Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Offically Over to Core 2 Duo :D

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-07-06, 07:04 AM Thread Starter   #1
einstein2
Member

 
einstein2's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Starlight

 
Offically Over to Core 2 Duo :D


Yo Techies

I'm offically signing over to Core 2 Duo as of today . Just purchased a Core 2 Duo Processor for 95 from Ebay brand new , E6300 , 135 retail. I,ll miss my P4, but its going to a good place, my dad is having it . Need a board also, preferablely not to expensive, i,ll do a tiny bit of overclocking but not alot. Main uses Gaming and multi tasking, benchmarking etc. Any recommendations?
einstein2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-06, 07:25 AM   #2
delta107
Member



Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Republic of Moldova

 
ASUS P5B Deluxe
delta107 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-06, 07:32 AM   #3
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
he said not too expensive...

take a look at the gigabyte S3, the DS3, and the asus p5b-e.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-06, 07:35 AM   #4
nvidiaOCmaster
Member

 
nvidiaOCmaster's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chulak

 
Not much OCing? my board? P5N-SLI-95$

__________________
"Just because I don't call any more doesn't mean I'm keeping my urine in jars!"
nvidiaOCmaster is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-06, 07:48 AM Thread Starter   #5
einstein2
Member

 
einstein2's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Starlight

 
mmmmmmmm DS3 is a possibity, whats the overclocking like? any good
einstein2 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-06, 08:14 AM   #6
[SC]Ceasar
Member

 
[SC]Ceasar's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Netherlands

 
Very good!
We need rainless in here. He can tell you all about the DS3 mobo.
[SC]Ceasar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-06, 09:41 AM   #7
nvidiaOCmaster
Member

 
nvidiaOCmaster's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chulak

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by [SC]Ceasar
Very good!
We need rainless in here. He can tell you all about the DS3 mobo.
QFT. He will spend 30 min typing up a huuuughe post about it.

__________________
"Just because I don't call any more doesn't mean I'm keeping my urine in jars!"
nvidiaOCmaster is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-06, 09:59 AM   #8
mista ting
Member

 
mista ting's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: New York City

 
DS3 (~$130) or P5B-E (~$150) i'd go with the DS3 though.

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.4GHz @ 1.356v
Asus P45 P5Q-Pro 1406 BIOS
G-SKILL 4GB DDR2 @ 5-5-5-15 @ 756MHz
HIS HD 4850 512MB @ 700MHz / 1200MHz
1.28TB (2 x WD AALS 640GB) Hard Drives
Corsair CMPSU-520HX 520W
Antec 300 Black ATX Case
mista ting is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-06, 11:13 AM   #9
darkcow
Member

 
darkcow's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006

 
both of my ds3's hit 400 FSB. i highly recomend them. but make sure you update the bios regularly, the new bios updates REALLY helped out my e6600. im able to pump out a lot less volts to get the same overclock now. its excellent.

__________________
EVGA 780i - P08 [ FSB:1.4v SPP:1.5v MCP:1.65v SPP<>MCP:1.4v ]
Q6600 G0 L747A [ 400x9:3.6ghz @ 1.43v - 445x9:4.0Ghz @ 1.55v ]
xFx GTX260 216 Black Edition [ GPU:740Mhz Shader:1515 Ram:1215Mhz ]
2x 1 GB - 2x 2 GB OCZ Reaper DDR2-800 4-4-4-12 [ 990Mhz ]
Win 7 Build 7600 - Arch Linux

Apogee GTZ - MCW60-R - 2xMCR320 - MCP655 - MasterKleer 7/16
7x yate loons - 2x Arctic fan 8

All in my wooden case
darkcow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-06, 12:38 PM   #10
hUMANbEATbOX
Contributing Member

 
hUMANbEATbOX's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: WINNIPEG REPRUHZENT!

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by nvidiaOCmaster
QFT. He will spend 30 min typing up a huuuughe post about it.
but 90% of the post will be about skirt chasing and booze swilling.

__________________
i7 970 @ 4.2ghz - 1.275v
6x4gb
560ti
and my baby Lucy
<----

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.
hUMANbEATbOX is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-07-06, 02:15 PM   #11
RangerXLT8
Member

 
RangerXLT8's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Asheville NC

 
I highly recommend the Gigabyte DS3. A superb MB. Good bios support up to date as well.

Only problem with the DS3 is no Intel RAID. JMicron supports RAID though.

__________________
Core 2 Xeon 3210 Quad Core 2.4GHz
Gigabyte EP-35C-DS3R
Patriot Viper DDR3 4GB 6-6-6-20
ATI HD4870 512MB
OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
2x150GB Raptors
1x320GB Western Digital HDD
LiteOn DVDRW
Heatware 44-0-0
RangerXLT8 is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?