Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Random question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-08-06, 11:11 AM Thread Starter   #1
bobthemoo
Member

 
bobthemoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: England

 
Random question


Is it possible to put a password on the USB ports of my computer? I'm saying thid because my brother keeps coming in a stealing all my music and puts it on his ipod


thanks

__________________
E6850
2GB DDR2 Crucial RAM
Maxtor 200GB HD x2, Samsung 80GB HD
PNY 8800GTS 640Mb
Seasonic S-12 600w PSU


And my baby (Macbook)
bobthemoo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-06, 11:16 AM   #2
ErikD
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: NYC

 
Why not just password protect the PC?
ErikD is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-06, 11:32 AM   #3
Shadowhawk109
Member

 
Shadowhawk109's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: CS_Office

 
Realistically, if you wanted to just "lock out" your USB ports, there is a way, but it's waaaaaaaaaaaay more difficult than just password proctecting your PC.
Here goes-

On bootup, go into BIOS, and go into Integrated Periphials-i think. Turn OFF your USB ports...not just downgrade them to USB1.1. Then, password-protect BIOS.
Now, whenever your brother uses your computer, the USB ports won't even exist, and when you use your computer, you can just reenable them, but make sure you constantly turn them off and on if you do things this way.

Hope this helps!

__________________
LANBOY - Chaintech 7NJL6 Mobo || Athlon 2900+ Socket A Proccy @2Ghz || 1024MB RAM|| 320GB || Antec 350W PSU || GeForce 6800XT || WinXPSP2 / Vista
ALIEN - Abit SG-80 Mobo || Celeron D Socket 775 Proccy @ 3.2Ghz || 1024MB RAM || 80GB/15GB || Generic PSU || GeForce 7600GT || WinXPSP2 / Vista
VIDEO - Jetway V881DA Mobo || Athlon 2500+ Socket A Proccy @ 2Ghz || 1024MBRAM || 280GB || Generic PSU || GeForce 4000 || WinXPSP2
BETA - MSI K7N Mobo || Athlon 1000+ Socket A Proccy @1Ghz || 512B RAM || NO HDD || Generic PSU || Radeon 9200 ||
NO OS - DOWN
DOS - Socket 7 Mobo || Pentium 1 Socket 7 Proccy @ 133Mhz || 128MB RAM || 2x3GB || Generic PSU || Generic PCI || NO OS - DOWN
COMPAQ LAPTOP - Compaq Presario 1270 || AMD K6-2 @ 350Mhz || 160MB RAM || 5GB || NO PSU || ATI Rage LT Pro || FedoraCore4 / WinXP Pro
HP LAPTOP - HP Pavilion dv6119us || Turion X2 Dual Core @ 1.6Ghz || 1024MB RAM || 80GB || NO PSU || nVidia 6150 || WinXP MCE / Vista HP
MAC LAPTOP - iBook G3 || PowerPC G3 @ 600Mhz || 256MB RAM || 40GB || NO PSU || ATI Rage M6 || OS X 10.4.10 Tiger
Shadowhawk109 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-06, 11:47 AM Thread Starter   #4
bobthemoo
Member

 
bobthemoo's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: England

 
Hmmm, probably just easier to log off at night or whenever I'm not on.

__________________
E6850
2GB DDR2 Crucial RAM
Maxtor 200GB HD x2, Samsung 80GB HD
PNY 8800GTS 640Mb
Seasonic S-12 600w PSU


And my baby (Macbook)
bobthemoo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-06, 12:24 PM   #5
Shadowhawk109
Member

 
Shadowhawk109's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: CS_Office

 
is your compy already pass-protected for at least your account?
If so then go with the log off

__________________
LANBOY - Chaintech 7NJL6 Mobo || Athlon 2900+ Socket A Proccy @2Ghz || 1024MB RAM|| 320GB || Antec 350W PSU || GeForce 6800XT || WinXPSP2 / Vista
ALIEN - Abit SG-80 Mobo || Celeron D Socket 775 Proccy @ 3.2Ghz || 1024MB RAM || 80GB/15GB || Generic PSU || GeForce 7600GT || WinXPSP2 / Vista
VIDEO - Jetway V881DA Mobo || Athlon 2500+ Socket A Proccy @ 2Ghz || 1024MBRAM || 280GB || Generic PSU || GeForce 4000 || WinXPSP2
BETA - MSI K7N Mobo || Athlon 1000+ Socket A Proccy @1Ghz || 512B RAM || NO HDD || Generic PSU || Radeon 9200 ||
NO OS - DOWN
DOS - Socket 7 Mobo || Pentium 1 Socket 7 Proccy @ 133Mhz || 128MB RAM || 2x3GB || Generic PSU || Generic PCI || NO OS - DOWN
COMPAQ LAPTOP - Compaq Presario 1270 || AMD K6-2 @ 350Mhz || 160MB RAM || 5GB || NO PSU || ATI Rage LT Pro || FedoraCore4 / WinXP Pro
HP LAPTOP - HP Pavilion dv6119us || Turion X2 Dual Core @ 1.6Ghz || 1024MB RAM || 80GB || NO PSU || nVidia 6150 || WinXP MCE / Vista HP
MAC LAPTOP - iBook G3 || PowerPC G3 @ 600Mhz || 256MB RAM || 40GB || NO PSU || ATI Rage M6 || OS X 10.4.10 Tiger
Shadowhawk109 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?