Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

FIRE!!! Almost:) Tale of Terror!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-02-06, 09:07 PM Thread Starter   #1
GreenJelly
Member

 
GreenJelly's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2006

 
FIRE!!! Almost:) Tale of Terror!


I was attempting to re-install Windows 64xp, from a copied disk. I have a legal license (actually 5 of them), but the original disk is kept with my father. Burned copies of Windows 64xp dont work. Im sure I can get one to work with a bit of experimentation. So I pull out my Floppy drive, plug it in, and try to get the Windows to work. Lets just say it didnt.

I unplugged the cord from my SoundBlaster Front plate as the power source for the floppy. After giving up in the installation I plugged back into the X-Fi. It uses a floppy disk type power cord. I reached into the cramped corner between my radiator and my SB Frontpanel. I plugged it in and turned on my computer.

Quickly Smoke started rising from one of the wires... "Oh SHIP" I thought, as one hand fumble for the front power button, and the other for the power cord. Power OFF! Damage was caused by having the plug over one, so the 5v or 3v was on one of the grounds. DOH

Fried the wirers, and I dont think it ruined the device due to the quick short circuit between the two grounds. Havent gotten a replacement wire to plug the thing back in to test it.

Noob mistake, made by a hurried individual. Nothing was ruined, just a black pin on the SB Frontpannel and a few bare wires. I wouldnt recomend doing this yourself

I figure a mistake like this could ruin everything that is on that circuit, plus the powersupply. The PSU survived, and no HD's or Optical Drives were destroyed. Videocard works and everything else looks good

Wish me luck on the pannel, hate to RMA it. I must publically embarrass myself so that you guys may think twice about doing what I did. MAKE SURE YOU CHECK THOOSE FLOPPY BASED POWER CORDS!

Mike

__________________
Monster: Q9550, Corsair 18000, Asus Maximus Extreme, XFX 5870, X-Fi, 700w Seasonic PSU, 2xBR-DVD, 1xDVD-RW, WD 1TB Black, Seagate 2x500GB (Raid 0), Coolermaster Stacker Black, CoolRad-32T Triple 120mm Radiator, MCP655, STORM Rev 2, Tyee, XSPC Passive 250mm Reservoir, T-Type Temp Probe
HTPC: Core 2 Duo x6400, 800mhz Corsair Memory, Asus P5B, Radeon 2600, Asus HDAV 1.3 Deluxe, NEO 550, Microsoft Remote Receiver, Logitech 880, WD 250, DVD Drive Seagate 500gb, Silverstone SST-LC03V Lascala Series HTPC Case w/VFD BLACK, TT External Radiator, Alphacool AGB-Eheim 600 Station Submerged Pump, Alphacool NexXxoS XP CPU Water Block, 8mm Tube
Multimedia: 4xB&W 603 s2, LCR600, ASW1000, LCD TV 37" (TBA), 2xAcer LCD 17", Marantz SR7300
Dolphin (Wifes): x6800, Gigabyte MB, 500MB Hard Drive, 4GB Corsair 800Mhz DDR2, XFX 8800gtx
Beast (Server): Gigabyte 965G MB, Celeron, 2 Gig Memory, Accusys 61010 RAID Card, 200MB System HD, 12x500GB (RAID 6), 4x3TB (RAID 5), Windows Home Server 2011, XBox 360 DVD
GreenJelly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-06, 09:57 PM   #2
Shell
Member

 
Shell's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: CYYZ Pearson

 

I've done worse... but that was on purpose.

Even worse is when somehow manage to plug in a 40amp, 12v rail... backwards into your floppy drive. The PSU was fine, but the floppy drive caught on fire.

__________________
FX-6300@4.5GHz, 7770, 2x4GB DDR3-1600 CL8, PCP&C 400w, 2x1TB
i5-4690K@4.5GHz, 7850, 2x4GB DDR3-2400 CL10, Seasonic G-550, 2x1TB
Shell is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-02-06, 10:15 PM   #3
neonblingbling
Member

 
neonblingbling's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenJelly
hate to RMA it
Then don't. You broke it, you should deal with it. RMA stuff that was a manufacturer's mistake, not your own.

