Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Got the new OCZ Titanium Alpha VX2

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-12-06, 12:06 PM Thread Starter   #1
dominick32
Senior Solid State Aficionado

 
dominick32's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York

 
Got the new OCZ Titanium Alpha VX2


One of my Corsair 1066 modules decided to just fail and cease functioning a few days ago. I called Newegg Customer service and they worked out a bargain price for me on these sticks in return for my 1066 corsairs: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227138

1000 Mhz 4-4-4-15 timings. I will be doing a write up on them in a few weeks. I am hoping for at least 4-4-4-5 @ 2.4 volts and 1060 to 1120 mhz. Maybe a little 1200+ mhz action @ 5-5-5-15 I will definitely keep you guys posted.

These modules are extremely expensive, as well as my Corsair 1066 Extremes that just deceased but lets just say I got the OCZ's at a great price! I am still kicking myself for initially spending over $300 on memory but I am forced to fork up high dollar to keep up with my Vapochill LS clocks and FSB. Especially when encroaching 1:1 500 FSB. If your ram cant run a solid 1000 mhz stable, youre not moving anywhere on your OC.

**Updates**

Maximum stablity so far:
3-3-3-8 @ 2.3 volts - 402mhz ( DDR2-804 )
4-4-4-15 @ 2.3 volts - 551 mhz ( DDR2-1102 )
5-5-5-15 @ 2.25 volts - 626 mhz ( DDR2-1252)


I have only modified primary timings. Can anyone make Intel platform subtimgs recommendations for me? This is the first time I have owned an Intel processor since the PentiumIII-800 days. So, I am used to AMD sub's and memory configs.

These are my current timings, please recommend changes to increase performance on an Intel platform. Thanks:
Attached Images
 

__________________
Next Level Hardware
Solid State Drive Technology Discussion Thread
...3770k@4.5 GHz...Noctua Dh14...Asus z77 dlx...Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB... ARES 8Gb 2x4....
crossfire 2 x diamond 6970's at stock clocks...4TB x2 in raid 1...corsair hx1050 psu...

Dominick32 states "Bow down to your SSD god dominick32 and kiss my feet which are actually made of pure light.
Jason4207 Responds: "Upon closer inspection to go in for that foot kiss I'm noticing that the 'light' isn't doing you any justice.

This should help. :) Circa 2010

Last edited by dominick32; 10-25-06 at 11:28 AM.
dominick32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 11:27 AM Thread Starter   #2
dominick32
Senior Solid State Aficionado

 
dominick32's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York

 
**Updates**

Maximum stablity so far:
3-3-3-8 @ 2.3 volts - 402mhz ( DDR2-804 )
4-4-4-15 @ 2.3 volts - 551 mhz ( DDR2-1102 )
5-5-5-15 @ 2.25 volts - 626 mhz ( DDR2-1252)


I have only modified primary timings. Can anyone make Intel platform subtimgs recommendations for me? This is the first time I have owned an Intel processor since the PentiumIII-800 days. So, I am used to AMD sub's and memory configs.

These are my current timings, please recommend changes to increase performance on an Intel platform. Thanks:
Attached Images
 

__________________
Next Level Hardware
Solid State Drive Technology Discussion Thread
...3770k@4.5 GHz...Noctua Dh14...Asus z77 dlx...Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB... ARES 8Gb 2x4....
crossfire 2 x diamond 6970's at stock clocks...4TB x2 in raid 1...corsair hx1050 psu...

Dominick32 states "Bow down to your SSD god dominick32 and kiss my feet which are actually made of pure light.
Jason4207 Responds: "Upon closer inspection to go in for that foot kiss I'm noticing that the 'light' isn't doing you any justice.

This should help. :) Circa 2010

Last edited by dominick32; 10-25-06 at 11:35 AM.
dominick32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 12:00 PM   #3
RedDragonXXX
Senior RAM Pornographer

 
RedDragonXXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL

 
Looking good

Damn, I just saw a price on these

I can build a decent rig for that much $
RedDragonXXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 12:06 PM Thread Starter   #4
dominick32
Senior Solid State Aficionado

 
dominick32's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedDragonXXX
Looking good

Damn, I just saw a price on these

I can build a decent rig for that much $
Believe me, I did not pay full price for these. I was in a little bind with Neweggs customer service and RMA procedure. They took care of me on these sticks.

Back on topic: Take a look at my memset shot. Can you make any recommendations for me as far subtimings go?

Thanks man!

__________________
Next Level Hardware
Solid State Drive Technology Discussion Thread
...3770k@4.5 GHz...Noctua Dh14...Asus z77 dlx...Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB... ARES 8Gb 2x4....
crossfire 2 x diamond 6970's at stock clocks...4TB x2 in raid 1...corsair hx1050 psu...

