Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

E6400 520x8 3.6 Ghz anyone?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-23-06, 07:50 PM Thread Starter   #1
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
E6400 520x7 3.6 Ghz anyone?


...And counting. I think I'll do 325 and stop
Attached Images
 

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202

Last edited by rainless; 09-23-06 at 08:02 PM.
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-06, 07:57 PM   #2
ronaldo
Member



Join Date: Apr 2004

 
Thats incredible result
ronaldo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-06, 07:58 PM   #3
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
come dude, if you want a large E-Penis, go for the allusive 4.0 Retail Club. How are your temps?
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-06, 08:06 PM Thread Starter   #4
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicecca112
come dude, if you want a large E-Penis, go for the allusive 4.0 Retail Club. How are your temps?

Idle temps were only 52-54c. At this point 520 DDR2 (1040mhz!) Is as high as my ram can go. I'm absolutely certain that is the uppermost limits. And it was hot enough at that.

3.6ghz however is NOT the highest my CPU can go at 7x. If I had 1000mhz ram then I would easily be able to do 600FSB. I'm almost CERTAIN of that.

F-what you heard... This is the DREAM week 24 chip!

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-06, 08:09 PM   #5
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
I mean 520 DDR and 3.6 is nothing to sneeze at, I hope when I get all my birthday money that I can get my 6400 to those clocks. Congrats to you sir
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-23-06, 08:13 PM Thread Starter   #6
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicecca112
I mean 520 DDR and 3.6 is nothing to sneeze at, I hope when I get all my birthday money that I can get my 6400 to those clocks. Congrats to you sir
Thanks

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-06, 04:43 PM Thread Starter   #7
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
I can pretty much run 520x7 whenever I want. But there's no going beyond that. Even 525 doesn't work. I think when the time comes to upgrade my ram I'll get 2 1gb 1000mhz chips.

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-06, 05:14 PM   #8
Stupidpenguin
Member

 
Stupidpenguin's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Virginia Coast

 
dual prime stable?
Stupidpenguin is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-06, 05:21 PM Thread Starter   #9
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stupidpenguin
dual prime stable?
I'm guesssssing... No.

I could GET IT dual prime stable. Once I upgrade my water cooling. (Once I fall assbackwards into 100 bucks) but at the moment you might notice the black box on one of the icons where a picture should be. I think that's either my ram or my video card giving out on me. So I wouldn't try running it 24.7 til I get a new case with more room for fans.

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-06, 05:43 PM   #10
OCS911
Member

 
OCS911's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States

 
I think your SuperPI 1M is little slow @3.6, I got 15.583s @3.2 for 975X chipset
OCS911 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-06, 05:44 PM   #11
Gautam
Senior Benchmark Addict



Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hillsboro, OR

10 Year Badge
 
Allendales are much slower than Conroes in SuperPI 1M. (2-3 sec)

__________________
El<(')>Maxi: I still have your board...and I'm afraid I lost your address so I can't send it back...and my pm box is broken...and I can't remember where the PO is anyway
Gautam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-06, 06:19 PM Thread Starter   #12
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gautam
Allendales are much slower than Conroes in SuperPI 1M. (2-3 sec)
Yeah if you got a Conroe then it's the cache. But also I have CAS5 ram AND i was running it at 5-5-5-15. It's rated at 5-5-5-12, what I'm running at now, but I just ran it at 5-5-5-15 to be on the safe side. Never really attempted to do much with my ram timings as I only try to hit high overclocks when I'm bored or absolutely need to get off my computer and LEAVE MY APARTMENT. Then I'll just throw it up to 500 or 600ghz at which point it shuts down and I go out and look for attractive older women

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-06, 07:12 PM   #13
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Your chipset might be limiting you going higher. Was reading some articles that if you drop your multi you are actually putting the northbridge on a divider to run faster.

For instance my memory runs faster running at 400Mhz rather then 442.5Mhz by 200MB/s. My NB registers at 450Mhz which it should be 400 but im using the 8x mutli which from a base of 9x would make that difference.

With yours running at 520Mhz your NB is running ~595Mhz which might be its limit. Try either pumping more voltage into the northbridge if you haven't maxed it out or raise the multi again and go for more. Since I dought you'll use it for long term with those high temps.