__________________
[HEAT] - Sony SZ650 /// T7500 /// 3 GB ram /// 8400M GS /// OCZ Vertex 2 60GB ded :(
neonblingbling is offline Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 01:31 AM   #4
redrumy3
Member

 
redrumy3's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by neonblingbling
Then don't. You broke it, you should deal with it. RMA stuff that was a manufacturer's mistake, not your own.
yea...but im sure you and everyone would rma to.. lol

__________________
Corsair H80
i5 4670K 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-1600 1.50v
Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H F10
Evga GTX 770 4GB | SamSung Evo 120GB SSD
Evga 850W G2 | Asus Xonar Essence STX
Beyerdynamic DT-990 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz
SteelSeries Rival | Razer BlackWidow Ultimate | Corsair 760T
Windows 8.1 Update 1 64-Bit
redrumy3 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 02:54 AM   #5
neonblingbling
Member

 
neonblingbling's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2004

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrumy3
yea...but im sure you and everyone would rma to.. lol
I make sure I don't break anything I can't replace.

Or at least make sure I can afford to upgrade.

__________________
[HEAT] - Sony SZ650 /// T7500 /// 3 GB ram /// 8400M GS /// OCZ Vertex 2 60GB ded :(
neonblingbling is offline Heatware Profile Rosetta Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 09:10 AM Thread Starter   #6
GreenJelly
Member

 
GreenJelly's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2006

 
I doubt I broke it... I will let you know... and I have no problems RMAing stuff like this. It is my mistake, but it is their design that allows for this mistake. They should have used the standard plug (which is impossible to screw up) or they should have used a fan type plug (again, its impossible to screw up)

Poor Design = Mistakes, which means they are also responsible... though I have to admit this wasnt the smartest thing Ive done.

Im almost 100% positive that they take both ground wirers and immediately combind them before going into the circutry. In addition, non of the compacitors or any part apears to be burned. If it fried the wire, then it would leave a mark on the circuit. Which it didnt. We wont know for sure until the weekend, when I can get another power cable for it.

__________________
Monster: Q9550, Corsair 18000, Asus Maximus Extreme, XFX 5870, X-Fi, 700w Seasonic PSU, 2xBR-DVD, 1xDVD-RW, WD 1TB Black, Seagate 2x500GB (Raid 0), Coolermaster Stacker Black, CoolRad-32T Triple 120mm Radiator, MCP655, STORM Rev 2, Tyee, XSPC Passive 250mm Reservoir, T-Type Temp Probe
HTPC: Core 2 Duo x6400, 800mhz Corsair Memory, Asus P5B, Radeon 2600, Asus HDAV 1.3 Deluxe, NEO 550, Microsoft Remote Receiver, Logitech 880, WD 250, DVD Drive Seagate 500gb, Silverstone SST-LC03V Lascala Series HTPC Case w/VFD BLACK, TT External Radiator, Alphacool AGB-Eheim 600 Station Submerged Pump, Alphacool NexXxoS XP CPU Water Block, 8mm Tube
Multimedia: 4xB&W 603 s2, LCR600, ASW1000, LCD TV 37" (TBA), 2xAcer LCD 17", Marantz SR7300
Dolphin (Wifes): x6800, Gigabyte MB, 500MB Hard Drive, 4GB Corsair 800Mhz DDR2, XFX 8800gtx
Beast (Server): Gigabyte 965G MB, Celeron, 2 Gig Memory, Accusys 61010 RAID Card, 200MB System HD, 12x500GB (RAID 6), 4x3TB (RAID 5), Windows Home Server 2011, XBox 360 DVD
GreenJelly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 10:40 AM   #7
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrumy3
yea...but im sure you and everyone would rma to.. lol
I wouldn't, and I think you'll find a lot of people around here are very ethical about their rmas/warranties.

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 10:54 AM   #8
FlailBoy
Member

 
FlailBoy's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Not at the Fest...

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnufsh
I wouldn't, and I think you'll find a lot of people around here are very ethical about their rmas/warranties.
Neither would I.

If you are reasonably sure there was a pre-existing defect, that's fine...but it sounds like this was a result of something you did.