Dominick32 states "Bow down to your SSD god dominick32 and kiss my feet which are actually made of pure light.
Jason4207 Responds: "Upon closer inspection to go in for that foot kiss I'm noticing that the 'light' isn't doing you any justice.

This should help. :) Circa 2010

Last edited by dominick32; 10-25-06 at 12:27 PM.
dominick32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 12:27 PM   #5
RedDragonXXX
Senior RAM Pornographer

 
RedDragonXXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL

 
My next stop would be 4-5-4-15 with 2.3Vdimm and 560MHz and work up.
RedDragonXXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 12:29 PM Thread Starter   #6
dominick32
Senior Solid State Aficionado

 
dominick32's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedDragonXXX
My next stop would be 4-5-4-15 with 2.3Vdimm and 560MHz and work up.
I am talking about subtimings, not primarys bro. I'd like to stick with my primarys for now. Thanks Red.

__________________
Next Level Hardware
Solid State Drive Technology Discussion Thread
...3770k@4.5 GHz...Noctua Dh14...Asus z77 dlx...Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB... ARES 8Gb 2x4....
crossfire 2 x diamond 6970's at stock clocks...4TB x2 in raid 1...corsair hx1050 psu...

Dominick32 states "Bow down to your SSD god dominick32 and kiss my feet which are actually made of pure light.
Jason4207 Responds: "Upon closer inspection to go in for that foot kiss I'm noticing that the 'light' isn't doing you any justice.

This should help. :) Circa 2010
dominick32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 12:34 PM   #7
RedDragonXXX
Senior RAM Pornographer

 
RedDragonXXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL

 
From my analysis (on DDR) and extensive tweaking subtimings rarely made any impact from changing them back from default settings.

I'm no big expert on DDR2 so I'm not sure if it's the same case
RedDragonXXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 12:40 PM Thread Starter   #8
dominick32
Senior Solid State Aficionado

 
dominick32's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedDragonXXX
From my analysis (on DDR) and extensive tweaking subtimings rarely made any impact from changing them back from default settings.

I'm no big expert on DDR2 so I'm not sure if it's the same case
When I was making 4.3/4.4 Ghz SuperPi1m shots under phase change. Tweaking one value (TRFC) in subtimings actually had an impact on score by a few miliseconds. It all helps a tad.

Thanks anyway. Maybe someone will chime in with regards to DDR2.

__________________
Next Level Hardware
Solid State Drive Technology Discussion Thread
...3770k@4.5 GHz...Noctua Dh14...Asus z77 dlx...Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB... ARES 8Gb 2x4....
crossfire 2 x diamond 6970's at stock clocks...4TB x2 in raid 1...corsair hx1050 psu...

Dominick32 states "Bow down to your SSD god dominick32 and kiss my feet which are actually made of pure light.
Jason4207 Responds: "Upon closer inspection to go in for that foot kiss I'm noticing that the 'light' isn't doing you any justice.

This should help. :) Circa 2010
dominick32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 12:44 PM   #9
RedDragonXXX
Senior RAM Pornographer

 
RedDragonXXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL

 
Wish I could help you, but I have been out of the RAM game for over a year now so never had time to catch up with DDR2.

Hope these work out for your in a best way
RedDragonXXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 12:47 PM Thread Starter   #10
dominick32
Senior Solid State Aficionado

 
dominick32's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedDragonXXX
Wish I could help you, but I have been out of the RAM game for over a year now so never had time to catch up with DDR2.

Hope these work out for your in a best way
Hey, thanks alot man. I really appreciate it. Take a look in the Intel section in about a week. I should have my next big thread starting up: E6700 on Phase.

I just got my Vapochill modified by Jinu117 and the temperature drop was incredible. I dont think it will be readable on the stock Vapo LCD... too low... hehe

Anyway, may I ask why youre out of the ram game?

__________________
Next Level Hardware
Solid State Drive Technology Discussion Thread
...3770k@4.5 GHz...Noctua Dh14...Asus z77 dlx...Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB... ARES 8Gb 2x4....
crossfire 2 x diamond 6970's at stock clocks...4TB x2 in raid 1...corsair hx1050 psu...

Dominick32 states "Bow down to your SSD god dominick32 and kiss my feet which are actually made of pure light.
Jason4207 Responds: "Upon closer inspection to go in for that foot kiss I'm noticing that the 'light' isn't doing you any justice.

