Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

New Setup Pics!!!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-08-06, 11:11 PM Thread Starter   #1
Dragoon42
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005

 
New Setup Pics!!!


I gotta see if I can clean up the pics a bit. I used my camera phone. Anyways, finally setup my:

PA160
Socket A White Water Block
DD Maze4 GPU
50z Pump

How the heck can I tell what my temps are for my vid card (radeon 9800)?

Been running for 3 hours, asus probe has cpu temp ~25C
Dragoon42 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-06, 11:19 PM Thread Starter   #2
Dragoon42
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005

 
PICS!!!


All the parts:


Hooking up Radiator to AC Vent:


Leak Testing, btw is that zerex supposed to be purplish looking like that? (90distilled/10zerex):


I putting everything back into my case now. I prefilled everything and just stuck the entire loop through the bottom of the case:


If you're wondering how I stuck it through, here is how:


This is everything hooked up:


Computer pushed in front of the rad, and this is what the back looks like:
Dragoon42 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-06, 11:27 PM   #3
RIG RIDER
Member

 
RIG RIDER's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Roseburg, Oregon 97470

 
Does your A/C run all the time?
If not you will need some sort of air flow when the A/C is not on.
Got to love the Stacker for the room and flexibility, plus an open pwer supply bay to drop your loop through. Looks good.

__________________
Blacker Stacker
E6600*P5B Deluxe/WiFi mod*2x2GB Gskill PC2 8000*2x 74Gb Raptors/3x500GB Seagates*eVGA 8800 GT*2xMPC350,BIPII,BIP,Apogee ,Maze4,2xMCW30*Enermax565V-PE,Enermax350 slave*
Cooler Master Stacker,crossflow fan.

My Heatware
RIG RIDER is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-06, 11:39 PM Thread Starter   #4
Dragoon42
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RIG RIDER
Does your A/C run all the time?
If not you will need some sort of air flow when the A/C is not on.
Got to love the Stacker for the room and flexibility, plus an open pwer supply bay to drop your loop through. Looks good.

it runs almost 24/7. I might attach the shroud on to it, and use a panaflo m1a. I just need an extension cord so I can hook it up to my fan controller. That thing is beastly loud @ 12v
Dragoon42 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-06, 06:22 PM   #5
zebkoolindc
Member

 
zebkoolindc's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: MTU

 
Almost 24/7 proably won't cut it. When the fan shuts off you won't have any flow over your rad.

I have four large heater cores in my computer. I shut off the fan and in 20mins that water warmed up 5 degrees.

If your AC is off for an hour your computer might overheat
zebkoolindc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-06, 07:55 PM Thread Starter   #6
Dragoon42
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by zebkoolindc
Almost 24/7 proably won't cut it. When the fan shuts off you won't have any flow over your rad.

I have four large heater cores in my computer. I shut off the fan and in 20mins that water warmed up 5 degrees.

If your AC is off for an hour your computer might overheat

The highest i've seen it go is 32c. Then again, I can't check temps during the games. I'm using asusprobe. 31c now . When the AC hits, i've seen this thing go as low 25c
Dragoon42 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-06, 08:09 PM   #7
J-Mag
Member

 
J-Mag's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA

 
Are you in Australia or something, b/c around these parts it is getting colder, so the heat is more likely to be coming out than A/C.
J-Mag is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-06, 08:30 PM   #8
SolidxSnake
Member

 
SolidxSnake's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Massachusetts, USA

 
Cool setup. Probably coulda routed the tubes cleaner.

I would personally go

pump->cpu->rad->gpu->pump

or

pump->cpu->gpu->rad->pump

You look like you're using far much more tubing then you need.

