• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Mobo, System, Overclocking Advice.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Pepi93

Hello, I am currently working on setting up a system for myself. I am completely new to overclocking and have some questions for you with regards to my new system and overclocking. ( have read some posts here on overclocking etc ) budget $ 1500-$1900

My new soon to be rig:

The purpose of this rig is for it to be upgradeable in the future. I am going with a CrossFire Mobo, but not a 100% sure which one yet. I have some issues with my choice, mainly the bios version is not that great for overclocking....ie: this mobo only supports 1.8V ram. I chose this mobo because it has all the other features I am looking for.

Mobo: MSI 975X Platinum V.2

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 2.13 GHz

RAM: OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 2GB (2x1024MB) Platinum Revision 2 XTC

GPU: ATI Radeon X1950 XTX 512MB GDDR4 48 Pixel Processors PCI-Express

PSU: SEASONIC S12 600W SLI/CF SSI ATX Power Supply

HDD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB SATA NCQ 3.0Gb/s 16MB Cache

I plan on tossing another ATI card in there at some point but not for a while after I purchase this.

I am stuck on what case to get for this rig first off. Second if anyone has any better suggestions for any component please post your ideas..especially with regards the the mobo...keep in mind I want firewire support and reasonable price.

1) Is the MSI 975x Plat and power up edition the same thing?

2) what are your thoughts on having a Seagate Barracuda drive as I specified, or a Western Digital Raptor Enterprise SATA (WD740ADFD) 74GB 10,000 RPM 16MB Buffer, with the Barracuda as my backup drive and the Raptor as the OS drive.

Is it going to be that much faster or should I just save my money?

Now with regards to overclocking: