Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

If i change just my cpu does that equal = windows freak out!?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-14-06, 10:45 PM Thread Starter   #1
Zatrix
Member

 
Zatrix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer

 
If i change just my cpu does that equal = windows freak out!?


Maybe in a year or so im gonna upgrade my cpu. im wondering if changing ONLY the cpu will make windows freak out?

by freak i mean

1. I would have to format/reinstall
2. Have to reactivate windows again and call them up and give them some lame excuse why i need too.

this is windows xp media center. and on this computer it was installed by dell.

have any ideas?
Zatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-14-06, 11:12 PM   #2
Oroka Sempai
Member

 
Oroka Sempai's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Port Elgin, Canada

 
Nope, you are good. Windows sees a CPU as one peice of hardware, so no problems there. As I found out last month, if you turn off a load of stuff you dont need in your bios... Windows will make you reactivate. Just my luck, my last install was my last allowed activation too

If it is true and you dont have to activate Vista Ultra Edition... I am so buying it.

__________________
[Primary][Cooler Master Elite 430 Black][ASUS M4A88TD-M][Phenom II X6 1100T BE][Xigmatek HDT-S1283][4GB Corsair Vengeance LP1600][ASUS 6850 1GB][LG BH10LS30 10X][OCZ Agility 3 90GB & Segate 1TB][Windows 7 Ultimate 64]
[Server][Thermaltake Armour Jr][ASUS M2A-VA][Athlon X2 7750 BE][POS HSF][4GB Buffalo Select][HIS Radeon X1950 XT 256MB][LG DVD-RW][WD 160GB][Windows 7 Ultimate 64]
Oroka Sempai is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-15-06, 12:16 AM Thread Starter   #3
Zatrix
Member

 
Zatrix's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: moving to ohio once 2012 gets closer

 
so i could just pop the old cpu out. put the new cpu in. turn the computer on and everything will be like it is now except faster?
Zatrix is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-15-06, 01:18 AM   #4
telexen
Member

 
telexen's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003

 
Yes it will be fine. CPU's don't have driver files on the HDD in the same sense that video cards and the likes do that need to be uninstalled carefully.
telexen is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?