Oh ya those times do seem slow compared to mine but thats in the range. I get roughly those SuperPI speeds at 3.2Ghz using either the 9x or 8x multi with ram anywhere between 800-1000Mhz.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-06, 07:35 PM   #14
dicecca112
Member



Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: MA, USA

 
most likely saw that at XS, there was a huge discussion by Tony of OCZ about those results on the P5B
dicecca112 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-06, 07:42 PM Thread Starter   #15
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathman20
Your chipset might be limiting you going higher. Was reading some articles that if you drop your multi you are actually putting the northbridge on a divider to run faster.

For instance my memory runs faster running at 400Mhz rather then 442.5Mhz by 200MB/s. My NB registers at 450Mhz which it should be 400 but im using the 8x mutli which from a base of 9x would make that difference.

With yours running at 520Mhz your NB is running ~595Mhz which might be its limit. Try either pumping more voltage into the northbridge if you haven't maxed it out or raise the multi again and go for more. Since I dought you'll use it for long term with those high temps.

Oh ya those times do seem slow compared to mine but thats in the range. I get roughly those SuperPI speeds at 3.2Ghz using either the 9x or 8x multi with ram anywhere between 800-1000Mhz.
Actually you've got 4-4-4-12 Gskills and I've got 5-5-5-12 corsair. I'd say THAT's why your timing is faster.

And what high temps are you talking about? Oh... I get it. Just upping the FSB and doing a suicide run. Sure. Why not.

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-06, 08:45 PM   #16
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dicecca112
most likely saw that at XS, there was a huge discussion by Tony of OCZ about those results on the P5B
Yup I saw that. Thats why I was bringing it up if it affects his board or not, but I noticed slightly better results on tests so far with it doing the way hes doing it but not that significant expecially with a chip like that his limiting factor would be FSB.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-25-06, 08:47 PM   #17
deathman20
High Speed Senior

 
deathman20's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Where the Cheese Heads Live

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainless
Actually you've got 4-4-4-12 Gskills and I've got 5-5-5-12 corsair. I'd say THAT's why your timing is faster.

And what high temps are you talking about? Oh... I get it. Just upping the FSB and doing a suicide run. Sure. Why not.
Well your running faster speeds which should offset the timing on yours.

If you feel safe doing a suicide run go for it but I'd suggest upping the multi back to 8 and do it so your not limiting your ram or chipset.

__________________
-=The Gamer=-
MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen
-=The Server=-
Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
Heat
deathman20 is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-26-06, 01:13 AM Thread Starter   #18
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by deathman20
Well your running faster speeds which should offset the timing on yours.

If you feel safe doing a suicide run go for it but I'd suggest upping the multi back to 8 and do it so your not limiting your ram or chipset.
Hmm... Makes sense to me now that you explain it. I never actually tried to see what my highest clock at 8x is.

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-26-06, 10:17 AM   #19
largon
Member

 
largon's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Suomi Finland

 
Rainless,
3.6GHz at what voltage?

My deceased E6400 was dual prime stable at 3.6GHz 1.5V.
That chip died due to physical damage.

__________________
You were not supposed to see this.
ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
ŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻŻ
largon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-26-06, 11:59 AM Thread Starter   #20
rainless
Old Member

 
rainless's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CHI-Town Love is alive in Spain

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by largon
Rainless,
3.6GHz at what voltage?

My deceased E6400 was dual prime stable at 3.6GHz 1.5V.
That chip died due to physical damage.
What do you mean "physical damage?" I've heard you say that before, but what did you do? Drop an anvil on it or something?

I hit 3.6ghz at 1.425 volts. Probably could have done it at less but there was no need to try. That's not my 24/7 dual prime clock. I currently run it at 3ghz 1.30 volts which is perfectly safe.

__________________
Core 4 Q9550 @4003mhz 1.30v
Core 2 Duo e8400 @ 4.6ghz 1.328v (E0 Stepping)
Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 3.8ghz 1.525v
Asus P5Q Pro 2002m @ 515x9 .63x 1.52
OCZ Fatal1ty Edition 4GB DDR2 5-4-4-18 @ 2.18v w/OCZ XTC Ram Cooler
Corsair 750TX PSU
Sparkle 260 GTX (65nm, 216) 696c 1512s 999mem
BLOCK: Swiftech Apogee GTZ RAD: BIXII REZ: MCRES-Micro rev2 PUMP: Pondmaster 750 FAN: 2 HS Yates CONTROLLER: Modified Evercool WC-202
rainless is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?