This should help. :) Circa 2010
dominick32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 12:56 PM   #11
Mv830
Member

 
Mv830's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2006

 
So what is so good about them. I see you have good timings but is there any other reason why they are so expensive that i am just not noticing?
Mv830 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 01:08 PM Thread Starter   #12
dominick32
Senior Solid State Aficionado

 
dominick32's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mv830
So what is so good about them. I see you have good timings but is there any other reason why they are so expensive that i am just not noticing?
All it is premium binned ram with high frequency and low latency. Usually when buying ram you try and sacrifice either low latency or high frequency. Because of the incredibly high price of ram, its usually either one or the other. Premium stock will get you high Mhz and low latency like these modules. I had the original gskill HZ DDR2-800's and the biggest reason for myself needing the crazy UBER priced modules was the ability to run over 500 FSB with a 1:1 memory setup pushing tighter timings (4-4-4 not 5-5-5). I wanted low latency memory capable of very high frequency 550mhz to 600mhz at stock voltage (within warranty).

Thats basically where high priced premium binned stuff comes into play. If you are not extreme cooling I see no reason in hell to buy sticks like these. Hell, if I needed to buy these for full price theres no way I would.

Currently the Gskill HZ's and the Teamgroup 667's are great choices for air/water setups.

__________________
Next Level Hardware
Solid State Drive Technology Discussion Thread
...3770k@4.5 GHz...Noctua Dh14...Asus z77 dlx...Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB... ARES 8Gb 2x4....
crossfire 2 x diamond 6970's at stock clocks...4TB x2 in raid 1...corsair hx1050 psu...

Dominick32 states "Bow down to your SSD god dominick32 and kiss my feet which are actually made of pure light.
Jason4207 Responds: "Upon closer inspection to go in for that foot kiss I'm noticing that the 'light' isn't doing you any justice.

This should help. :) Circa 2010
dominick32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 01:11 PM   #13
Mv830
Member

 
Mv830's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2006

 
I just bought my friends teamgroup but I wont be able to use it for a while til I buy the rest of my computer pieces. The wait is tiresome
Mv830 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 01:14 PM   #14
RedDragonXXX
Senior RAM Pornographer

 
RedDragonXXX's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominick32
Hey, thanks alot man. I really appreciate it. Take a look in the Intel section in about a week. I should have my next big thread starting up: E6700 on Phase.

I just got my Vapochill modified by Jinu117 and the temperature drop was incredible. I dont think it will be readable on the stock Vapo LCD... too low... hehe

Anyway, may I ask why youre out of the ram game?
Just don't have as much as time as I used to with school and everything else. I'll get back in it once things get stable again.

I saw your thread in cooling section about Vapochill unit, some crazy stuff

You should be able to hit 10s in PI like nothing.
RedDragonXXX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 04:37 PM   #15
Volt
Member

 
Volt's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenix, Arizona

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by dominick32
All it is premium binned ram with high frequency and low latency. Usually when buying ram you try and sacrifice either low latency or high frequency. Because of the incredibly high price of ram, its usually either one or the other. Premium stock will get you high Mhz and low latency like these modules. I had the original gskill HZ DDR2-800's and the biggest reason for myself needing the crazy UBER priced modules was the ability to run over 500 FSB with a 1:1 memory setup pushing tighter timings (4-4-4 not 5-5-5). I wanted low latency memory capable of very high frequency 550mhz to 600mhz at stock voltage (within warranty).

Thats basically where high priced premium binned stuff comes into play. If you are not extreme cooling I see no reason in hell to buy sticks like these. Hell, if I needed to buy these for full price theres no way I would.

Currently the Gskill HZ's and the Teamgroup 667's are great choices for air/water setups.
You helped to answer a question I have.

If I can't get my FSB on a 1:1 memory set up over 430(with DDR2-800 would mean 860Mhz, correct?), it would be pointless to purchase memory capable of higher Mhz, is that right? Such as the Corsair 8500's or TEAM 1000's?

If you can't get your FSB with a 1:1 ratio up to or over the stock Mhz of the RAM, you aren't utilizing the full capacity of the memory. Is my logic correct here?

I've been reading everything I can on DDR2 memory and still find it a little confusing.
Volt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 05:21 PM Thread Starter   #16
dominick32
Senior Solid State Aficionado

 
dominick32's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volt
You helped to answer a question I have.

If I can't get my FSB on a 1:1 memory set up over 430(with DDR2-800 would mean 860Mhz, correct?), it would be pointless to purchase memory capable of higher Mhz, is that right? Such as the Corsair 8500's or TEAM 1000's?

If you can't get your FSB with a 1:1 ratio up to or over the stock Mhz of the RAM, you aren't utilizing the full capacity of the memory. Is my logic correct here?

I've been reading everything I can on DDR2 memory and still find it a little confusing.
Basically you shouldnt have any problem at all since you are on an X6800 with an upwards unlocked multiplier. The problem exists with people that have e6600's on phase, etc.

Lets say theoretically your E6600 processor had the capability to clock 4.54 Ghz. And your motherboard had the capability to clock 505 FSB. That would put your multiplier at 9 X and your FSB at 505.

