Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

x1900xt showing checkerboard in games, distorted colors on desktop

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-06, 07:18 PM Thread Starter   #1
vixro
Member

 
vixro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas

 
x1900xt showing checkerboard in games, distorted colors on desktop




This is an example of the image. MY friend is having this issue and has yet to solve it.

specs:
Sapphire Radeon x1900xt
Asus A8R-MVP motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 X2 2.2GHz cpu
Antec 500Watt SmartPower 2.0 psu
2G ram
250gig harddrive


Somebody suggested a new PSU (even though that one is fine, I used the same build before upgrading and even did crossfired x1900's with it to some extent). So, she tried this PSU: thermaltake toughpower 700W ATX 12V 2.2 & EPS 12V. Same issue of course, I do not think it is a power issue whatsoever.

Anyway, the problem happens when drivers are on the computer. Windows Media Center edition, Catalyst 6.9. Used driver cleaner, installed everything needed and clean, but the problem still happens. When she disabled hardware acceleration, the discoloration goes away and it looks normal. When she disables the card in device manager, the problem goes away there also. DirectX was recently updated (today) with the latest versions of everything. The problem is still there.

She put the card in her husbands computer and it worked fine.

__________________
Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
- Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
heatware
vixro is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-06, 09:08 PM   #2
posrx7
Registered



Join Date: Sep 2006

 
If you back down the clocks, does it still have the same issue?
posrx7 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-06, 09:17 PM   #3
El<(')>Maxi
Blank Senior Member

 
El<(')>Maxi's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle

 
PSU if it's fine in another rig most likely. Rather than Driver Cleaner use ATI's Uninstall Utility located here.

C:\Program Files\ATI Technologies\UninstallAll

__________________
rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'
El<(')>Maxi is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-27-06, 09:49 PM Thread Starter   #4
vixro
Member

 
vixro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas

 
So it really is a PSU issue? What PSU would you recommend she uses then if the 500w Antec isnt good enough and neither is the quad rail $165 PSU? It's confusing for somebody to have a problem like this with such weird symptoms.

She used her husbands x1800 all in wonder, and it worked fine without problems, it only happens when using the x1900xt (which works fine in his computer, but not hers).



Edit: When he put the x1900xt in his computer, he was unable to install the drivers for it. He was getting an ATICM.dll type error when he tried, all he knows is that it looked normal without the drivers installed. But, when the drivers are not installed on her computer, it works fine. Does this help? (it works fine on her computer with no drivers installed too)


She can also play CS with great FPS and it doesn't lag or anything, it's just discolored. Does not reboot.

__________________
Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
- Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
heatware
vixro is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-28-06, 01:38 AM   #5
maxxoverclocker
Member

 
maxxoverclocker's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Vista, CA

 
hmm well id do what posrx7 said and try backing down the clocks, if anything it sounds like the card is damaged or isn't seated correctly
maxxoverclocker is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-28-06, 01:57 AM   #6
freakdiablo

 
freakdiablo's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Here

 
did you try the omega drivers yet? i doubt this is the problem though.

__________________
Main: MOBO: MSI P67A-G45, CPU: i7 2600k w/ VenX (4.4ghz @ 1.33v), RAM: 2x8gb Kingston HyperX Blu Red Series DDR3 1600, GFX: Galaxy GTX670 GC, PSU: OCZ 1250w ZX, CASE: Corsair 500R, HDD: 120gb Samsung 840, WD 4TB Black
Quick, Cheap, and Dirty NAS: Sempron 140, Hyper 212+ with 800RPM Scythe Slipstreams, 4gb ram, 5x2tb Hitachis in RAID5, Seasonic SSR-360GP, Antec 300, Biostar Tpower motherboard, APC BR700G UPS, Buffalo WZR-HP-AG300H router
Laptop: Lenovo Thinkpad X220 HTPC: Zotac ZBOX AD04-U w/ 6GB Samsung 1333mhz, 64GB Adata Premier Pro SP900
Protobox-1: Raspberry Pi Mod. B Rev. 2, 2.5" LCD, 12v 1A PSU, Aluminum RatShack project box, GPIO breakout board

Project 1UP
Bored of games? Nothing good on internet radio or youtube? Dont waste your GHz, find them before they find us. SETI
freakdiablo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-28-06, 05:50 AM   #7
El<(')>Maxi
Blank Senior Member

 
El<(')>Maxi's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Seattle

 
If the drivers were not installed when it was in his rig then it probably needs to be returned.

__________________
rdrash - 'I'm gonna intentionally try to kill this CPU with more volts'
El<(')>Maxi is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-28-06, 03:24 PM Thread Starter   #8
vixro
Member

 
vixro's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Las Vegas

 
She decided to send the card in with the RMA today back to newegg for a replacement. I will let you know what happens when she gets the new one back.

__________________
Intel i7-2600K @ 45x100 (4.5ghz) 1.36v
G.Skill Ripjaw Z 4x4GB 2134mhz @ DDR3-1068 9-11-10-27-2T - 1.65v
ASRock Z68 Extreme4 1.70
Gigabyte GTX 680 2GB @ 1250mhz / 7030mhz
Asus Xonar Essence STX 7.1
- Cardas recabled HD580 & Creative GigaWorks T40
Silverstone DA750 750w PSU
heatware
vixro is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-28-06, 08:25 PM   #9
Falkentyne
Member



Join Date: Apr 2001

10 Year Badge
 
From the looks of that image, sounds like a RAM chip went bad.I know the card is RMA'd already, but was it like that out of the box? Did it ever work fine? I assume it was recently purchased.

Ordinarily, I would assume that static must have zapped one of the RAM chips, but since the RAM is covered by heatsinks, that would reduce that possibility (but not eliminate) the chance of that happening. Only reason I'm mentioning that is, if it WAS zapped by static, then the exact same thing can happen to the new card if proper precautions are not taken. (meaning: no running around on carpet with an exposed card--if you MUST work on carpet, ground yourself and remain as stationary as possible).

Hopefully it was simply DOA and the new one will be fine.
Falkentyne is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-28-06, 08:36 PM   #10
squads
Member

 
squads's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Philadelphia

10 Year Badge
 
I get an image like that when my memory clocks are too high. If you aren't overclocking the card then it seems you have a memory problem like Falkentyne said. You might need to RMA.

__________________
Phoenix:

Phenom II X4 940BE Stock | Core Contact Freezer | Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4 | 4gb Patriot DDR2-800 4-4-4-12
MSI 8800GT 512mb | 2x640gb WD AAKS (no RAID) | Corsair 520HX | Kingwin KT-436B-WM | XP Pro & Ubuntu 9.04


HEAT!
squads is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Video Cards > AMD (ATI) GPUs
AMD (ATI) GPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?