• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

anyone succesfuly OC a laptop?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
I know this question was probably asked 1,000 times before, but has anyone done it? tried clockgen, no luck. Anything else I should try? I dont need to adjust voltages or anything, Im only going for a 200mhz increase. The laptop is in my sig.

If I remember correctly some laptops you could increase the FSB (400 to 533 or something) by soldering something or connecting something. I'm sure it was for the Pentium-M chips.

I was afraid of something like that. Im not very good at sodering. pencilmods are fine though. But ill look into that. any other ideas?

Well the Pentium-M chips didn't require soldering, there was a simple pin-wire mod whereby you shorted two pins together with a thin strand of wire to trick the motherboard into thinking it was a 533fsb chip.

If you do a search you should find plenty of examples.

o joy. and this is my backup computer. its modding like that i dont want to risk (with the whole voltmod thing). im not gonna risk it since i cant aford another laptop right now, and my desktop is currently fubar (can i say that?). But thanks anyway.

Hi,

You can't pin-mod an IBM T40. It uses the 855PM chipset and it only runs at 400Mhz.

Said that, chances are that you can gain a few Mhz from this lappy with SETFSB. You should try with the module for the IBM ThinkPad X31. In most cases it will work, as long as yours has the same PLL clock generator, as many of the T40's seem to have.