Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

How to overclock x1800xt??

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-18-06, 07:46 PM Thread Starter   #1
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
How to overclock x1800xt??


I don't know how to overclock that card, not really but I can't. I used riva tuner which does not work, ati tool says that overclocking is disabled. The only thing that works is ati overdrive but it reach limited and does not let go beyond limit. How to overclock?

__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-19-06, 04:19 AM   #2
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
first off, disable overdrive, theres a sticky that tells you how. I got the same message with ati tray tools, and someone told me it was because the designer didnt have any x1k series cards to test it on, so he disabled the support. why dont you try atitool? it works for me.

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-19-06, 01:23 PM Thread Starter   #3
meionm
Member

 
meionm's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004

 
I disabled ati over drive, riva tunder and ati tray tools don't work. Power strip even if I clock gfx at the same clock as with ati overdrive, it will artifact.

__________________
Dell XPS 1330 T8300, 4GB PC6400, LED Monitor, DVD Burner, Intel 4965 wireless, Bluetooth 360, 9cell battery, Windows Vista Ultimate, Remote

Q9550, Gigabyte ex38 ds4, 4GB Corsair Dominator PC8500, evga 8800gt, Corsiar 520w psu, WD 640GB HD, LG Eide Dvd Burner, Antec P182

HEATWARE
meionm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-19-06, 02:44 PM   #4
Bugsmasher
Member



Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oklahoma City, Ok

 
Did you follow the "READ ME FIRST before you overclock your x1K cards" sticky? It seems there are several services that need to be turned off before overclocking can really begin.

I haven't done it myself yet (card will be installed Friday) so this is just a shot in the dark.

__________________
System - AMD Opteron 165, ATI X1900XT, 2G (1Gx2) G-Skill PC3200, Asrock 939 DualSATA2, Raptor 74G Sata 16meg 10k drive, SB Audigy2 ZS

Watercooling Setup - MCP600, T-Line, Home-made Monster Reservoir, MCW6002, Fedco 2-199 w/home-made shrouds in a push/pull config, 4 Sanyo Denki 120mm beasts (undervolted to 7), 7/16"ID-5/8"OD MasterKleer tubing
Bugsmasher is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-20-06, 01:54 AM   #5
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
try atitool. ATi tray tools wont work with X1k cards.

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router (Upgrade in the works)
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP || Interested in the performance of the new AMD AM1 socket? Ask me, I'll test it!
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-20-06, 09:23 AM   #6
chevro1et
Member

 
chevro1et's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: 35.012N/ 129.052E

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by freakdiablo
try atitool. ATi tray tools wont work with X1k cards.
Ray Adams has released a new version of ATiTrayTools that does support overclocking the x1k series cards... haven't checked it out yet though. The guru3d site seems to be down right now, will come back latazz with the linky.

Alternatively, this guide is pretty good for using ATiTool for OCing the x1800/x1900 series cards.

EDIT: You can read the discussion and d/l the new version of ATiTrayTools here

__________________
Dell Inspiron 640m
Intel C2D T5500 Centrino (1.66 ghz/ 667 fsb)
2x1 gig RAM (533 fsb)
WD Scorpio Blue 500gb hdd
Intel 950GMA integrated graphics
14.1" widescreen (1440x900) w. Truebrite
Vista Home Premium
5in1 card reader/ Bluetooth/ 3945abg wireless

Last edited by chevro1et; 09-20-06 at 07:19 PM.
chevro1et is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?