Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Is Zone Alarm Pro worth Buying?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-16-06, 05:23 PM Thread Starter   #1
WeezleXX89
Member

 
WeezleXX89's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Earth

 
Red face Is Zone Alarm Pro worth Buying?


I have zone alarm basic firewall and i love it it tells me who's looking at my computer or bad behavior from hackers. I thought of buying Zone alarm pro because of the triple defense firewall and its not too expensive too. Give me you idea. All opinions are excepted

__________________
Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257
WeezleXX89 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-16-06, 07:48 PM   #2
InThrees
Member

 
InThrees's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Southeast US

 
If you're going to actually SPEND MONEY on a firewall, please please make it a hardware firewall.

Use something like tiny personal firewall (or if you must, zone alarm free) to see what programs try to send outbound traffic, but for a firewall-firewall that you depend on, don't use software. They're intrinsically insecure on windows machines.
InThrees is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-16-06, 08:45 PM   #3
jcw122

 
jcw122's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA

 
No, not even Zone ALarm personal is worth it. It is run by a company out of Israel and ZA has been known to send custom .dll's back to their servers in Israel....it's very suspicious.

I myself use Filseclab firewall now.

__________________
"YES! I AM INVINCIBLE!!!"
Folding for Team 32!
Gaming Nick: new_Faction64 or CharminULTRA
CPU-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 2.0Ghz@2.2Ghz (was 2.4) Socket 754, VENICE
Memory-Crucial Ballistix 2x512MB @ 220mhz 2.5-2-2-5
Motherboard-No Idea My DFI Died
Video Card-MSI ATI 9800XT---412/390(was 424/395)---w00t! Flashed
PSU-Forton Blue Storm 500w

Currently Air Cooled w/ Scythe Ninja and AC VGA Silencer
R.I.P. Project: Humidity
Heatware
jcw122 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-16-06, 09:12 PM Thread Starter   #4
WeezleXX89
Member

 
WeezleXX89's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Earth

 
Filseclab firewal does it tell when intruders enter your computer or any websites?

__________________
Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257
WeezleXX89 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-16-06, 11:41 PM   #5
jcw122

 
jcw122's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeezleXX89
Filseclab firewal does it tell when intruders enter your computer or any websites?
Nah it's a more advanced firewall, but that's more or less why I like it. But it is free, and like I said, more advanced so it's easy to customize and see EXACTLY what is going in and out of your computer, from what IP, and port, etc. You can set rules for all programs, all kinds of options for those rules, etc. It's a very slim program too, unlike many firewalls.

__________________
"YES! I AM INVINCIBLE!!!"
Folding for Team 32!
Gaming Nick: new_Faction64 or CharminULTRA
CPU-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 2.0Ghz@2.2Ghz (was 2.4) Socket 754, VENICE
Memory-Crucial Ballistix 2x512MB @ 220mhz 2.5-2-2-5
Motherboard-No Idea My DFI Died
Video Card-MSI ATI 9800XT---412/390(was 424/395)---w00t! Flashed
PSU-Forton Blue Storm 500w

Currently Air Cooled w/ Scythe Ninja and AC VGA Silencer
R.I.P. Project: Humidity
Heatware
jcw122 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-16-06, 11:54 PM   #6
THE JEW (RaVeN)
Member



Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto

 
Sygate Personal Firewall is what I use. Zone Alarm was crap for me.
THE JEW (RaVeN) is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 05:53 AM   #7
ZL1
Senior Crypto Caretaker


 
ZL1's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by InThrees
If you're going to actually SPEND MONEY on a firewall, please please make it a hardware firewall.

Use something like tiny personal firewall (or if you must, zone alarm free) to see what programs try to send outbound traffic, but for a firewall-firewall that you depend on, don't use software. They're intrinsically insecure on windows machines.


a hardware firewall will be a lot more secure and a good one can tell you a lot more than a soft fw (but it does require a certain level of know-how)
they're cheap too these days, you can get a pretty good one from netgear in form of router/fw

D

__________________
What is The Bitcoin? Want The Bitcoin?
1ZL1ucArGfCFc9RRn7uch65or7UgR1sWW
LZL1LnJXmWsntfjzwTHeLUQziL1hcmTPsj
ZL1 is offline Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 02:11 PM   #8
Lancelot

 
Lancelot's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: the Netherlands

10 Year Badge
 
smoothwall.org is what all my systems are behind...