__________________
Phenom II X4 965 BE C-3, 207*19.5~4036@1.40v, CM EVO, Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3(F6), CPU NB VID@1.25v, G.SKILL Ripjaws DDR3 1600 2x8GB, 9,9,9,24,1T@1.55v, 1GB EVGA Geforce GTX560Ti, SB Audigy 2 ZS, 1x1TB & 1x250GB WD caviar blue 7200RPM, Rosewill CAPSTONE 550W, Rosewill Blackhawk mid-tower, Win7Pro 64bit, SP1
-EPOX 8kra2+, XP-M 2600+, IQYHA 0447-226*10.5~2373@1.75v (retired)
-EPOX 8k9a2+, AMD 2100+, AIUHB 0302-188*12~2264@1.675v (out to pasture)

Heat
You should see if you can launch yourself across a lake. -drenader
FlailBoy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 10:57 AM   #9
JimmyG
Member

 
JimmyG's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Michigan

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenJelly
... It is my mistake, but it is their design that allows for this mistake. They should have used the standard plug (which is impossible to screw up) or they should have used a fan type plug (again, its impossible to screw up)

Poor Design = Mistakes, which means they are also responsible... though I have to admit this wasnt the smartest thing Ive done. ...
I am sure that the manufacturer will take exception to this statement. I would expect that the connector is clearly marked as to orientation. They would not accept your statement that it is "Poor Design."

The American letigious society has gone overboard toward blaming their own mistakes on others. I hope this trend stops or we will become an extinct society.

__________________
Main Computer: INTEL 2600K; ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe; 850W Corsair; Antec P280 case;16 Gigs Corsair Vengance;EVGA 560 TI; 120 INTEL SSD; 2x500Gig WD HD; op system: Win 7-64; Backup computer:INTEL Q6600; 650W Corsair in Antec P180 Case; 4 Gigs RAM; EVGA GT430; Gigibyte P45T-ES3G mobo; 1x200 GB WD; 2x160 GB WD; 1x1GB WD. Operating system: Win 7 -64. ***Avatar by Gresyth***
JimmyG is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 11:07 AM   #10
DvBoard
Member

 
DvBoard's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mars

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenJelly
I doubt I broke it... I will let you know... and I have no problems RMAing stuff like this. It is my mistake, but it is their design that allows for this mistake. They should have used the standard plug (which is impossible to screw up) or they should have used a fan type plug (again, its impossible to screw up)

Poor Design = Mistakes, which means they are also responsible... though I have to admit this wasnt the smartest thing Ive done.

Im almost 100% positive that they take both ground wirers and immediately combind them before going into the circutry. In addition, non of the compacitors or any part apears to be burned. If it fried the wire, then it would leave a mark on the circuit. Which it didnt. We wont know for sure until the weekend, when I can get another power cable for it.
Poor design? Design assumes someone know how to plug in a clearly labeled power plug. You can't design for stupidity and functionality at the same time. You have to assume some level of ability in the user. If you don't have that ability it should be you who takes the blame when you mess it up.

Sure we all do stupid stuff time to time, but take YOUR blame for it. It's YOUR fault because the reason for the fault was incorrect installation. It has NOTHING to do with the design in this case.

__________________
*Dead* CPU:Intel Pentium 4 (Northwood) 2400MHz with the 533MHz Bus Speed.; Mobo:First International Computer, Inc. (FIC) Motherboard, model: VI13, Chipset: Sis645DX, BIOS: Phoenix Technologies, LTD version 6.00PG; GPU:ATi Radeon 9000Pro (128MB) Video card (4x AGP); RAM:1 stick 512MB PC2700 (166MHz) Xerox RAM; 1 stick 512MB PC3200 (200MHz) Corsair RAM; HD's:WD 250 Gig HD (x2); Optical:Lite-On DVD+/-RW, DVD-Rom; PSU:Antec SL400; OS:Windows XP

*Current Rig* CPU:E6600; Mobo:Asus P5B Deluxe; GPU:ATi Radeon HD 4870 w/1GB GDDR5 (PCI Express); RAM: (2 x 1GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400PRO & (2 x 1GB) PC2-6400 DDR2 Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400; HD's:(2x 320GB) Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 SATA Drive & (2x 500GB) Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 SATA Drive & (2x 250GB) WD IDE Drive; Optical: Lite-on SATA DVD +/- RW & Lite-on IDE DVD +/- RW; PSU:Corsair 520HX; OS:XP; Case:Thermaltake Armor;
DvBoard is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 02:24 PM   #11
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
If plug orientation matters, it should be designed so that it can only plug in one way, because you know somebody is going to mess it up. However, I thought floppy power connectors were keyed. It takes a fair amount of work to plug them in offset, afaik.

