silencer
Core i3 550 @ 4.4ghz 1.28vcore
4GB DDR3 1600 @ 1800mhz 8-9-8-24
Asrock PM55-Pro mATX mobo
Scythe Mugen 2
HD 6950 @ default clocks
Razer Barracuda AC-1 sound card.
Pioneer 115D DVDRW
amdking is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 11:43 AM   #2
nvidiaOCmaster
Member

 
nvidiaOCmaster's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chulak

 
Absolutely.

You didnt ruin the HDD per-se, but your corruped files. Reformat and reinstall windows.

__________________
"Just because I don't call any more doesn't mean I'm keeping my urine in jars!"
nvidiaOCmaster is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 11:47 AM Thread Starter   #3
amdking
Member



Join Date: May 2002

10 Year Badge
 
no no, I understand that and I pointed that out in my original post. Im asking can it physically ruin the HDD. Because now I scan the hard drive (the first time I did it.) and there were 20+ bad clusters right in the first 10% of the drive.


Do you think that was there before, considering the drive is like 6+ years old...or is it bad JUST NOW from me pulling out the ram when power was on.

__________________
Lian Li Black Mid Tower
PCP&C 500watt Silencer
Core i3 550 @ 4.4ghz 1.28vcore
4GB DDR3 1600 @ 1800mhz 8-9-8-24
Asrock PM55-Pro mATX mobo
Scythe Mugen 2
HD 6950 @ default clocks
Razer Barracuda AC-1 sound card.
Pioneer 115D DVDRW
amdking is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 11:58 AM   #4
KillrBuckeye
Senior Member

 
KillrBuckeye's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livonia, MI

 
I wouldn't think that it could physically damage the HDD, but I wouldn't suggest doing that again! In any case, there's nothing you can do about it now--so repair the bad sectors and move on.

__________________
KillrBuckeye

Scarlet: i7 3770K @ 4.4 GHz (1.19V), Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, 16GB (2x8GB) GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, WD 750GB Black, Samsung EcoGreen 2TB, SB Audigy 2, Corsair 450VX, Dell 2005FPW + ASUS VH226H, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Gray: Q6600 G0 @ 3.4 GHz (378*9, 1.31V), Abit IP35-E, 2x2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400, HD 5450, OCZ Agility 60GB SSD, Corsair CX500

http://www.killrbuckeye.com
KillrBuckeye is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 12:00 PM Thread Starter   #5
amdking
Member



Join Date: May 2002

10 Year Badge
 
cant repair bad sectors. Yeah and I know not to do it again...never planned on doing it, plus its odd I usually have a habit of unplugging computer from back before even messing with swapping internal parts...this time was just a wack thing lol...so weird.

__________________
Lian Li Black Mid Tower
PCP&C 500watt Silencer
Core i3 550 @ 4.4ghz 1.28vcore
4GB DDR3 1600 @ 1800mhz 8-9-8-24
Asrock PM55-Pro mATX mobo
Scythe Mugen 2
HD 6950 @ default clocks
Razer Barracuda AC-1 sound card.
Pioneer 115D DVDRW
amdking is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 12:03 PM   #6
KillrBuckeye
Senior Member

 
KillrBuckeye's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Livonia, MI

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by amdking
cant repair bad sectors. Yeah and I know not to do it again...never planned on doing it, plus its odd I usually have a habit of unplugging computer from back before even messing with swapping internal parts...this time was just a wack thing lol...so weird.
When you run a chkdsk or other error-checking utility, doesn't it just index the bad sectors and essentially instruct the HDD not to use them anymore? It's not a true "repair", but hard drive functionality should still be fine, right?

__________________
KillrBuckeye

Scarlet: i7 3770K @ 4.4 GHz (1.19V), Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD5H, 16GB (2x8GB) GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600, eVGA 8800GT, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB, WD 750GB Black, Samsung EcoGreen 2TB, SB Audigy 2, Corsair 450VX, Dell 2005FPW + ASUS VH226H, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Gray: Q6600 G0 @ 3.4 GHz (378*9, 1.31V), Abit IP35-E, 2x2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400, HD 5450, OCZ Agility 60GB SSD, Corsair CX500

http://www.killrbuckeye.com
KillrBuckeye is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 12:04 PM   #7
mrgreenjeans
Member

 
mrgreenjeans's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cleveland, GA

 
THe windows operating files are stored in RAM or the swap file while windows is in operation. When you shut down it writes these files to the hard drive so when you boot the data is available. If you pulled the RAM odds are you pulled the files with and corrupted the boot files. Say goodbye.
Also, I've found if I disconnect the power cord it's real hard for the computer to stay on!

__________________
"A little bit of knowledge is a dangerous thing."
ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe bios 1009 w/FX-60 on a Zalman Resterator
Corsair 2048 TwinX3500LL matched dual channel 1:1 @ 2-3-3-6
BFG8800GTXwc768 DVI~Sharp Aquos LC-46D92U
BFG Ageia PhysX card
36g Raptor boot, 150g Velociraptor game drive, and 320g storage drive
LG GGC-H20L BR & HD
Auzentech xPlosion 5.1 ~ Sony DA3ES Receiver~ Infinity's
Silverstone LC-10m w/Silverstone Strider ST60 PSU
Win XP pro
mrgreenjeans is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 12:06 PM   #8
CGR
Member

 
CGR's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Lower NY

10 Year Badge
 
Whenever you pull anything out that has power on it in a system you risk damaging the other components. I once pulled out a NIC while the computer was on, not only did it fry the NIC but the sound card and motherboard too..

__________________
Main System:.................................................. ......................Second System:
DFI BloodIron P35-T2RL w/ Q6600 GO@ 3.2 (9x360), 1.4v....DFI Ultra-D w/Opteron 170 @ 2.7
G.skill 4GB (2x2gb).................................................. ..............G.Skill Extreme 2GB (2x1gb)
HIS 4850 680/1108.................................................. .............Nvidia 7600GT
WD VRaptor 300gb/Seagate 1TB..........................................Raptor 74gb/Seagate 200gb
OCZ GameXtreme 600SLI

CGR is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 12:47 PM Thread Starter   #9
amdking
Member



Join Date: May 2002

10 Year Badge
 
well..I know the files will become corrupt but I dont think the HDD could be physically damaged as a result of that. and like I said the computer hadnt even posted when I pulled out the RAM. I thought it was off.
So, Im willin to bed HDD was bad to begin with, plus the person said the computer was really slow. Well, when I ran my HDD Scan right around the bad areas access times to blocks was 500ms+ So the drive would have kept getting worse and worse....

__________________
Lian Li Black Mid Tower
PCP&C 500watt Silencer
Core i3 550 @ 4.4ghz 1.28vcore
4GB DDR3 1600 @ 1800mhz 8-9-8-24
Asrock PM55-Pro mATX mobo
Scythe Mugen 2
HD 6950 @ default clocks
Razer Barracuda AC-1 sound card.
Pioneer 115D DVDRW
amdking is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 01:05 PM   #10
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Probably fried or damaged more then just the HDD doing that.

Oh when your system turned back on well always a smart thing to do is pull the plug in the back. Someteimes the system will reboot doing things to it (plugging items in, ram, flash clearing) its strange and varies per mobo.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Sapphire 7950 VaporX 1150/1500 w/ 1.2V/1.5V | 32C Idle / 64C Load | 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?