Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

1 TB (Terabyte) External hard drives

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-29-06, 10:22 AM Thread Starter   #1
Graphicism
Member

 
Graphicism's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Jensen Beach

 
1 TB (Terabyte) External hard drives


I was looking for a decent sized hard drive for files, backup etc that sort of thing... I would like it to work externally with my laptop so wither an external unit or enclosed casing would be ideal.

I was set on about 400GB however I came across a 1TB external drive at outpost for $650 with 2x500GB drives... my question is are they any good? Are they more reliable than single 400GB hard drives? Should one hard drive fail is the other still good? Can the hard drives be replaced?

Lots of questions, if anyone has one of these let me know what you think of it!

Thanks,

- Dan

__________________
CPU › E7200 @ 3.75GHz
MOBO › ASUS P5Q P45
RAM › G.Skill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066
GPU › Sapphire HD4850
HDD › WD 36GB Rapter / Seagate 160GB+320GB+1GB
PSU › Antec Earthwatts 500w
CASE › Antec 300
LCD › Dell 2005FPW + Dell E207WFP"
OS › Vista x64"
Graphicism is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-29-06, 10:45 AM   #2
bchur83
Member



Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of 10,000 Lakes

10 Year Badge
 
Since it has 2 drives, then it is using Raid0. So, if one drive fails, you lose the data on the whole thing. Not sure about replacing the drives. For security, I wouldnt trust an external raid setup, especially if you plan to move it around. Those drives would just be inviting failure running raid and being mobile. Drop it once, and a drive fails, losing all of the data.

__________________
Main Rig: Asus P8Z68 Pro Gen3 * Core i7 2600K @ 4.4Ghz * 8GB (2x 4GB) Mushkin Blackline PC3-1600 * GeForce GTX 560TI 448 1280MB * 6TB Storage * LG BD/RW * Lian-Li PC-V2000B * Dell 24" 2407FPW & Asus 24" VS248H
Backup Rig: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P * C2Q Q9400 @ 3.2Ghz * 4GB (2x 2GB) G-Skill PC2-8000 * Sapphire Radeon 4870 512MB * 320GB Storage * Samsung SH-S203N DVD+/-RW * Apex Full Tower Case * 2x Dell 19" LCD
HTPC: Abit IP35PRO * C2D E6600 @ Stock * 2GB G-Skill PC6400 * Geforce 8600GT 256MB * 640GB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-ROM * 55" Samsung 1080p 3D LED LCD via HDMI

Media Server: DFI Lanparty UT NF4 Ultra-D * A64 3800+ X2 * 1GB PC3200 * Powercolor X800XL * 14TB Storage * Lite On 16x DVD-RW

Heatware
bchur83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-29-06, 08:04 PM   #3
Lifthanger
Member

 
Lifthanger's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Wφschbach LMAO

 
I don't know anything about this specific device, but I would be surprised if it was Raid 0 only. Pretty sure it would support Raid1 or JBOD, too.

__________________

Gentoo AMD64 - Fluxbox


Lifthanger is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-29-06, 11:23 PM Thread Starter   #4
Graphicism
Member

 
Graphicism's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Jensen Beach

 
Hmm, I wouldn't think it is raid at all. The setup is is 2x500GB hard drives to give you 1TB, wouldn't 2x500GB Raid 0/1 only give you 500GB...

I've had a 20GB lacie USB/Firewire portable for about 4 years now, dropped tens of times, been around the world with me, 10+ trans atlantic flights and it's still in perfect working order, perhaps they don't make them like they used too?

__________________
CPU › E7200 @ 3.75GHz
MOBO › ASUS P5Q P45
RAM › G.Skill 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 1066
GPU › Sapphire HD4850
HDD › WD 36GB Rapter / Seagate 160GB+320GB+1GB
PSU › Antec Earthwatts 500w
CASE › Antec 300
LCD › Dell 2005FPW + Dell E207WFP"
OS › Vista x64"
Graphicism is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-06, 12:15 AM   #5
Maviryk
Member

 
Maviryk's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graphicism
Hmm, I wouldn't think it is raid at all. The setup is is 2x500GB hard drives to give you 1TB, wouldn't 2x500GB Raid 0/1 only give you 500GB...

I've had a 20GB lacie USB/Firewire portable for about 4 years now, dropped tens of times, been around the world with me, 10+ trans atlantic flights and it's still in perfect working order, perhaps they don't make them like they used too?
Raid 0 would give you the full amount, 1Tb, Raid 1 would mirror and halve it to 500Gb.


What makes you think that it is using raid? It could be a JBOD, or even 2 drives. KISS.

__________________
Toshiba Satellite E105
I'm packing Heat
Maviryk is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-06, 01:17 AM   #6
Sk8erfreak986
Member



Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Jersey

 
Get 250-320 GB hard drives cheapest per GB and great for storage...buy some cheap external enclosures from newegg and you are set, maybe a USB hub to give you somewhere to leave 4 drives plugged in for 500$ you could have 4 drives over a TB.
Sk8erfreak986 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-06, 03:09 AM   #7
greenmaji
Senior Spellcheck

 
greenmaji's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
Depends on if you want the cheapest sollution or performance.. one of the fastest drives for single user applications is a 500gig drive. SATAe-II and these http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...MP=OTC-Froogle

http://www.storagereview.com/article...0KLA360_1.html

would be fast... but a little more expensive for 1TB of data. $400 for the drives but only two external enclosures (cuts down on that cost)

__________________
$300 for your CPU
$500 for your GFX card
$100 for your memory
$200 for your motherboard
$9.99 for your PSU

Having a CHEAP power supply take out your computer PRICELESS.
greenmaji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 09-30-06, 01:24 PM   #8
Mr. Roboto
Member

 
Mr. Roboto's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New Hampshire

 
Yeah, i doubt it's raid. I would guess JBOD.

__________________
Main Rig: e8400 l ASUS P5K Deluxe l G.Skill 4GB HZ's l GTX 280 l 2x320gb 7200.10 Raid 0 l X-FI Platinum l CM Stacker 830 l OCZ 700W GameXtreme l Logitech z-5500's l G5 l Saitek Eclipse II l 2 x 2407 WFP
HTPC:P4 2.8 l 1.5GB ram l 7600GS l HVR-1600 l 400gb raid 0 l Audigy 1 l Coolermaster 280 l 37" Olevia
Mr. Roboto is online now Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Storage
Storage SSDs, HDDs, CD/DVD/Bluray
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?