Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Undervolting Celeron 2.8 ?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-06, 02:19 PM Thread Starter   #1
ps2cho
Member

 
ps2cho's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Socal, no hella here

 
Undervolting Celeron 2.8 ?


Hey guys,

This laptop is kinda getting on my nerves as its so loud all the time. It breathes so much hot air and i have sent it in and they replaced the fan...i myself have cleaned out all dust and put AS5 on it every few months...

Is there anyway to undervolt this cpu?

The laptop is a Toshiba Satellite A45-S121
Here is a CPU-Z of it:



Any pin mods or something like that ? I have never touched Intel CPU's before.

__________________
Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
HDD Server: AMD BE-2300 // 6TB HDD's and stuff

ps2cho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-06, 05:35 PM   #2
darkcow
Member

 
darkcow's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2006

 
i wouldn't feel comfortable about doing that.. have you checked the bios?

theres more than likely an option along the lines of "quiet mode" or "powersaving mode"


your laptop will run a hella lot slower, but it'll probably be quieter.


(if you don't know the bios number just press every button on your keyboard really fast untill it does.

i suggest del, f1-f5, backspace, a few numbers, enter, shift, and tab

__________________
EVGA 780i - P08 [ FSB:1.4v SPP:1.5v MCP:1.65v SPP<>MCP:1.4v ]
Q6600 G0 L747A [ 400x9:3.6ghz @ 1.43v - 445x9:4.0Ghz @ 1.55v ]
xFx GTX260 216 Black Edition [ GPU:740Mhz Shader:1515 Ram:1215Mhz ]
2x 1 GB - 2x 2 GB OCZ Reaper DDR2-800 4-4-4-12 [ 990Mhz ]
Win 7 Build 7600 - Arch Linux

Apogee GTZ - MCW60-R - 2xMCR320 - MCP655 - MasterKleer 7/16
7x yate loons - 2x Arctic fan 8

All in my wooden case
darkcow is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-06, 07:22 PM Thread Starter   #3
ps2cho
Member

 
ps2cho's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Socal, no hella here

 
No the BIOS has no overclocking options at all...its not a mobile CPU you see. Its P4 based hense why it runs hot. Whats wierd is that no programs show the voltage of the CPU. None. Its just greyed out in all programs. CPU-Z, Rightmark CPU, everything.

I guess its locked down pretty tight...

Yes i understand there is a low power one, but problem is that it makes even more noise because the fan is activated less, so the heat builds up then the fan goes nuts for about 2 minutes til it cools down, and the cycle repeats.

All the laptops that people have, make almost no noise...and this one is so loud its terrible.

__________________
Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
HDD Server: AMD BE-2300 // 6TB HDD's and stuff

ps2cho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-06, 08:24 PM   #4
Shelnutt2
Overclockers Team Content Editor

 
Shelnutt2's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: /home/

 
Well your not going to have any powersaving modes or anything with that desktop Northie. Only the P4-M's had speed step (early form at that) in that generations. My suggestion is to put some AS5 on there and maybe look at replacing the fan with an ultra quite model?

__________________
Build!.Borg!.Recruit!.Folding.for.Team.32!
Gigabyte P35-DS3R, E6300, 2x512MB Team Group DDR2 667, EVGA 7800GT Heat

Want to run the folding@home gpu client in linux?
www.linuxfah.info

Your teacher is a dumbass. The equation is exact. ~Frodo Baggins
Damn....It's 12:00 AM and I thought my 805 would be a magic pumkin and turn into a conroe.........boy was I fooled:) ~Stilletto
This is what I get for not only being a newb, but also disregarding instructions! ~ShadowPho
I hate women... but im not gay lol. ~MrCrowley
Love can fade but knowledge stays forever (unless you develop alzheimers). ~Constantinos
Shelnutt2 is offline Folding Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-11-06, 08:58 PM   #5
greenmaji
Senior Spellcheck

 
greenmaji's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
New AS5 every month isnt going to help *if you really ment it that way*, a fan upgrade would be the best option.

__________________
$300 for your CPU
$500 for your GFX card
$100 for your memory
$200 for your motherboard
$9.99 for your PSU

Having a CHEAP power supply take out your computer PRICELESS.
greenmaji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-06, 01:10 AM Thread Starter   #6
ps2cho
Member

 
ps2cho's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Socal, no hella here

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by greenmaji
New AS5 every month isnt going to help *if you really ment it that way*, a fan upgrade would be the best option.
When i complained and sent it into Toshiba for repair, they just replaced the plastic fan with a metal one or something similar...

No i didnt mean it every month, i meant a few times a year when i clean out all the fans and everything.

So there is no option on Intel CPU's to pinmod or anything?

__________________
Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
HDD Server: AMD BE-2300 // 6TB HDD's and stuff

ps2cho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-06, 01:39 AM   #7
greenmaji
Senior Spellcheck

 
greenmaji's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
I would assume if there were VID pinmods published it was for more vcore not less

__________________
$300 for your CPU
$500 for your GFX card
$100 for your memory
$200 for your motherboard
$9.99 for your PSU

Having a CHEAP power supply take out your computer PRICELESS.
greenmaji is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-06, 10:00 AM Thread Starter   #8
ps2cho
Member

 
ps2cho's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Socal, no hella here

 
So im pretty much out of luck?
Its currently got 512mb of RAM in it (64mb removed for gpu share)...would you think that increasing the RAM would make it quieter?

__________________
Main: i5-2500k @ 4.2GHz:.:P8Z77-V LE Plus Mobo:.:8GB DDR3 RAM:.:AMD 7870 2GB GPU:.:Corsair H50:.:Corsair 520HX PSU
Laptop: Dell XPS12 Ultrabook
Media Server: A6-5400k // ASRock FM2A75 Pro4-M // 4GB DDR3 // 60" Vizio LED 1080p
HDD Server: AMD BE-2300 // 6TB HDD's and stuff

ps2cho is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 11-12-06, 10:06 AM   #9
greenmaji
Senior Spellcheck

 
greenmaji's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2005

 
Only if the HD spinning up was causing the heat problems and adding more ram would cause less HD seeking.

__________________
$300 for your CPU
$500 for your GFX card
$100 for your memory
$200 for your motherboard
$9.99 for your PSU

Having a CHEAP power supply take out your computer PRICELESS.
greenmaji is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > CPUs > Intel CPUs
Intel CPUs
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?