You can build a 'hardware' firewall from old computer parts for cheap!

__________________
:: Xeon E3-1220v2 @3745 on Asus P8H77-V with 8GB Corsair DDR3 @1712

Folding User Stats
Lancelot is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 03:18 PM   #9
Route44
Member

 
Route44's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Southern New Jersey

 
Arrow


I've had ZoneAlarm Pro firewall versions 4.0, 5.0, and 6.0 and as soon as my 6.0 subscription was up I ditched it. It will slow your computer down in many ways, interfere with net surfing, and takes some serious memory usgae to run. I'm not the only one who has experienced this.

If you want further reviews of firewalls go to the Wilders Security Forums and scroll down to their Other Firewalls forum. Very, very informative.

__________________
Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H > i5 3570K
Crucial Ballistix Sport (8 gigs)
Sapphire 6950 > Samsung 830 SSD > Seagate 1TB
Corsair TX 750 > Asus DVD drive
Logitech Z-640 5.1 speakers
Windows 7 64
Route44 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 05:09 PM Thread Starter   #10
WeezleXX89
Member

 
WeezleXX89's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Earth

 
so your saying GET RID OF ZONE ALARM? Ill try that advanced one
Thanks guys. lol

__________________
Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257
WeezleXX89 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 05:29 PM Thread Starter   #11
WeezleXX89
Member

 
WeezleXX89's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Earth

 
Is the Filseclab personal firewall professional edition Free?

__________________
Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257
WeezleXX89 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 07:34 PM   #12
hafa
Premium Member #24

 
hafa's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: A tiny dot in the middle of the Pacific

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WeezleXX89
so your saying GET RID OF ZONE ALARM? Ill try that advanced one
Thanks guys. lol
The main proviso most have pointed out is that you should not depend on ANY software firewall, as a hardware firewall is vastly superior, readily available and may even cost less than what you would have paid for ZA Pro.

__________________
.
HTPC: Core i3 540/8GB/300GB Raptor/GTS450-1GB/W7P-64 ~|~ File Server: (Green) AMD 4850E/4GB/6TB RAID/Windows Server 2008 ~|~ Notebook/Workstation: M780 Toshiba Convertible Tablet/i7 M620/8GB/128GB Crucial M4 SSD /7200RPM 750GB/W8 Pro

hafa is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 07:44 PM   #13
fabulouscoops
Member

 
fabulouscoops's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA

 
I agree, stay away from internet protection software and buy a cheap router with a hardware firewall.

__________________
i5 2500K@4.5; Asus P8P67 deluxe; 8 GB G.Skill DDR3 1600; Mushkin 120 GB SSD; 2T WD caviar, 500 GB WD caviar; HD7950
E8500 @3.6 GHz; Asus P5Q Pro Turbo; 4 GB OCZ Reaper DDR2 1066;
i5 2550; P8P67 deluxe, 8 GB OCZ DDR2 800; 60 Agility SSD; 2x500 GB RAID 0; 250 GB Caviar; HD6950
E4400 @3 GHz, Abit AB9 pro, Gigabyte 7300 GT silent; 2GB Supertalent PC5400; 3x36 Raptors RAID 0:5
fabulouscoops is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 08:40 PM Thread Starter   #14
WeezleXX89
Member

 
WeezleXX89's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Earth

 
when you install Filseclab fire wall. Profession edition. when you first connected to the internet, do you get alot of thing popping up like allow or chioce? so far its cool. I know nothing about do you think you could tell me hints or how to run it. lol

__________________
Antec Nine Hundred Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 125W Dual-Core Processor
CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel
OCZ GameXStream 700W ATX12V Power Supply
XFX GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
DVD RW IDE Combo Drive
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=60257
WeezleXX89 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?