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 02:35 PM   #12
Neuromancer
Member

 
Neuromancer's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tau'ri

 
About 4 years ago I was having trouble plugging in a floppy disk drive, I figured I was doing it wrong and flipped the power plug and it slid right on.

Powered up and poof. I let out the magic blue smoke

Fried that floppy and the FDD controller I think. Later on that same mobo I used the mobo in an old proliant server case but didnt remove one of the old mounts and scrambled the bios.

Somehow that board managed to revive it self, I learned about Ctrl+home to boot straight to bios flash and updated the BIOS and it was fine

Crazy. I been real lucky (smart?) since then.
Neuromancer is offline Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 06:17 PM Thread Starter   #13
GreenJelly
Member

 
GreenJelly's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2006

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimmyG
The American letigious society has gone overboard toward blaming their own mistakes on others. I hope this trend stops or we will become an extinct society.
I build programs that are not prone to errors. If user errors occur, then I take responsibility for the issue as a mistake or misleading user interface. Step up and design products that cant be screwed up by user error, or face the consiquences.

Again, this is all assuming the device doesnt work, but it appears that their is no damage to the device. I wont know for awhile... I just wanted to remind everyone to watch what their doing. Dont do what I did

The connector on the device is not a closed connector. It is just open pins with no prevention to errors. In my case its hard to check the connector, and I did feel around for any pins sticking out... didnt feel anything, so I thought it was in right...

Maybe it was in right, and the device shorted.

Mike

Mike

__________________
Monster: Q9550, Corsair 18000, Asus Maximus Extreme, XFX 5870, X-Fi, 700w Seasonic PSU, 2xBR-DVD, 1xDVD-RW, WD 1TB Black, Seagate 2x500GB (Raid 0), Coolermaster Stacker Black, CoolRad-32T Triple 120mm Radiator, MCP655, STORM Rev 2, Tyee, XSPC Passive 250mm Reservoir, T-Type Temp Probe
HTPC: Core 2 Duo x6400, 800mhz Corsair Memory, Asus P5B, Radeon 2600, Asus HDAV 1.3 Deluxe, NEO 550, Microsoft Remote Receiver, Logitech 880, WD 250, DVD Drive Seagate 500gb, Silverstone SST-LC03V Lascala Series HTPC Case w/VFD BLACK, TT External Radiator, Alphacool AGB-Eheim 600 Station Submerged Pump, Alphacool NexXxoS XP CPU Water Block, 8mm Tube
Multimedia: 4xB&W 603 s2, LCR600, ASW1000, LCD TV 37" (TBA), 2xAcer LCD 17", Marantz SR7300
Dolphin (Wifes): x6800, Gigabyte MB, 500MB Hard Drive, 4GB Corsair 800Mhz DDR2, XFX 8800gtx
Beast (Server): Gigabyte 965G MB, Celeron, 2 Gig Memory, Accusys 61010 RAID Card, 200MB System HD, 12x500GB (RAID 6), 4x3TB (RAID 5), Windows Home Server 2011, XBox 360 DVD
GreenJelly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 09:01 PM   #14
Mr. $T$
Member

 
Mr. $T$'s Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2001

10 Year Badge
 
The difference is this is a computer and is intended to be assembled and worked on by professionals. Not some average Joe that can use any random program. You very well knew of this 4pin floppy-style connector and the inherit dangers of mishandling it. I'll admit I've done worse, like the time I fired my $250 1.4Ghz T-Bird after forgetting to install the heatsink. Was it a design flaw? Nope. It was my mistake, and I bought a new processor. I accepted responsiblity for it just like all the other components I fired. You can't hold the designers responsible for every thing that can go wrong with a product. Should motherboard manufactures wrap their boards in resistant plastics to prevent water or ESD damage? Should car companies be held liable when you do far to many clutch dumps and damage your transmission? Both of those examples are a result of user error, whether it be intentional or unintentional.

