Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

SATA OPTICAL DRIVE :(

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-06, 04:44 PM Thread Starter   #1
EXidE
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2006

 
SATA OPTICAL DRIVE :(


I am due delivery of components for my first PC build tomorrow morning and reading forums in extra readiness i noticed that SATA HDD have to have SATA controller drivers loaded from floppy during winXP install.
This prompted me to worry..
In my embracing of all things most advanced i have stupidly done 3 things.

1. Got a SATA HDD
2. Got a SATA Optical drive
3. Got no floppy drive

Ok once the laughter has pettered out please just confirm or refute my question

Do I need to buy both a Floppy drive and a non SATA Optical drive to ensure hassle free winXP installation?

Thx for laughing with me and for the help.
EXidE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-04-06, 05:24 PM   #2
jmh547
Member



Join Date: Jul 2005

 
most new motherboards will allow microsoft to detect the sata drives w/o a disk. But raid is probably a different story

__________________
| ASRock Extreme3 Gen3 | 2500K | G.Skill 2x4Gb DDR3 1600 | Kingston V100 128Gb | EVGA GTX 570 | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | OCZ Fatal1ty 550 watt |
Heatware
jmh547 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-04-06, 05:32 PM Thread Starter   #3
EXidE
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2006

 
Motherboard is an ABIT AW9D-MAX

I did read that if the mobo has the controller chip on it for SATA then the drivers dont need to be transferred to windows I presume this is why newer boards are ok?
EXidE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-04-06, 06:03 PM   #4
ErikD
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC

 
I installed XP from a SATA DVD-RW on an Abit AW8 without problems. As mentioned RAID might (most likely) require extra drivers during install if you wish to use it as a RAID array. That will require a floppy as other than slipstreaming that is the only way to include drivers. If RAID isn't important I haven't had any issues using SATA with RAID disabled in BIOS.
ErikD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-06, 03:06 AM Thread Starter   #5
EXidE
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2006

 
Thx alot for the help I have no intentions at present to use RAID so your info will save me the trouble of buying a floppy and a non SATA optical drive.

Waitin for the delivery guy now
EXidE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-06, 03:30 AM   #6
klingens
Member



Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Xanadu

 
Look into nlite. You can make a custom XP CD that has all the drivers needed onboard, including SATA
klingens is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-06, 03:33 AM   #7
enkrypt3d
Registered



Join Date: Oct 2006

 
just as long as the sata controller is nvidia, and you have both the optical and hard disk plugged into the same controller, you will not need any extra drivers. This works for XP64 & XP32
enkrypt3d is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-06, 07:03 PM Thread Starter   #8
EXidE
New Member



Join Date: Sep 2006

 
Well my first ever build went without a hitch thx to all the info i have gathered from these forums..

I had no problems installing WinXP pro from my SATA DVD drive onto a SATA HDD and the installed the RAID drivers once xp was up and running.
Abit AW9D-MAX mobo

Thx for all the help
EXidE is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-06, 07:07 PM   #9
K15
Member

 
K15's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005

 
I did not install any SATA drivers for my install, but it's not RAID. If it's not RAID, Windows treats the drives as regular IDE drives and doesn't care any different. With RAID, I know you used to need to load drivers, not sure what the deal is now. But you only have one HDD? Don't think you can RAID then
I also don't use floppy drives anymore. Flash drives are just too convenient to worry about stupid floppy drives.

__________________
<CPU>AMD A64 3700+ 2.2ghz San Diego | <Motherboard>Asus A8N5X | <Case>Cooler Master Centurion 530 | <PSU>Antec TPll 380 watt | <Hard drive>Seagate 7200.9 SATA2 160GB | <RAM>1GB Kingmax DDR400 PC3200 | <Video card>Cheap ATI X300 PCI E16 (save money)
K15 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-06, 11:08 PM   #10
Oroka Sempai
Member

 
Oroka Sempai's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Port Elgin, Canada

 
I want a SATA burner :'( But I am not willing to pay that much for a burner right now

__________________
[Primary][Cooler Master Elite 430 Black][ASUS M4A88TD-M][Phenom II X6 1100T BE][Xigmatek HDT-S1283][4GB Corsair Vengeance LP1600][ASUS 6850 1GB][LG BH10LS30 10X][OCZ Agility 3 90GB & Segate 1TB][Windows 7 Ultimate 64]
[Server][Thermaltake Armour Jr][ASUS M2A-VA][Athlon X2 7750 BE][POS HSF][4GB Buffalo Select][HIS Radeon X1950 XT 256MB][LG DVD-RW][WD 160GB][Windows 7 Ultimate 64]
Oroka Sempai is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-06, 11:26 PM   #11
JustChill
Member