505 = 4.54 Ghz.

So only having a maximum of a 9x multi on the E6600 limits ones ability to use cheap ram. You would need to run your memory on a 1:1 setup and you would need memory capable of 100% stable DDR2-1010 or 505mhz each stick. Under phase cooling you would also want memory that could clock 1010mhz and have lower latency 4-4-4. Most of the cheaper 667 and 800 D9's can clock 1010 mhz (thats not a problem) but a lot of them will need you to loosen up timings to 5-5-5 and bump up voltage on the sticks. With premium binned stock you can run 4-4-4 and clock upwards of DDR2-1150 mhz sometimes.

Now, would it be pointless for you to purchase uber priced memory? Thats up to you. Since you have an X6800 you can simply use a 12X multi and avoid memory issues completely. You could run 12 X 380 FSB 1:1 or even use a divider to increase ram frequency to over 400 mhz (DDR2-800)

Since you do have an X6800 to have the ultimate phase change setup (with money being out of the equation) you could definitely by a premium binned UBER priced set of sticks and run them at a lower multi on a 1:1 setup to achieve super high ram frequency and tight timings ultimately increaseing the overall performance of your system.

Example: 9 X 505 with the memory running at DDR2-1010 and 4-4-4 timings.
Rather than a cheaper set that would produce 9 X 505 DDR2-1010 at 5-5-5 timings. Its a big money issue: Do you pay for latency? or do you pay for frequency? or do you spend almost twice that amount of money and pay for both low latency and high frequency.

Sorry for the splurge of information. I had a nice big cup of coffee today.

__________________
Next Level Hardware
Solid State Drive Technology Discussion Thread
...3770k@4.5 GHz...Noctua Dh14...Asus z77 dlx...Samsung 840 Pro 256 GB... ARES 8Gb 2x4....
crossfire 2 x diamond 6970's at stock clocks...4TB x2 in raid 1...corsair hx1050 psu...

Dominick32 states "Bow down to your SSD god dominick32 and kiss my feet which are actually made of pure light.
Jason4207 Responds: "Upon closer inspection to go in for that foot kiss I'm noticing that the 'light' isn't doing you any justice.

This should help. :) Circa 2010

Last edited by dominick32; 10-25-06 at 05:26 PM.
dominick32 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-25-06, 06:14 PM   #17
Volt
Member

 
Volt's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenix, Arizona

 
Thanks for all the info. I'd rather have too much than not enough. I'll just remember to buy you a double espresso next time I need help.

I'll mess around with the memory I have now and see what I can achieve. Building a new PC in the next couple of months, so I'll probably get some higher freq. RAM at that time.

Thanks again man!
Volt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-27-06, 02:04 PM   #18
fritzman
Member

 
fritzman's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Tauranga - New Zealand

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volt
Building a new PC in the next couple of months, so I'll probably get some higher freq. RAM at that time.
Dang... what you have in your sig. leaves most of us out in the cold!


Dom... as always... great info and UBER Ram!

__________________
Office Rig : 3770k (4.5@1.25vcore), H100, EVGA Z77 FTW, 2 x 8Gb G.Skill Ripjaw 2133's, EVGA GTX580 SC, 240Gb Revo3x2 with W8 Pro 64-bit, Antec P180 case with an Antec TPQ1000 psu
WHS : Intel G620/Z68 UD4, 16Gb 1600 ram, Velo 600Gb running WHS2011, LSI MegaRAID 9260-8i with 8 x 3Tb Hitachis in Raid6
fritzman is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-27-06, 02:46 PM   #19
MadMan007
Magical Leopluridon Senior

 
MadMan007's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: in a magical field

10 Year Badge
 
I'd be curious to see the effects of increased fsb:ram ratio. I saw a few hints that it might increase overall performance a la P4s which just love raw bandwidth. If that's true upclocking ram with a divider with looser timings might be worth it and might make the high-end ram have a use even without phase. I'll try to find the info again..

__________________
There are three sides to any argument - side A, side B, and the Truth

"This had better be frikkin' important. Is the meadow on fire?"
MadMan007 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-27-06, 03:17 PM   #20
jtjuska
Member

 
jtjuska's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Twin Cities, MN

 
Congrats on the RAM Dom, I am in a bind myself as to what to do. I am glad that you came up with something that works well for you!!

~jtjuska

__________________
Mountain Mods U2-UFO
MCMicro -> DDC -> Apogee -> MCW30 -> PA120.3
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E2140
Intel C2D E6600 @ 3.86Ghz **RETIRED**
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3P
G.Skill DDR2800 2x2GB
HIS HD3870 ICEQ3
WD Raptor WD740GD
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750w
jtjuska is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?