You don't burn and return.
Mr. $T$ is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 10:30 PM Thread Starter   #15
GreenJelly
Member

 
GreenJelly's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2006

 
Good companies like Subaru would replace the clutch even if you told them what happened. Hell I was off roading my Subaru, and the breaks went fast. I told them what I did and they fixed it. Same with the Clutch Drops, my Clutch went... was under warrenty, and I told them that I did Clutch Drops on it.

You guys make a good point, so I will be honest about what happened and what I think about their product design. If they replace it, that would be nice... else I will buy another one. Its amazing what happens when your honest with people

Mike

__________________
Monster: Q9550, Corsair 18000, Asus Maximus Extreme, XFX 5870, X-Fi, 700w Seasonic PSU, 2xBR-DVD, 1xDVD-RW, WD 1TB Black, Seagate 2x500GB (Raid 0), Coolermaster Stacker Black, CoolRad-32T Triple 120mm Radiator, MCP655, STORM Rev 2, Tyee, XSPC Passive 250mm Reservoir, T-Type Temp Probe
HTPC: Core 2 Duo x6400, 800mhz Corsair Memory, Asus P5B, Radeon 2600, Asus HDAV 1.3 Deluxe, NEO 550, Microsoft Remote Receiver, Logitech 880, WD 250, DVD Drive Seagate 500gb, Silverstone SST-LC03V Lascala Series HTPC Case w/VFD BLACK, TT External Radiator, Alphacool AGB-Eheim 600 Station Submerged Pump, Alphacool NexXxoS XP CPU Water Block, 8mm Tube
Multimedia: 4xB&W 603 s2, LCR600, ASW1000, LCD TV 37" (TBA), 2xAcer LCD 17", Marantz SR7300
Dolphin (Wifes): x6800, Gigabyte MB, 500MB Hard Drive, 4GB Corsair 800Mhz DDR2, XFX 8800gtx
Beast (Server): Gigabyte 965G MB, Celeron, 2 Gig Memory, Accusys 61010 RAID Card, 200MB System HD, 12x500GB (RAID 6), 4x3TB (RAID 5), Windows Home Server 2011, XBox 360 DVD
GreenJelly is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 10:55 PM   #16
redrumy3
Member

 
redrumy3's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New York

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gnufsh
I wouldn't, and I think you'll find a lot of people around here are very ethical about their rmas/warranties.
so lets say you bought a $500.00 gpu and took cooler off and replaced it with as5 and fried it that you wouldnt rma it? cause it was your fault?

__________________
Corsair H80
i5 4670K 4.5Ghz 1.26v
Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-1600 1.50v
Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H F10
Evga GTX 770 4GB | SamSung Evo 120GB SSD
Evga 850W G2 | Asus Xonar Essence STX
Beyerdynamic DT-990 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz
SteelSeries Rival | Razer BlackWidow Ultimate | Corsair 760T
Windows 8.1 Update 1 64-Bit
redrumy3 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-03-06, 11:16 PM   #17
d94
$30 a phone

 
d94's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: 48302

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrumy3
so lets say you bought a $500.00 gpu and took cooler off and replaced it with as5 and fried it that you wouldnt rma it? cause it was your fault?
you would be correct, and if you did that and posted it on these boards..the mods and everyone else would be on your ass like butter on toast

__________________
Antec 300 Intel Q6600 @ 3.7 - X48-DS4 - 4gb ddr2 - 500w Earthwatt's - 52" Sharp Aquos LC-52D64U
1x 640GB WD - 2x 1TB Greenpower - 2x 400GB Seagate - ATI 4830 512mb @ 680/975
3DMark Vanage 7402 3DMark05 20,447 3DMark06 13,693

Emachines amd x2 5000+ @ 2.9ghz w/foxconn bios - 2gb ddr2
stock POS 300w - 400gb Seagate - diNovo + VX Revolution

MacBook Air - 1.6ghz c2d - 2gb ddr2 - 80gb

heatware
d94 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-06, 12:55 AM   #18
Vipersfate
Member

 
Vipersfate's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006

 
Mistakes do Happen! I do know that! Just be a bit more careful, and as you said, not in such a rush. I've fried a few things before because of carelessness. Better luck next time.