 
JustChill's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NorCal

 
Use nlite. Make a copy of the install disk with all the drivers you need on it. Its called slipstreaming and it is a sinch..... ohhh and nlite is free and there is more than enough info on how to do this on the web (google) but if not than PM me

__________________
AMD X6 1090T - 4.03ghz - 1.37v
Asus Crosshair IV Formula - 16 X 251 FSB
16 GB Patriot Sector 5 DDR3

GTX 260
ADATA S599 128GB SSD (OS and programs)
Corsair R60 SSD external USB3 (quick data transfer)
2 Cavair Black RAID 0 (short term storage)

1 1.5 TB green (long term storage and backup)
Win 7 X64 Enterprise
JustChill is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-05-06, 11:29 PM   #12
Captain Helghas
Member

 
Captain Helghas's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tallahassee, Fl

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oroka Sempai
I want a SATA burner :'( But I am not willing to pay that much for a burner right now
I still like to think that it's a conspiracy of mobo manufacturers to rid us of IDE.

__________________
Captain Helghas is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-06, 01:09 AM   #13
K15
Member

 
K15's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Helghas
I still like to think that it's a conspiracy of mobo manufacturers to rid us of IDE.

I am proud to be a part of it then, IDE cables need to die, die NOW

__________________
<CPU>AMD A64 3700+ 2.2ghz San Diego | <Motherboard>Asus A8N5X | <Case>Cooler Master Centurion 530 | <PSU>Antec TPll 380 watt | <Hard drive>Seagate 7200.9 SATA2 160GB | <RAM>1GB Kingmax DDR400 PC3200 | <Video card>Cheap ATI X300 PCI E16 (save money)
K15 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-06, 11:13 AM   #14
Oroka Sempai
Member

 
Oroka Sempai's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Port Elgin, Canada

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by K15
I am proud to be a part of it then, IDE cables need to die, die NOW
Yeah, even a bundled IDE is bulky... I am sure most of you have had your fingers in those really small HPs from the late 90s, not fun working around bulky IDE cables tucked in a tuna can.

__________________
[Primary][Cooler Master Elite 430 Black][ASUS M4A88TD-M][Phenom II X6 1100T BE][Xigmatek HDT-S1283][4GB Corsair Vengeance LP1600][ASUS 6850 1GB][LG BH10LS30 10X][OCZ Agility 3 90GB & Segate 1TB][Windows 7 Ultimate 64]
[Server][Thermaltake Armour Jr][ASUS M2A-VA][Athlon X2 7750 BE][POS HSF][4GB Buffalo Select][HIS Radeon X1950 XT 256MB][LG DVD-RW][WD 160GB][Windows 7 Ultimate 64]
Oroka Sempai is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-06, 08:18 PM   #15
snafumaster
Software Jedi

 
snafumaster's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South of Boston

 
I have to say, the days of floppies are not dead yet. Getting real close. Me with my three thumb drives of 512, 1GB and 2GB. I still install a floppy drive most of the time it makes things like bios updates much easier IMHO. I think you can get one new for about five to ten bucks. However, being that I do a lot of work on laptops, I find it very easy to just use a USB Floppy drive. Mostrelatively modern MoBos support them and I haven't seen a new one that doesn't in a while.

As fo your current issue, as it has already been stated, if you'r not using something like a PCI SATA or a RAID controller, you'll most likely have no problems with your install as far as drivers are concerned.
Quote:
Originally Posted by K15
I am proud to be a part of it then, IDE cables need to die, die NOW
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oroka Sempai
Yeah, even a bundled IDE is bulky... I am sure most of you have had your fingers in those really small HPs from the late 90s, not fun working around bulky IDE cables tucked in a tuna can.
I haven't baught a PATA HDD in some time now. They're so 98...LOL

__________________
I was going to edit my list of computers...but at this point it would look more like a spreadsheet. Let's just say; I've got one of those too.
[HEATWARE]

I must have a problem with all of my Windows machines...they never seem to crash.
snafumaster is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?