• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

replacing windows

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dorian_Gray

Registered
Ok, I am pretty new to Linux. I have used it a few times, but I am interested in replacing Windows XP with Linux. However, I have a few questions......

Why so many versions? Which version is standard?

Can i still play games that require windows/direct x (by using an emulator or something?). Will the performance of the games drop?

Will graphics card drivers etc. be as readily available for linux?

Thank you for your time!

Dorian_Gray said:
Ok, I am pretty new to Linux. I have used it a few times, but I am interested in replacing Windows XP with Linux. However, I have a few questions......

Why so many versions? Which version is standard?
It's open source, so lots of people have differnet ideas about how the OS should be set up, and they can just create their own distro. Linux is really just a kernel, you can do whatever you want with it. There is no "standard" version. For a beginner, I suggest Ubuntu/Kubuntu.

Can i still play games that require windows/direct x (by using an emulator or something?). Will the performance of the games drop?
Some, but not all, will work through wine or Cedega.

Will graphics card drivers etc. be as readily available for linux?

Thank you for your time!
Depends on the card. For 2d drivers most cards are fine.

Because linux is open source, everyone and his brother modifies it and re-releases it. Linux is itself just a kernel, and that is actually quite standard and available from kernel.org. However, what you want is not a Linux kernel, but a Linux distribution, which includes the Linux kernel and a bunch of other tools (mostly made by the GNU project).