• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help O/C'ing a x6800 Please Help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Fathom18

Registered
Hello all, I'm pretty new to the OC'ing scene and these forums. These forums rock btw, and many helpful people here who are very knowledgable.

I read a lot of guides on how to overclock, I think the issue with me is I don't really understand the fsb:ram ratio thing. I was wondering if anyone who has similar parts to me can assist me with settings in Bios I can change to help me overclock to the highest clock, and keep a 1:1 fsb:ram ratio.

Here are my computer spec.

1. ASUS P5W DH DELUXE/WIFI-AP Socket T (LGA 775) Intel 975X ATX Intel Motherboard
2. Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800 Conroe 2.93GHz LGA 775 Processor
3. ATI Radeon X1950 CrossFire Edition 512MB GDDR4 PCI Express x16 CrossFire Video Card
4. ATI Radeon X1950 CrossFire 512MB GDDR4 PCI Express x16 CrossFire Video Card
5. OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXSSLI ATX12V 700W Power Supply
6. x2 CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory
7. Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Platinum 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card
8. Lian Li PC75 Black Computer Case
9. 2 WD Raptor drives 80gb Raid 0
10. Pioneer DvD burner
11. Innovatek Watercooling

P.S my computer won't recognize my 4GB of ram, does anyone know why? It only shows up as 2GB, and PC 5400 instead of 6400.

holy smokes, that is a monster PC you have there. i'm not to up on the p5w-dh, so i'm sure others can give you a better understanding of the BIOS settings, but the basics apply to all mobos.

first, you are going to want to disable all cpu "features". this is power saving stuff that you don't want or need.

then, make sure your pci-e is set to 101mhz, and pci is locked to 33.33mhz.