Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > Sound Systems & Audio Devices
Sound Systems & Audio Devices Including sound cards, speakers and other audio devices.
Forum Jump

Girlfriend's sound has ceased to work

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-06, 12:19 PM Thread Starter   #1
Anjow
Member

 
Anjow's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UKbiquitous

 
Girlfriend's sound has ceased to work


She's on XP Pro SP1 on a:

Asus A7V8X
Sempron 2400+
256MB DDR333
FX5200

The sound is onboard Realtek AC97, I installed the drivers for it before the summer and it worked fine, it was then not used for around 4 months whilst we were home from uni. Now we're back, she's tried plugging her speakers (working fine - tried connecting to TV and no probs) and no sound seems to come from the machine. I've looked in volume control and nothing's muted, I've tried more than one sound-producing application and I am out of ideas. I've looked in device manager and there are no yellow (!) anywhere.

Sound isn't my area so I'm not sure what else I should try. Could anyone help please?

__________________
A64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR800
Sapphire 2900XT (after 4 8800GTXs died on me)
3x 22" LG TFTs, Vista Ultimate
Blaming violence on games is like blaming obesity on spoons
Down with DRM, stop punishing the legitimate consumer
Anjow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 01:41 PM   #2
DvBoard
Member

 
DvBoard's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mars

 
Double check that they are plugged into the correct port is where i would start with this. I know it sounds kinda stupid, but we need to eliminate possibilities...

btw when i read the title i thought you where calling your computer your gf .

__________________
*Dead* CPU:Intel Pentium 4 (Northwood) 2400MHz with the 533MHz Bus Speed.; Mobo:First International Computer, Inc. (FIC) Motherboard, model: VI13, Chipset: Sis645DX, BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD version 6.00PG; GPU:ATi Radeon 9000Pro (128MB) Video card (4x AGP); RAM:1 stick 512MB PC2700 (166MHz) Xerox RAM; 1 stick 512MB PC3200 (200MHz) Corsair RAM; HD's:WD 250 Gig HD (x2); Optical:Lite-On DVD+/-RW, DVD-Rom; PSU:Antec SL400; OS:Windows XP

*Current Rig* CPU:E6600; Mobo:Asus P5B Deluxe; GPU:ATi Radeon HD 4870 w/1GB GDDR5 (PCI Express); RAM: (2 x 1GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400PRO & (2 x 1GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400; HD's:(2x 320GB) Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA Drive & (2x 500GB) Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 SATA Drive & (2x 250GB) WD IDE Drive; Optical: Lite-on SATA DVD +/- RW & Lite-on IDE DVD +/- RW; PSU:Corsair 520HX; OS:XP; Case:Thermaltake Armor;
DvBoard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 01:42 PM Thread Starter   #3
Anjow
Member

 
Anjow's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UKbiquitous

 
I have plugged them into all available ports there, none of which do anything.

__________________
A64 X2 4200+, 2GB DDR800
Sapphire 2900XT (after 4 8800GTXs died on me)
3x 22" LG TFTs, Vista Ultimate
Blaming violence on games is like blaming obesity on spoons
Down with DRM, stop punishing the legitimate consumer
Anjow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 02:32 PM   #4
Dreamstalker
Member

 
Dreamstalker's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Brookline, MA

 
I would try updating the Realtek drivers.

FTR, I'm having the same problem with my A8V and have not hit upon a solution yet (other than to just get a new soundcard)

__________________
"allright, i am declaring myself a sovereign nation...." --orionlion82
"I will not be pushed, filed, stamped, indexed, briefed, debriefed, or numbered! My life is my own." --The Prisoner
My Heatware
Navi 2.0 under construction
Dreamstalker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 03:07 PM   #5
schnikies79
Member

 
schnikies79's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004

 
try using the restore feature from a time that it you know it worked. fixed the same problem with my sister's computer.

__________________
Gave up messing with computers for a bit. It's just my Macbook and my iPhone. :)

Poop!
schnikies79 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-17-06, 03:32 PM   #6
R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3
Member

 
R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: New York

 
along the lines of what Dreamstalker suggested, you can also try reinstalling the sound drivers and software
R4z0r4mu5 Pr|m3 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Display and Sound Technology > Sound Systems & Audio Devices
Sound Systems & Audio Devices Including sound cards, speakers and other audio devices.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?