__________________
The Rig: : AMD Phenom II X6 1090T @ Stock : Gigabyte GA-880GM-UD2H : 16GB DDR3 1333 Mushkin : Asus EAH5750-1GB :
Big Daddy Server : Under Construction :
The Lappy : Intel Centrino 1.6Ghz : HP DV1217US : 2GB DDR : Intel Extreme Graphics 2 :
The Server : Pentium 4 3.0Ghz 1MB : Optiplex 280: 1GB DDR2 800 : ATi 3650HD :
Vipersfate is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-06, 03:52 AM   #19
Gnufsh
Senior Member

 
Gnufsh's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: June Lake, California

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by redrumy3
so lets say you bought a $500.00 gpu and took cooler off and replaced it with as5 and fried it that you wouldnt rma it? cause it was your fault?
First, I wouldn't buy a $500 GPU, that price is just ridiculus. Second, I only mess with hardware I can afford to kill. But no, I wouldn't rma it.

__________________
Lost access to the classifieds? Look here.
Forum Policies
Sig Rules

"Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing ever happened."
-Sir Winston Churchill
Gnufsh is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-04-06, 07:52 AM Thread Starter   #20
GreenJelly
Member

 
GreenJelly's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2006

 
Have you looked at my sig?

Ive messed with $1000 hardware, check my CPU...

Try adding up all thoose items, plus some others that were scrapped, plus shipping and RMA's Shipping, plus accessories like Black Lights, Red Lights, Switches, UV Reactive Shrink Wrap, Black Molex connectors (yes, every power connector is black), tube, Barbs, Compression Fittings, Fans, etc.

Take in account that I have bought all of this within 3 months, and most of it in one month.

You find out Ive been messing around with things that are way too much money to be messing around with. The problem is that Ive done so much custom work on the thing that everytime I poke my hands in there I have another problem. But slowly I am solving each problem.

For instance, around the same time as this SB instance, I have a Water Temp Gaudge that somehow isnt connecting to the LCD display, even though its connected... AKA short. I got to get the meter out and find out the problem. Once I find out the issue, I will fix it so its wont be a problem ever again.

Too many mods

Not that I am complaining. This has been fun build (mostly) except for a few times when I almost started turning green and growing big muscles.

Mike

__________________
Monster: Q9550, Corsair 18000, Asus Maximus Extreme, XFX 5870, X-Fi, 700w Seasonic PSU, 2xBR-DVD, 1xDVD-RW, WD 1TB Black, Seagate 2x500GB (Raid 0), Coolermaster Stacker Black, CoolRad-32T Triple 120mm Radiator, MCP655, STORM Rev 2, Tyee, XSPC Passive 250mm Reservoir, T-Type Temp Probe
HTPC: Core 2 Duo x6400, 800mhz Corsair Memory, Asus P5B, Radeon 2600, Asus HDAV 1.3 Deluxe, NEO 550, Microsoft Remote Receiver, Logitech 880, WD 250, DVD Drive Seagate 500gb, Silverstone SST-LC03V Lascala Series HTPC Case w/VFD BLACK, TT External Radiator, Alphacool AGB-Eheim 600 Station Submerged Pump, Alphacool NexXxoS XP CPU Water Block, 8mm Tube
Multimedia: 4xB&W 603 s2, LCR600, ASW1000, LCD TV 37" (TBA), 2xAcer LCD 17", Marantz SR7300
Dolphin (Wifes): x6800, Gigabyte MB, 500MB Hard Drive, 4GB Corsair 800Mhz DDR2, XFX 8800gtx
Beast (Server): Gigabyte 965G MB, Celeron, 2 Gig Memory, Accusys 61010 RAID Card, 200MB System HD, 12x500GB (RAID 6), 4x3TB (RAID 5), Windows Home Server 2011, XBox 360 DVD

Last edited by GreenJelly; 11-04-06 at 07:57 AM.
GreenJelly is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?