Also, i'd put a 120mm fan sucking through the rad (take that sanyo out of your case and put it on the rad )

__________________
When I logon to Windows, I press Ctrl+Alt+ELITE
i7-2600 4001MHz @ 39x102.6~ASRock P67 Fatal1ty Professional~MSI N580GTX Lightning 1536MB @ 1000//2400 @ 1.149v~8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24~256GB Samsung 830 SSD and 60GB OCZ Vertex~2x Western Digital Caviar Green 1TBs in RAID1 ~BFG ES-800 PSU
Custom Watercooling Loop | Apogee GT, MCW82, MCP35x + Res, Thermochill PA120.2 and 120.3 (both rev1) w/ Gentle Typhoon AP-15s pull, 7/16"x5/8" MasterKleer, 100% Distilled Water with Iodine ---All encased in a Silverstone TJ07B-W
Join in on the fun! Heatware OCForums Metal Club member #13224

SolidxSnake is offline Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-10-06, 12:28 AM   #9
wun911
Member



Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Australia

 
There is a little L shaped bracket that holds your rad in place....

Did you drill a hole in your rad to fit that L shaped bracket?

I dont dare drill my rad im so afraid it will spring a leak
wun911 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-10-06, 01:36 AM   #10
Seven
Member

 
Seven's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Los Angeles

 
That's looking really good.

The radiator mounting is okay, just make sure some air is running (preferably cold). I do like that zerex too, very nice color, I'll keep it in mind for my next project.

7

__________________
HEAT!
Seven is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-10-06, 02:19 AM Thread Starter   #11
Dragoon42
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Mag
Are you in Australia or something, b/c around these parts it is getting colder, so the heat is more likely to be coming out than A/C.

No I live in Alabama. Close enough . I keep the house 73f year round.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SolidxSnake
Cool setup. Probably coulda routed the tubes cleaner.

I would personally go

pump->cpu->rad->gpu->pump

or

pump->cpu->gpu->rad->pump

You look like you're using far much more tubing then you need.

Also, i'd put a 120mm fan sucking through the rad (take that sanyo out of your case and put it on the rad )

I debated this for awhile. But figured i'd try this one out, and then when I upgrade, i'm gonna change it to: Pump->cpu->gpu->rad->pump

Quote:
Originally Posted by wun911
There is a little L shaped bracket that holds your rad in place....

Did you drill a hole in your rad to fit that L shaped bracket?

I dont dare drill my rad im so afraid it will spring a leak
No The thermochills have holes on both sides for the shrouds. I just bought an L bracket, and used a regular case fan screw to hold it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seven
That's looking really good.

The radiator mounting is okay, just make sure some air is running (preferably cold). I do like that zerex too, very nice color, I'll keep it in mind for my next project.

7
That's the first time I used zerex. I didn't put any dye or anything in it. I was wondering if that's the right color? (I just ordered it of the cool technica website). I'm attaching the shroud and panaflow fans on there. I went to the comp store by my house and they were sold out of the 3pin extensions. Gotta wait till tomorrow.

It's pretty much a steady 31c all day
Dragoon42 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-10-06, 01:12 PM   #12
J-Mag
Member

 
J-Mag's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoon42
No I live in Alabama. Close enough . I keep the house 73f year round.
OK well if it is 50f outside, then your vent will be pushing out heat and vent area will always have the highest temp in the house when you are running your heater. Essentially, it is not a good idea and would only be useful for mounting during the summer.
J-Mag is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-10-06, 01:40 PM   #13
Alien1099
Member

 
Alien1099's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ USA

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by wun911
There is a little L shaped bracket that holds your rad in place....

Did you drill a hole in your rad to fit that L shaped bracket?

I dont dare drill my rad im so afraid it will spring a leak
When I first got my watercooling system, my fans didn't have a shelf to simply put a short screw in for attachment. They had long tubes connecting both sides of the fan for some reason. So I grabbed a long screw and threaded the fan to the radiator through the top. The screw wound up being far too long and my radiator wound up LEAKING all over the floor of the computer! I was totally bummed out. It was a GT240 Stealth radiator, which isn't the cheapest. I wasn't looking forward to buying a new radiator (even a heatercore), so I grabbed some qwick cure JB weld and slathered it all over the area in the fins where the leak came from, which was under one of the mounting shelves for a fan on the radiator. It fixed it!
Alien1099 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?